• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Funeral for Chinese Singaporean is very painful

fivestars

The problem of Chinese family:-

1) Long Term free thinker (Communist) Chinese family break into Free Thinker Kid, Muslim Kid, Chinese Buddhist Kid, Local Buddhist Kid, Japanese Buddhist Kid, Lama Buddhist Kid, Christian Kid and Roman Catholic Kid, yet the parent want to be Chinese Taoist. The family very unhappy to perform the funeral.

2) Christian and Roman Catholic had their own Christian Parlor. Other private funeral parlor and HDB funeral tents very costly. Low class $1500, $1200, $1000, $800, $600, $500, $400, $300 per day rental not cheap.

3) The ancestor tablet is very costly. Low Class 30K 20K 10K 5K 1K $500 and $300. Some more kids do not had private house. Only had small condo and HDB flat. They will put it at temple.

4) Christian and Roman Catholic funeral had a lot churches friends and relative come to pay respect and do night service. Chinese funeral had to pay and pay money. Low class 50K 30K 25K 10K 5K 1K $600. Very less friend relative come to pay respect and night service.

5) Only Christian, Muslim and Roman Catholic kids can understand their religion. Others kids do not understand their religion.

fivestars

We must cut down funeral cost:-

1) Standard coffin purchase from NEA Mandai $50
2) Standard funeral parlor from NEA $20 per day
3) Standard Ancestor tablet from NEA $20

Current Cremation fee $100
Standard Niche: $500*

Family Niche: $900*

* Niches at government columbaria are allocated sequentially. There will be a $250 selection fee should you wish to choose a different location from that allocated.

seesuatah

Sea burial is much cheaper...just one star cruise ticket few hundred dollars can already.

after the burial can go down and have a good buffet to comfort yourselves.

star-virgo-img1.jpg

fivestars

SINGAPORE: Developing a strong social service sector will be critical for the new Ministry of Social and Family Development to achieve its aims.

Acting Community Development, Youth and Sports Minister, Chan Chun Sing, said the new ministry will invest more resources to develop the sector.

It will also work to attract, develop and retain social service professionals, raise the sector's capability and productivity, and improve service co-ordination.

Mr Chan will helm the new ministry from November 1.

Responding to a question from Nominated Member of Parliament R Dhinakaran on the new ministry's priorities, Mr Chan listed three areas of focus.

Firstly, it will enhance social safety nets in housing, education and employment for needy individuals and families, as well as developing effective initiatives to reach out to those who need help.

Mr Chan said: "Some amongst these groups have complex needs beyond financial assistance. They may need help in areas such as housing, education and employment, counselling, caring for an elderly or rehabilitation.

"We will develop more effective initiatives to reach out to them and render help and support to enable them to improve their circumstances."

Secondly, the new ministry will improve the delivery of social services, with emphasis on accessibility, affordability and standards.

These include services for the elderly, families, persons with disabilities and caregivers.

Mr Chan said his team will work on accessibility, affordability and standards, and ensuring more responsive and citizen-centric delivery of services.

The third target is to strengthen families which Mr Chan called the bedrock of society.

Noting that the family unit was coming under strain with today's changing demographics, Mr Chan said the new ministry will work towards creating a more conducive environment for family formation and strengthening of family bonds.

He said policies would be reviewed to meet the needs of the family in areas such as childcare and eldercare more effectively.

Mr Chan said: "Given the emerging demographic, economic and societal challenges Singapore faces, the formation of the new Ministry of Social and Family Development will bring a sharper focus to the government's work in the development of families, social services and social safety nets.

"At this point, our immediate priority is to ensure continuity in our current areas of coverage -- from family and social services to community development, youth and sports -- even as we work towards a successful transition to the new ministry."

- CNA/xq/fa

fivestars

PAP never call Chinese Buddhist and Taoist send the body to the sea for bury. NEA never approve. Changi Boat charges also very costly about $100

only $100 u kpkb said expensive what about religious funeral ? If you think $100 is expensive then take a boat from changi to pulau ubin lah and on the way there just throw your ash into the sea . The most $10 for the boat ride :wink:

fivestars

Because they are Chinese or so call Dragon Descendants. They are not the beggar Descendant who throw into the sea.

Wrong , :wink: because they are delusion and being delusion they believe that their ash should not be thrown into sea if they want to go " heaven " :wink: .

ArjanParangToh

How are you jan ? Long time no see . When I hear the word package I beri scare :wink: $$$$

No scare, u scare means u don't understand the meaning of enlightenment. Always give better than received. My package is only 88 includes of kerosene + lighter + painless portion from me. Self immolate and u will feel heaven.