• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

How far can money get you in the music industry?

shawna

By Lediati Tan
The New Paper
Sunday, Jul 01, 2012
SINGAPORE - Made my wish to be a superstar, sings Ms Ho Yeow Sun in her English single, Fancy Free.

Ten years ago, Ms Ho, 42, who goes by the stage name Sun Ho, embarked on her secular music career as part of the Crossover Project to reach out to non-Christians.

Now, her music career is part of the focus in the investigations against individuals from the City Harvest Church.

The Commissioner of Charities had found financial irregularities of at least $23 million from the church's funds which were allegedly used with the purported intention of bankrolling Ms Ho's career.

RELATED STORIES

Sun Ho's $23 million attempt to break into Hollywood
More about the City Harvest case
On Wednesday, her husband Kong Hee and four church office-bearers were charged in court with the alleged misuse of the funds.

Notwithstanding the case before the courts, can someone buy his or her way to stardom? And how far can money get you in the music industry?

Industry insiders here and in the US told The New Paper that while money is important in gaining a foothold, talent will be the decisive factor in carving out a successful long-term career.

Money helps, but...

Mr Ngiam Kwang Hwa, managing director of Mandarin music label Rock Records, said: "Money can definitely bring you in, but money can't sustain you. You won't go far if you don't have talent.

"I don't believe that you can groom anyone without any star quality or talent... It depends on what you can offer to the consumer to sustain your music career."

American Robert A. Case, a music career consultant who owns two music publishing companies, said: "I know of people who have millions and millions of dollars, who throw money in as entertainers. And they've failed."

Asked how much it would cost to break into the US market, Mr Gingio Muehlbauer, founder of international music consultancy MC-Input.com, said that in the pop music scene, it would cost close to US$3 million (S$3.8 million) for the full works, from producing an album to marketing the singer.

Then, there are also the costs of collaborating with top names in the industry to draw more eyeballs and gain recognition.

Mr Jerry Lembo, president of Jerry Lembo Entertainment Group, said that most notable producers are represented by an agent or manager, and their time, availability and fees would be negotiated by them.

The costs of hiring these producers, he added, would most likely be included in the record label's recording budget.

Mr Muehlbauer said that hiring a top artiste, producer or musicians can cost anything from US$10,000 up to "hundreds of thousands", depending on how well-known they are.

And there are additional costs if you want a collaborating artiste to appear on the video or perform as a guest in concerts, he added.

Besides having talent and financial backing, success in the music industry also often depends on who you know and the relationships you build.

Mr Peng Chi Sheng, a local musician and director of Intune Music School, said: "One of the most important things is who you know.

"Just a call from the right person and you could get linked up to other people."

Mr Muehlbauer said that attending major conferences or events such as the Grammy Awards and big private parties is a great way to get noticed.

He added: "You can pay to get into some of these events. But most of them are by invitation only, so it always comes down to who you know."

Mr Case had this piece of advice for foreign artists who want to break into the US market.

"It doesn't matter if you are from a foreign country. The key to success is to be successful in your own country first," he said.

"Create a buzz in own country or region first, then other countries will take you seriously."
This article was first published in The New Paper.

... Mr Case had this piece of advice for foreign artists who want to break into the US market.

"It doesn't matter if you are from a foreign country. The key to success is to be successful in your own country first," he said.

"Create a buzz in own country or region first, then other countries will take you seriously." ...
horsie is a dunno-who even in her own cuntry ... lidat no wonder splash 25m oso got no result ...

but now, she's creating a buzz in her own cuntry liao! ... :eek:

horsie is a dunno-who even in her own cuntry ... lidat no wonder splash 25m oso got no result ...

Own country dont support her .
How far can she go.
Until out of money buying supporter. Too many album unsold force CHC member each buy 2 or more.
Really Idiot CHC member. Why dont buy 2 pack of rice give to the poor.

Cruxx

Own country dont support her .
How far can she go.
Until out of money buying supporter. Too many album unsold force CHC member each buy 2 or more.
Really Idiot CHC member. Why dont buy 2 pack of rice give to the poor.

Sinkies think the poor are lazy bums who don't deserve charity. At least that's how they convince themselves to be selfish. :smile:

Mr Case had this piece of advice for foreign artists who want to break into the US market.

This Ang Mor knows jackass. Stefanie Sun made it big in Taiwan before she came back to Singapore. The rest is history.

potato29

This Ang Mor knows jackass. Stefanie Sun made it big in Taiwan before she came back to Singapore. The rest is history.

this Ang Mor referring to US market, u jackass.

Silent88scope

This Ang Mor even though knows jackass, he is absolutely right if we think about what he says rationally.
Olivia Ong also cannot make it big in Taiwan and Japan. She eventually lan lan has to come back Sillypore to sing again.

shOUTloud

I think New Creation Church's strategy's better. Go after the pop stars and convert them rather than making them. So much cheaper. In fact, get $$ from them some more.

shawna

well, at least she thinks she can use money to break into hollywood. she is asian chinese. no asians can break into hollywood successfully if u can't speak like americans and u dont have the prominent features. this is reality, sun whore.

in every country, the crowd appeals to the local speaking frequencies. if u can't speak like them, u r out of the market. it's a very simple maths. who will invest u if u don't have the local flavour.

Well, you could always make albums and buy 10 million copies of each.
Of course, you would need a bunch of people to provide you with the funding.

She really can't make it in the US music industry.. She's hopeless as a singer..

Silent88scope

Olivia Ong however, looks stunning..... compared to Sun HOrse

Olivia Ong so stunning also cannot become a singer in Taiwan, Japan or even America.

That Sun HOrse definitely 100% cannot make it. But she always got this "star dream" and thought she can really sing.
That's why she ended up asking her hubby to misuse the church's $$$ to craft out her own music career.

shawna

i think she is still dreaming of becoming a star. it is hard to become a star if she doesn't have the liaw. she thinks she can do it, all her imagination. let's see how long she will stay in la and become a "star"

shawna

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/AZHJlue6qCA" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

her message played backward... lol, i think she has done botox on her face.

cheowyonglee

you got it right man!!! this is actually Khong act!!! he finally make Sun famous over night!!!

shawna

news broadcast by aljazeera... look at their newscasters' expression and they played the video of sun whore. it is so awkward to watch sun whore dancing in that video with a funny oriental face as well...

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/sDlq-8CJIy8" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>