Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: NRIC Address - Help Needed

My Reputation Points: 270 / Power: 5

Default Re: NRIC Address - Help Needed

We have an identity card for a purpose. The authorities (i.e., police) need to know where everyone is physically resident. It is a offence to give information that misleads the authorities.

My Reputation Points: 1627 / Power: 6

If you rent a room legally .. meaning you have papers signed ! Rental contract etc. You don't rent a place base on words do you ?

You have to register your IC where you stay & the landlord cannot say no.

You can also use your parents or relatives address, slight bend of the law but its ok as long as all legal letters reach you anyhow anyway...

My Reputation Points: 1593 / Power: 8

Quote Originally Posted by michaely View Post
    I'm currently staying with my parents. My parents have decided to sell the house and stay with my brother.

I'll be renting a room but I'm afraid that the landlord would not allow me to change my nric address to his. Also, I don't want to change my nric address every time i change landlord.

I know there's a type of service "registered office address" for businesses for about $10/mth.

I just need an address for my nric and receiving mails only. I wonder is such kind of service available for individual?

Thanks in advance!
    How u received mail? Just follow u mailing address on bill (phone/bank/credit card)...........
    Save the Earth

My Reputation Points: 748 / Power: 2

Try Vpost.
    www.vpost.com.sg

This service is by Singpost.

You will get a Vpost number.....example ....VP123456 Michael Y.

This is fixed, but the address attach to it can change constantly. Just update with Singpost.

You can also use this Vpost to received item from USA and worldwide from people whom do not ship to Singapore. It will ship to a address in USA under Vpost before shipping to you.

Best of all, not one know where you live. As VP1234567 is you address. Nothing else is needed.
    Singpost assigned you a Vpost number....

PS: never try putting in NrIc.... You can check with the authority.

I'm currently staying with my parents. My parents have decided to sell the house and stay with my brother.

I'll be renting a room but I'm afraid that the landlord would not allow me to change my nric address to his. Also, I don't want to change my nric address every time i change landlord.

I know there's a type of service "registered office address" for businesses for about $10/mth.

I just need an address for my nric and receiving mails only. I wonder is such kind of service available for individual?

Thanks in advance!
    Last edited by shctaw; 05-03-2013 at 12:57 PM.
    Landlords grow rich in their sleep. - John Stuart Mill (1806-1873)

Can anyone remember when times were not hard and money was scarce? - Ralph Waldo Emerson (1803-1882)

Ninety percent of all millionaires become so through owning real estate. - Andrew Carnegie (1835-1919)

My Reputation Points: 748 / Power: 2

Quote Originally Posted by wendychan View Post
    just in time.... im looking for an answer to this problem as well
    Hope you like my solution.

My sister in law use this to avoid her boyfriend.

Successful for 4 years and counting....
    Last edited by shctaw; 05-03-2013 at 12:55 PM.

My Reputation Points: 4382 / Power: 11

Thanks in advance!
    Plenty of such companies at international plaza(tanjong pagar mrt). Go check it out.

Anyway, there is no way your landlord would not let you change your address. He also has to submit your particulars to HDB. Just bring your tenancy agreement to the police post to do the change. Also, if your landlord is those type that don't allow you to change address, you might be better off not renting the place.

My Reputation Points: 219 / Power: 5

You can try changing it to 38 Oxley Road.

My Reputation Points: 1573 / Power: 5

Quote Originally Posted by wendychan View Post
    just in time.... im looking for an answer to this problem as well
    Just use your van's licence plate.

My Reputation Points: 660 / Power: 6

Hasn't it occurred to you that you can also use your brother's address? After all, like you said, only for mails pickup.

Thanks in advance!

Hahaha..you are a genius.

AFOMCLOL...almost fell off my chair...

Quote Originally Posted by Balls2U View Post
    You can try changing it to 38 Oxley Road.

My Reputation Points: 3126 / Power: 11

alamak! u all really sabo him.
    of cos, by left or more logic way is use his brother's home as address then stay at the place where he rent.
    but under NRA, after u shift and never update your IC in 2 weeks time. its a seizable offence.
    nowadays, landlord got to register to HDB who he rent his place to and got to get the lease agreement stamped at IRAS.
    at least got 2 entry at the authority record, why not updating your IC?
    if your landlord trying to be funny, tell him its against the law not to update your IC where you are residing physically.
    billing address is different, you can even put it at the mama store down stairs if u know them well.
    as long as the bill able to reach you its ok.
    but end of the day they will still want to photocopy you IC which have the address where u r residing.
    http://twitter.com/SGDayTrader

精忠报国

人生自古谁无死, 留取丹心照汗青。

文臣不愛錢 武官不惜死 天下太平矣...

