• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A caring and compassionate Government.....

SINGAPORE: The government will spend more than S$500 million over the next five years to build more eldercare facilities to support the needs of an increasing ageing population.

Sites to build 10 nursing homes, 21 Senior Care Centres (SCCs), and 45 Senior Activity Centres (SACs) by 2016 were revealed on Friday in a joint release by the Health Ministry and the Ministry for Community Development, Youth and Sports.

The Health Ministry said it's important to plan ahead for aged care facilities to serve every neighbourhood, in the same way that childcare, community centres and other amenities to support the population's needs.

Mr Tan Tau Tin takes five minutes to walk from his home to visit his mother at the Man Fut Tong Nursing Home in Woodlands.

The close proximity allows him to visit his mother daily and he said having a nursing home is very important to elderly residents like himself who needs it.

Like Mr Tan, more Singaporeans will also benefit from having more eldercare facilities in their neighbourhood.

Minister for Health Gan Kim Yong said: "Our goal is to eventually make every neighbourhood a senior friendly neighbourhood, by having aged care facilities that can provide accessible care to seniors living all over the island. Many of these seniors are our pioneers, our parents and our grandparents. We too will age. So this investment in aged care facilities is for Singapore and for our future."

A population trend report showed that the proportion of elderly aged 65 years and over was generally higher among Singapore residents staying in older estates.

And so the new nursing homes will be in areas such as Yishun, Jurong West, Geylang, Hougang and Queenstown which will also have senior activity and senior care centres.

The 10 nursing homes will add an estimated 3,300 beds to Singapore's existing nursing home capacity of 9,000.

The government hopes that by locating the nursing homes within the community, it would make it more convenient for families to visit seniors in these nursing homes. It will also help to better complement the range of healthcare services within the community such as hospitals, clinics and day rehabilitation centres......

A government who looks after the elderly is a good and caring government.

Agree.. A Government who forced the elderly to slog it out in kopitiams as cleaners is a good and a caring government..:rolleyes: :oIo: :rolleyes:

when i see what the govt is doing, it is time to leave this type of pathetic country

For me retired, I think this country is fair. The government is fair to the elderly. But well, there are definite areas which can be improved. I hope we have to do something to those elderly cleaners and washers. Perhaps the government should consider ways and means to give some financial assistance to this group of elderly who are still working. That will be a good step towards a caring and compassionate governance.

hairylee

It is not caring and compassionate.
It is to clear off whatever CPF you have before one knock off for good.

... The Health Ministry said it's important to plan ahead for aged care facilities to serve every neighbourhood, in the same way that childcare, community centres and other amenities to support the population's needs ...
tok hifalutin plans ... evry1 oso can do ...

build in ur own backyard ... no sinkies wil want ...

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
It's naive to think the present government will build these facilities to help you for free. It's just another vehicle to milk you dry before you hit the grave.

Of course. Singapore is going to have a graying population, and what better way to make money than to create an industry which directly taps into this 'new market with high potential'? :rolleyes:

They've had decades of experience running this little island as a profit-maximizing business. The PAP govt's modus operandi should be pretty obvious by now.

Cruxx

998619_520_292.jpg
old-woman-singapore.jpg

Narong,

You just cant stomach it right ? Got nailed, jailed and hanged by Elliot Ness and you are trying to get it back! Too late liao...all your kakis all kena exposed including your Al Caput...all jailed, exposed and ridiculed. You have no more power. Even your kamikaze suicide bomber Alien Dog is nothing compared to the truthfulness of Elliot Ness.

Sleep well. Dont get any nightmares. Well, we do see other clones coming in. Good luck...Elliot is waiting ...hahaha!!!

Cruxx

Narong,

You just cant stomach it right ? Got nailed, jailed and hanged by Elliot Ness and you are trying to get it back! Too late liao...all your kakis all kena exposed including your Al Caput...all jailed, exposed and ridiculed. You have no more power. Even your kamikaze suicide bomber Alien Dog is nothing compared to the truthfulness of Elliot Ness.

Sleep well. Dont get any nightmares. Well, we do see other clones coming in. Good luck...Elliot is waiting ...hahaha!!!

Very rude. I've reported this post. :smile: