• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Gruesome accident at Tampines St 45 T JUNCTION - RIP

PhilOakey

Cement truck driver released on bail, still "very traumatised"

AsiaOne | Wednesday, Jan 30, 2013

crash_0.jpg

SINGAPORE - The driver of the cement truck which hit and killed two boys at a junction around Tampines on Monday has been released on bail, news sources reported.

His driving license has also been suspended. He was arrested for causing death by rash act. According to the Straits Times, the driver is still "very traumatised" by the accident and is resting at home.

Driver also a safety instructor

According to colleagues of the driver whom Lianhe Wanbao spoke to, the 56-year-old is a safety instructor in charge of training younger drivers in the company.

The Singaporean man had joined Hi-Dynamic just 7 months ago.

Said a 29-year-old colleague, Mohammed: "He taught us how to operate the cement mixer and how to drive safely. He also told us which were the best routes to take when driving through Tampines."

Mohammed revealed that the driver used to listen to the radio for traffic alerts and warn other drivers whenever there was a traffic congestion.

"I never thought he would be involved in such an accident... I hope that everyone can forgive him," added Mohammed.

The Chinese evening daily reported that the driver, who has more than 20 years of experience, has three daughters and lives in the east. In an interview with his son-in-law, Rui An, 30, he said his father-in-law was so shaken after the accident that he broke down.

"He was crying when my wife picked up his call after the accident," said Rui An.

The two brothers, aged 13 and 7, were on a bicycle when they were hit at about 5.40pm on Monday. The accident occurred at the junction of Tampines Avenue 9 and Tampines Street 45.

[email protected]

PhilOakey

Disgust after young victims of Tampines accident mocked and gory pictures circulated online

January 30, 2013 - 1:19am

By: Audrey Tan

0199b37f.jpg

TNP PHOTO: Jeremy Long

While the nation grieves over the tragic loss of two young lives in the Tampines accident on Monday, netizens are unified in their disgust over Internet insensitivity.

The targets of their ire: The circulation of gory pictures of the victims and distasteful comments about them.

The pictures of the dead brothers lying on the road spread on Twitter soon after the accident. They have since stopped spreading, but can still be found online.

A few hours later, a secondary school student added fuel to the fire by mocking the Tampines victims online.

In response to a friend’s post on Twitter about the accident, the boy made fun of a victim’s fatal head injuries.

The boy later sent a message to his friend to help him apologise online but netizens were outraged by then.

Read the full report in The New Paper on Wednesday (Jan 30).

M

Mdm Tang

Hmm ... how about starting a Offer Of Rewards

for Witnessess and Those with Vehicle Video

to step forward to share some light on

what really took place at the Junction ???

Just don't quite understand how the accident happened.

The truck is turning, so it should be travelling slowly.

The boys were pillion so the bike could not be travelling fast.

What happened, most likely it's the left blind spot of the truck and the truck driver is high up and could not see the boys on the bike.

STRANGE....I give up.

M

Mdm Tang

Offer of Reward of Say S$20k

per Witness . And S$50k to

buy the witness's recorded video

sure got people step forward .

Not that they want the money but

they have risk and inconvenience also ,

What Do Bros Sis Think ???

king_of_abalone

Offer of Reward of Say S$20k

per Witness . And S$50k to

buy the witness's recorded video

sure got people step forward .

Not that they want the money but

they have risk and inconvenience also ,

What Do Bros Sis Think ???

Siao!

The 2 boys gone liao, you still want govt to chut all that money???

Our govt is a pragmatic one.

The PAP government doesn't give a hoot on the loss of two lives. But it has to play to the public, so a couple of statements but no actions. After a few weeks, all is forgotten. That's PAP governance for you.

what happen? did the cement truck hit them while they crossing, making an turn, or just cycling on the side of the road?

map.jpg

if this is the correct map, then the blame must go to the parent, they did not educate their kids on road safety before letting them cycle on singapore road.

no one can miss the cement truck that size. Even if you do not see it, you will hear it. As a cyclist crossing the road, you will have to stop and let the bus/truck/cement truck to past, and only move on when you are sure they see you and sure they are stopping.
Never assume they will stop and never argue about right of way with vehicle of that size.

map.jpg

if this is the correct map, then the blame must go to the parent, they did not educate their kids on road safety before letting them cycle on singapore road.
no one can miss the cement truck that size. Even if you do not see it, you will hear it. As a cyclist crossing the road, you will have to stop and let the bus/truck/cement truck to past, and only move on when you are sure they see you and sure they are stopping.
Never assume they will stop and never argue about right of way with vehicle of that size.

You assume that the lights was not in the favour of the two boys. And how would the boys know that the truck would move if the light was in their favour.

Drivers keep assuming that it is the children's fault. Let the boys rest in peace and let the police do their work. We are just speculating. I don't who know who is at fault but just want to have increase sentences for drivers causing deaths be punished harshly so that others will know the responsibility of driving a car.

Seee3

..... And how would the boys know that the truck would move if the light was in their favour.....
Accident happened because both parties were inattentive. It also happened when one party "insisted" in crossing if he/she had the right of way. We need to emphasize to our children "do not cross even if light is in your favour if the vehicle does not appear to be stopping."

You assume that the lights was not in the favour of the two boys. And how would the boys know that the truck would move if the light was in their favour.

