• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Migration for Successful Singles/Couples

nayr69sg

Staff member
If one wants to get those 50% off deal at Superstore, one has to go first thing in the morning and compete with 'professional shoppers'. Yes I am one of those bargain hunters. I usually go for the meat stuff. I avoid the bake goods because Superstore bake goods are not that good
Not long after buying T&T, price went up. Also the mall rent is extremely high. Was told 2 Macdonald restaurants at WEM have ceased operation People go to T&T for a reason.Their bread,buns, pau, cakes etc are for asian palate. Good selection of noodles, condiments, live and frozen seafoods, asian veggies, pork, entrails etc. Superstore carry limited stuff.
If your family is sick of jam, marmalade or butter, T&T has KAYA....Singapore's Glory brand. Yes both green and brown kaya. I tried it. way better than YEO HUP Seng horrible stuff. If tired of bread. T&T has frozen roti prata dough. Curry? No problem T&T has Yeo's malaysian curry paste. Sick of colas and fruit juice??? There is cincau jelly and frozen pandan leaves at T&T
The alternative to T&T is to goto Chinatown. Chinatown parking can be a nightmare. Lots of free parking at the mall

Eh? Mayliewwan you in Edmonton also? I thought you were in Vancouver?

So jia lat meh? No leh. My wife and I go to Edmonton South Common Superstore in the morning, not so crowded and usually got all the 50% stuff still there. No need to cheong. Soya bean milk 5 litres sometimes got 50% off also. I think comes to about $2.50.

WEM parking on weekends very bad unless you go early. T&T super crowded. I prefer to go to 99 Supermarket on Sunday afternoon. Free parking. No crowds. Also has the Glory Kaya and all the curry stuff.

Edmonton not so crowded one lah. Unless you go to West Edmonton Mall.

Btw is it helpful to attend these immigration seminars held on weekends?

Also is it useful to pay around 180 to get the help of these immigration agents to assess you or just doing it for free? Does getting some type of agent make the process easier?

Its a very small price to pay for an assessment. Thats their business and they are aware of loopholes, quotas, pathways etc.

Btw is it helpful to attend these immigration seminars held on weekends?

Also is it useful to pay around 180 to get the help of these immigration agents to assess you or just doing it for free? Does getting some type of agent make the process easier?

natas666

Yeah but interest rates are high in Oz and if u're below a certain income bracket u quality for rental assistance from the gov... hence sometimes it makes more senses to rent than buy

starstar

I just got back from my weekly grocery shopping.

Now I know why my wife only buys the hungryman TV dinners.

Today hungryman on sale $1.97 each (normal $3.24). Each is about 450+ grams. No name brand is also $1.97 (never on sale) and 366 grams. So only buy the hungryman when on sale, same price as the no name brand.

There was also 30 chicken wings (cooked, just need to heat up in microwave) for $9.98. I think that should be good for 5 lunches?

The other thing about superstore is they have stuff which they want to clear (eg going to expire ) 50% off!

Especially the breads, donuts, apple pie often get put up 1-3 days before expiry date. In the dry climate actually those don't turn bad within the next week.

We bought mooncake double yolk lotus paste box of 4 CAD$12 also from superstore.

The T&T supermarket chain which carries all the chinese stuff is owned by Loblaws which also owns Superstore. But the prices at T&T are higher (sucker the asians). I don't shop at T&T.

starstar, when you go to Canada, remember that most banks will charge fees for each withdrawal (even an ATM withdrawal counted as one, "debit" which is something like NETS is also one transaction)

PC Financials has a no fee account where you can have unlimited transactions from your chequing account. THe downside is they don't have a over the counter service. Purely online. But I find it useful to pay my bills online, debit, etc without have to count how many transactions I have accumulated for the month.

Have 2 accounts. One PC financials (owned by CIBC so every CIBC ATM can also be used with the PC financial account) for day to day use, and another normal account just to keep the rest.

Just sharing some experiences, but not everyone would agree and do the same of course.

Hi, thanks for sharing your thoughts on bargain hunting. Am always so busy in Singapore that I hardly have time to do it in supermarts here, take-and-go kind of thing. Hopefully a change of lifestyle in Canada will spare me some time. Is the pace of study in Canada stressful?

