• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Top 10% fresh graduates earn $8,254, but no median salary?

[h=2]Top 10% fresh graduates earn $8,254, but no median salary?[/h]

dmca_protected_sml_120n.png

PostDateIcon.png
July 26th, 2013 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

Leong-Sze-Hian51.jpg

Mr Leong Sze Hian

7 out of 10 get jobs before graduation

I refer to the article “7 out of 10 students at NTU land jobs before graduation
(Straits Times, Jul 26).

Top 10% in 1 faculty – $8,254 average salary

It states that “Among the Class of 2013, the double degree cohort in
Accountancy and Business from Nanyang Business School has done well again this
year, with almost 9 in 10 securing employment before graduation, and the top 10
per cent drawing an average salary of $8,254.”

No median salary?

When I read this, the obvious question that came to my mind was – what was
the median salary?

So, I went to NTU’s web site to read the press release. No luck there either – no mention of the median
salary.

Got top, but no middle?

What’s the point of issuing a press release that cites the average salary of
the top 10 per cent of just the double degree cohort in one faculty, without any
mention of what most people (including the graduates and alumni) may like to
know – the median salary.

5 years of no real salary growth?

This may be particularly pertinent in the light of a Minister’s recent
remarks that there was no real growth in the salaries of fresh graduates over
the last five years or so.

Breakdown of types of jobs?

As to “The employment outlook looks bright for NTU’s Class of 2013 despite
the uncertain global economic climate. A preliminary survey conducted by the
university at the end of last month found that almost 7 in 10 graduates from the
Class of 2013 have secured jobs before graduation, slightly higher than in
2012″, why not give a breakdown as to the types of jobs – full-time permanent,
contract, etc?

How many not on internships?

With regard to “About 3 in 10 graduates are offered jobs by their internship
and attachment companies annually”, what is the number and percentage of
graduates out of the total number of graduates (including those who could not
get an internship) who were offered jobs?

In this connection, the statement “Each year, NTU has close to 4,800
undergraduates that undergo internship or attachment training at about 1,500
companies, both at home and abroad”, may give an indication that quite a lot of
them may not have been able to get internships.

What percentage of the total number were not on internships? (Note: This
year, there were 6,593 Bachelor’s Degree graduates and 142 Bachelor’s graduates
receiving double degrees)

How many still giving back?

In respect of “The Class of 2013 is also a story of generosity, setting a new
record of 87.19 per cent in class giving, surpassing last year’s 82.08 per
cent”, what is the percentage of total alumni who participate in class
giving?

How do we compare with other universities in the world?

“A Showcase of Success by NTU’s Class of 2013″

The subject press release was very appropriately titled “A Showcase of
Success by NTU’s Class of 2013″.

PMET

With this type of standard, can you blame the media for saying that
Singaporean PMETs are “Pampered, Mediocre, Expensive, Timid” (Straits Times, Jul
13)?

Leong Sze Hian

Leong Sze Hian is the Past President of the Society of Financial Service
Professionals, an alumnus of Harvard University, Wharton Fellow, SEACeM Fellow
and an author of 4 books. He is frequently quoted in the media. He has also been
invited to speak more than 100 times in 25 countries on 5 continents. He has
served as Honorary Consul of Jamaica, Chairman of the Institute of
Administrative Management, and founding advisor to the Financial Planning
Associations of Brunei and Indonesia. He has 3 Masters, 2 Bachelors degrees and
13 professional qualifications. He blogs at http://www.leongszehian.com.

da dick

if the papers are honest, then you can assume 7/10 got the jobs, the rest go fly kite/jump in front of bus/sell insurance like leong sam. the end. you ask some more, you might as well go on te streets and a do asurvey yourself.

Tuayapeh

Top 10 % probably all the lawyers and doctors and high end prostitutes in the banks......

Everybody else kum bay lan........

escher

Top 10 % probably all the lawyers and doctors and high end prostitutes in the banks......

Everybody else kum bay lan........

They lied again, on top of all the other lies that only PAP and their appointees are capable of doing

Tell of anything that they said which is not a fucking lie.

Even that low life stealing toothpicks lied when he said he took half a box. He more likely then not stole the entire box

The fresh graduates that got $8,254 are the spawns of PAP bastards themselves. Got helicoptered into the top jobs , regardless if they are graduates or not.
They likely to be one or two percent and not even top 10%.

You believe those fucking liars and spin doctors?