Drivers keep assuming that it is the children's fault. Let the boys rest in peace and let the police do their work. We are just speculating. I don't who know who is at fault but just want to have increase sentences for drivers causing deaths be punished harshly so that others will know the responsibility of driving a car.

how fast can a cement truck travel. you think it is a sport car, obviously the kid cross the road without looking at the traffic, no kid are born with road safety, these are taught by parent. Dun blame the driver always, if the bicycle are moving fast, when you look out for pedestrian, you might no one crossing the road, you turn the vehicle and bicycle travelling at speed then start to cross the road, you might miss them.
In this case, parent to be blame.

M

Mdm Tang

More Hard Truths :

1. G & W Pte Ltd owned the Cement Truck that
involved in The Accident.

2. Who Are the Directors of G & W ?

3. How many Cement Trucks G & W owned ?

4. Who are the Ultimate Owners of G & W Pte Ltd ?

5. Police Bailed Cement Driver ( no name ahh )
from Hi-Dynamic ( who are the owners of Hi - Dynamic ? )

6. Why Police Bailed Cement Driver with 20 years
of driving experience join H-D only months ago ?

7. What was PB Cement Driver past driving offence record ?

8. Too many nice story on this Driver came out at the same time ?

9. Off 20 years driving how many years as as a C T Instructor ?

10. 20 years how many job / companies he changed ?

11 . Is he a owner or part owner ( or fronting ) of
of any Cement Truck Compamies .?

12. How many companies in alll he have shares / directorship in ?

13. Why he multi task as a Instructor ?

14. Has he been truthful ?

15. to be continue ???

Cement truck driver released on bail, still "very traumatised"

AsiaOne | Wednesday, Jan 30, 2013

crash_0.jpg

SINGAPORE - The driver of the cement truck which hit and killed two boys at a junction around Tampines on Monday has been released on bail, news sources reported.

His driving license has also been suspended. He was arrested for causing death by rash act. According to the Straits Times, the driver is still "very traumatised" by the accident and is resting at home.

Driver also a safety instructor

According to colleagues of the driver whom Lianhe Wanbao spoke to, the 56-year-old is a safety instructor in charge of training younger drivers in the company.

The Singaporean man had joined Hi-Dynamic just 7 months ago.

Said a 29-year-old colleague, Mohammed: "He taught us how to operate the cement mixer and how to drive safely. He also told us which were the best routes to take when driving through Tampines."

Mohammed revealed that the driver used to listen to the radio for traffic alerts and warn other drivers whenever there was a traffic congestion.

"I never thought he would be involved in such an accident... I hope that everyone can forgive him," added Mohammed.

The Chinese evening daily reported that the driver, who has more than 20 years of experience, has three daughters and lives in the east. In an interview with his son-in-law, Rui An, 30, he said his father-in-law was so shaken after the accident that he broke down.

"He was crying when my wife picked up his call after the accident," said Rui An.

The two brothers, aged 13 and 7, were on a bicycle when they were hit at about 5.40pm on Monday. The accident occurred at the junction of Tampines Avenue 9 and Tampines Street 45.

[email protected]

YanDao

From the mother:

The mother of the two boys killed in Monday's tragic accident delivered a heartrending eulogy at their wake last night (Jan 30) in which she called her younger son Donovan "God's gift" after a miscarriage, and said that her older son Nigel had helped to save her marriage.

The brothers were on their way home from school on Monday evening (Jan 28) on a bicycle, when they were hit by a cement truck. People have been leaving offerings at the accident site and the victims' parents are still grieving.

The truck driver is said to be be "very traumatised" by what happened, and has had his licence suspended. He is currently on bail.

According to a Straits Times report, it was the first time Madam Suliani Ang, 38, was speaking in public for the first time since the accident.

During the speech, he called her younger son Donavan "God’s gift" who "brought such joy and happiness" into her life, because she had had a miscarriage before having him.

She also revealed that her older boy, Nigel was a "precious son" who helped save her marriage when she and her husband had been almost on the brink of divorce.

Nigel had led her to convert to Christianity, and through her faith, she managed to hold on to the marriage.

“Through these two boys I have been blessed. I believe they are right now in heaven,” she said.

Her speech moved many of the 300 visitors who turned up at the wake to tears. A candlelight vigil will held on Sunday (Feb 3) at 8pm, at the same place.

In the meantime, the boys' father, Mr Francis Yap said he and his wife are “healing slowly”. For now, sleep is still difficult for both of them.

“I would close my eyes and think of my sons and wake up,” he said. “But we will try to get more rest because tomorrow will be a hard day.”

M

Mdm Tang

Tampines accident update: Harsher penalties for errant drivers in the works

By Jalelah Abu Baker

Harsher penalties will be meted out to errant road users, more speed cameras will be installed and more Traffic Police officers will deployed on the roads.

Second Minister for Home Affairs S. Iswaran revealed these slew of measures on the sidelines of a familiarisation visit to the Security Command Thursday morning.

He revealed these in light of the accident in Tampines earlier this week where two young boys were hit by a cement mixer. He added that a review is in place and that besides enforcement and penalties, road users also have to be educated. More details will be announced soon, he said.

In response to questions from the media on whether it is feasible to re-route heavy vehicles as suggested by Tampines GRC MP Baey Yam Keng, he said a complete avoidance was not possible, due to some construction sites being at the heart of residential areas.

He added that while all road users have a part to play in preventing accidents, heavy vehicle drivers have to especially understand their responsibilities because accidents they get into have more severe consequences.