I'll open an RBC student account online from Singapore and tt funds over. Do you have a PC financials credit card where you charge all expenses to it and pay the monthly outstanding balance from the same online banking account?

nayr69sg

Staff member
Hi, thanks for sharing your thoughts on bargain hunting. Am always so busy in Singapore that I hardly have time to do it in supermarts here, take-and-go kind of thing. Hopefully a change of lifestyle in Canada will spare me some time. Is the pace of study in Canada stressful?

I'll open an RBC student account online from Singapore and tt funds over. Do you have a PC financials credit card where you charge all expenses to it and pay the monthly outstanding balance from the same online banking account?

I don't know about the pace of study at higher levels. But if it is anything like work culture and elementary and high school I would say much less than Singapore.

Actually there is a PC Financials Mastercard which helps you get more points which can be exchanged for PC grocery food vouchers ($). You should sign up for that too. Also they give points for bringing your own bag. One thing about PC Superstore is they will charge you for plastic bags. They do either giveaway the grocery baskets during promotions eg spend $150 and get free or sell them. Or you can just bring your own bag. The more bags you bring the more points you get.

When you pump gas at the PC Gas Pump there are "superbucks". Something like 7 cents a litre which will be printed like a receipt to you and you can use it to offset your groceries.

PC superstore sells more than just groceries, they have some hardware, toys, sports stuff, clothes, gardening etc etc. Something like a Walmart.

Good Luck starstar!

Here's an example of an immigration specialist ozzie company

http://www.immagine-immigration.com/

They have mara agents. Actually information on migrating is pretty easy to obtain the thing is if you go to one of these companies would you have an advatange over someone that does it all by himself.

chupacabra

Yes its more advantages. OZzie companies still prefer their same shitty accent at the other end of the line. They seem to trust their own more than any others. Just like other races la. You should know that nigger.

IWC2006

Sam, I can't help it and I am sure you are doing more than your fair share by running this forum. I can tell you my guessitimate is
- 10 out of 10 want a better life
- 9 out of 10 have considered at one point in their life to migrate to a 1st world country
- 8 out of 10 will jump at the chance if all the ducks are lined up
- 7 out of 10 consider too many things including extended families, relatives, friends which should never be part of the equation.
- 6 out of 10 feel that they cannot leave their parents (not sure if this is an excuse)
- 5 out of 10 cannot get their spouse to agree
- 4 out of 10 are simply scared to move out of the comfort zone. Risk adverse till the very end
- 3 out of 10 have viable business or a job which they are afraid to let go
- 2 out of 10 genuinely think they do not qualify and give up.
- 1 out of 10 do not qualify

I also know of another group deep down want to move oversea but on surface keep stressing Spore is the best place on earth! (to mask their fear of emigration)

IWC2006

Yes its more advantages. OZzie companies still prefer their same shitty accent at the other end of the line. They seem to trust their own more than any others. Just like other races la. You should know that nigger.

Oz companies are more open these days.eg CBA's CEO is a kiwi, Westpac CEO is a South African. Of course they are still white predominantly. Though Asians are increasing in numbers Oz they are still minorities especially for leadership roles. However, there are quite a few middle Mgr Asian roles doing pretty well, some are ABCs or have been here for a number of years. I was fortunate to land a mgr role 4 years ago when I first got here, but it was quite a daunting task (not for just Asians but westerners as well) to lead a team as staff here don't play by the cards just because you hold the 'manager' title, u have to earn it. That's why many prefer to be a specialist / SME than becoming mgrs. we probably won't see a Asian CEO anytime soon in Oz but that should not bother 99% of the migrants as they are here for a good life + a decent career.

IWC2006

Yeah but interest rates are high in Oz and if u're below a certain income bracket u quality for rental assistance from the gov... hence sometimes it makes more senses to rent than buy

Most will not qualify for the rental assistance, knowing sporeans- they will not accept lower income jobs for long. Many have packed their bags as they lack determination and pride is important for them. However, I agree Oz rent is ridiculous these days(not as bad than Hk or sg) but with a high income tax system + a high cost of living, not many people can save much. Also, many jobs these days are contract-based and even if they have perm jobs ,they usually are paid a lot less than contractors (as well as less challenging roles). Hence, job security is scarce hence renting is not a A bad idea at all. If sporeans migrants think there's no stress in Oz then they better think twiceas it is certainly not the case.