The other graduates have to content with pinoys and other foreign trash imports , lucky to get even a pittance years later

VOTE OUT ALL THOSE PAP MAGGOTS COCKROACHES IN 2016
GET BACK OUT COUNTRY FROM THEM AND THEIR FUCKING KANGAROOS AND CIVIL SERPENTS

Dreamer1

Straits Times,ranked 156th doing it again,but if you notice,some journalists who have already wake up will smuggle some counter-attack - God has eyes

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
The 8k average could be skewed by 1-2% of ultra salary that masked the remaining 8%. For example he top 1%-2%, about 4 to 8 of them with fathers who owns multi-million business and parachuted in as GM of the business. The remaining 8% will average upwards.

prancku

Only those overaged ones as taxi driving got age entry 30 years.
Some are working as crane operators.

Yah lor...easy maths lah ...Taxi driver doing double shift everyday $4000 X 2 per month, crane operator $6000 X 1.5 overtime... of course average is $8000 or so.

Crane

The $8000 salary is only for the very few management trainees of top foreign banks. Very unlikely these banks will pay local grads this starting pay. I've heard of top graduates of Ivy league schools (Harvard, MIT, Yale, Princeton etc) getting these type of starting pay in Singapore.

escher

[h=2]Top 10% fresh graduates earn $8,254, but no median salary?[/h]

No median salary?

When I read this, the obvious question that came to my mind was – what was
the median salary?

So, I went to NTU’s web site to read the press release. No luck there either – no mention of the median
salary.

Got top, but no middle?

What’s the point of issuing a press release that cites the average salary of
the top 10 per cent of just the double degree cohort in one faculty, without any
mention of what most people (including the graduates and alumni) may like to
know – the median salary.

Now you know why no median salary can be given.
Their statistics nothing but a bastardised collection of some numbers that they give out.

Same for all the fucking statistics given to us by the Stinkapore fucking bastard regime.

Lies, or half truths , or a quarter truth, or a fraction truth, or whole complete utter lies.
No whole unvarnished complete truth ever from them.

I said before smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY is a congenital liar. He choses his people also to be congenital liars like him. PAP then staff the civil serpents with arseholes that can and will lie for them.

This episode go to show how sinkies that PAP are fucking liars and can never ever be trusted

VOTE THE PAP MAGGOTS COCKROACHES ALL OUT IN 2016
DO NOT EVEN LET ONE OF THEM TO STAY AND CORRUPT THE PARLIAMENT

ilovesingapore

#14 escher

your words are filled with venom
your mouth filled with angry toads
your heart filled with pain
your head got yellow stain

escher

FUCKING KOPIENTITY STYLE GOT RUBBISHED OUT

Fuck you.
Trying hard to wipe out what I said?
Fucking fat chance as sinkies know I speak the truth
AND ALL YOUR PAP MAGGOTS PAYMASTERS LIE AND LIE AND LIE

GO STICK YOUR FUCKING HEAD BELOW WATERLINE OF UNFLUSHED PUBLIC TOILET BOWL WITH TURDS AND TISSUE AND RECITE THE SCHOOL PLEDGE 10 TIMES FRONT AND TEN TIMES BACK.

ilovesingapore

Fuck you.
Trying hard to wipe out what I said?
Fucking fat chance as sinkies know I speak the truth
AND ALL YOUR PAP MAGGOTS PAYMASTERS LIE AND LIE AND LIE

GO STICK YOUR FUCKING HEAD BELOW WATERLINE OF UNFLUSHED PUBLIC TOILET BOWL WITH TURDS AND TISSUE AND RECITE THE SCHOOL PLEDGE 10 TIMES FRONT AND TEN TIMES BACK.

#16 escher

please do not misquote me and put words in my mouth
this is a hideous crime in this forum
and BOSS will BAN you forever.
you already did it twice and more...refrain from doing such a hideous crime here
you can fuck me i don't care
like i said: go to the padang and do your thing
no use fucking here
it's a waste of your precious time and energy
listen to me...go and give yourself a big release...
and one last caution: do not misquote here or else you will be BANNED forever...death sentence
okay? be good....GOD BLESS your kind and holy soul and your pious mouth....

The stats show what an excellent job the PAP is doing in driving the economy onwards and upwards.

I would like to take this opportunity to than PM Lee for his leadership and foresight.

The stats show what an excellent job the PAP is doing in driving the economy onwards and upwards.

I would like to take this opportunity to than PM Lee for his leadership and foresight.
You can place a full page ad in the papers come national day

Agoraphobic

The one with the foresight must then be Stamford Raffles. They did the work of identifying Peesai as a hotspot, developed it and passed the leadership on to a democratic nation. All the Lee regime did was take the baton from them and ensure they stayed on as rulers to the country and took the credit.