南北驱驰报主情,江花边月笑平生,一年三百六十日,多是横戈马上行。

My impression is that this rule is enforced with a feather-lite touch. How to prove you never update in 2 weeks time? Dont think the SPF has resources to go digging into one shitizen's past private life for a change of address.

Quote Originally Posted by moolightaffairs View Post
    but under NRA, after u shift and never update your IC in 2 weeks time. its a seizable offence.

My Reputation Points: 2221 / Power: 9

of cos, by left or more logic way is use his brother's home as address then stay at the place where he rent. but under NRA, after u shift and never update your IC in 2 weeks time. its a seizable offence.
    i didnt change my tengki address at 2005 when i moved to the resale flat. only update after 2006 cny. so i voted in hougang instead of where i live in ge2006.
    FTrashs are killing Singaporeans.......

My Reputation Points: 1298 / Power: 5

When you apply to change address they don't change for you on the spot, they will send a notice by post to your new address, if you really reside there you should have key to postbox, retrieve that notice and bring back to regularise your IC
    A wise man once said _
    "The amount of hogwash that appears in this forum has to be seen to be believed.
    When a sentence starts with " If it wasn't for the Ang Mohs _ ", you can rest assured that some fairyland crap will follow."

My Reputation Points: 2557 / Power: 7

Quote Originally Posted by kingrant View Post
    Hahaha..you are a genius.

AFOMCLOL...almost fell off my chair...
    Istana also can?
    "Procrastination is just like masturbation, its all fun and games till you realize you just fucked yourself"

"Just go for it and give it a try! You don't have to be a professional to build a successful product. Amateurs started Google and Apple. Professionals built the Titanic."

Quote Originally Posted by kingrant View Post
    My impression is that this rule is enforced with a feather-lite touch. How to prove you never update in 2 weeks time? Dont think the SPF has resources to go digging into one shitizen's past private life for a change of address.
    Quote Originally Posted by sleaguepunter View Post
    i didnt change my tengki address at 2005 when i moved to the resale flat. only update after 2006 cny. so i voted in hougang instead of where i live in ge2006.
    well, during my police days spot check some people and was wanted for not updating IC under NRA. we just handcuff them back.
    i doubt SPF got the resources to check everyone update ic or not, but sometime when your luck is down and someone want to play u out. then u kena loh.

精忠报国

人生自古谁无死, 留取丹心照汗青。

文臣不愛錢 武官不惜死 天下太平矣...

Quote Originally Posted by looneytan View Post
    When you apply to change address they don't change for you on the spot, they will send a notice by post to your new address, if you really reside there you should have key to postbox, retrieve that notice and bring back to regularise your IC
    they do change on the spot in NPP or NPC. but nowadays need to bring proof like bills and lease agreement.

精忠报国

人生自古谁无死, 留取丹心照汗青。

文臣不愛錢 武官不惜死 天下太平矣...

My Reputation Points: 746 / Power: 3

they do change on the spot in NPP or NPC. but nowadays need to bring proof like bills and lease agreement.
    Why is sinkapore so inefficient nowadays? Passport renewal takes 5 working days here while in mudland, they can get their passport renewed in a day. I was so shocked when my mudland friends told me that.

My Reputation Points: 4351 / Power: 12

Quote Originally Posted by winnipegjets View Post
    Why is sinkapore so inefficient nowadays? Passport renewal takes 5 working days here while in mudland, they can get their passport renewed in a day. I was so shocked when my mudland friends told me that.

Our ICA officers also need to surf sammyboy and TCSS. How to do in 1 day? Do in 2 weeks already tao chio ....
    Favourite mottos: (1) It pays to be a winner. (2) The only easy day was yesterday. (3) Just passing is failing and second best is the first loser. (4) Luck is the residue of design and opportunity. (4) Training is never over. (5) Enough ... is never enough.

My Reputation Points: 565 / Power: 2

Quote Originally Posted by winnipegjets View Post
    You really have no idea how good you have it here. My passport renewal takes 4-6 weeks, costs around SGD320.

"Chickenshit hunter extraordinaire"