StinkiePeasants

My advice to those contemplating emigration. If any answers to the following below is YES then STAY ON IN S'PORE
1. If one has been happy in S'pore ie (letting the govt do all the planning, thinking and holding your money-CPF for you)

2. Those who only know how to work for someone else and can only survive perpetually as an employee and NEVER as a self employed individual.

3. Those who can only survive on eating out at hawker centres and CANNOT even cook a decent meal.

4. Those who can ONLY speak Mandarin and SINGLISH, stay in S'pore or maybe CHINA/Taiwan.

5. Those who really CANNOT survive without a maid to do household chores..

6. Those who always feel inferior to ANGMOHs, fear any form of perceived racism; no matter how insignificant and feel comfortable only when in the company of one's race being dominant.

7. Those who are "kiasu" and "kiasi" to the core, to play safe, stay at home

8. Those who hate mowing the lawn, gardening and doing simple DIY household repairs and maintenance.

9. Those who find travelling from say Changi Point(home) to Tuas(workplace) a major inconvenience, you ain't seen nothing yet when you emigrate.

Lastly, don't expect a red carpet rolling out for you when you attend a job interview..The interviewer also knows absolutely nothing about you and your proud heritage. NUS is unknown to your new AngMo boss. Being educated in "Raffles Institution" opens doors in Singapore but means precious little to AngMo boss.

10. Those who are wealthy enough to live the good life in addition to the low taxes for the rich in Singapore. When migrating to a 1st World Ang Moh country they will be subject to very high income, capital gains, and inheritance taxes. Eduardo Saverin, billionaire and co-founder of Facebook, made a very wise choice by migrating to SG and renouncing his U.S. citizenship.

HotDogWater

Add in those who get jealous when they see Singaporean women having ang mo husband/bf. In those Western nations, they are pretty common sights. :biggrin:

Arthur

I agreed, that cost wise it's probably cheaper in Alberta compared to BC & Ontario. The province of Alberta does not have a sales tax. This province has the Uni of Edmonton & the Uni of Calgary.

nayr69sg

Staff member
I agreed, that cost wise it's probably cheaper in Alberta compared to BC & Ontario. The province of Alberta does not have a sales tax. This province has the Uni of Edmonton & the Uni of Calgary.

There is no such Uni of Edmonton in Edmonton.

It's called the University of Alberta.

It is not true that cost wise it is cheaper in Alberta. It depends what you are talking about. There is still GST but no Provincial Sales Tax (PST).

Gasoline is cheaper in Alberta compared to BC & Ontario, but groceries are more expensive in Alberta.

Charlie99

Without actual prices from Alberta and BC to make a comparison, but I believe that the cost of food and grocery is cheaper in Toronto, for example (the items which we buy on a regular basis):
Micro filtered 2% milk: last week was $5 for 4 litre bag, this week $4
Cereals: Quaker granola cereal $3 for a 750 gm box; Shreddies $2.50 for a 550 gm box; Cheerios $3 to $4 for a 550 gm box; Quaker oat squares or corn bran $3 for a 550 gm box
Potatoes: last week was $1 for 5 pounds, this week $4 for 10 pounds of Yukon Gold
Rice: 8kg of Thai fragrant rice $10 (we only use about 2 to 3 cups of rice a week)
Steak: Sterling Silver Striploin steak $10 a pound (in the summer, sometimes $6 or $7 a pound at Sobeys)
Chicken: Boneless Skinless chicken breasts $5 a pound
Frozen Shrimps: this week $5 a pound (31 to 40 in the bag, in terms of size)
Broccoli: between $1 to $2 for a big head, Ontario grown, but will be relying on USA broccoli very very soon
Cauliflower: between $1 to $2.50 for a big head, Ontario grown, as above
Vine ripen tomatoes (Ontario): $1 a pound
Green beans / yellow wax beans: between $1.29 to $1.99 a pound
Salmon fillet: usually $10 to $13 a pound, when on sale $6 to $8 a pound
Black forest ham: $1.80 per 100 gm
Oven roasted turkey breast: $3.29 per 100 gm
Bread (whole wheat, or ancient grains or 12 grain): last week $2 for 675 gm, but usually $3.69
Bread (light rye, fresh from Future Bakery): $4 for 900 gm loaf
Orange juice (Tropicana): last week $4 for 2.63 litre jug, usually $7