• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The mind behind those 60% voters

It is a huge disappointment that being a citizen who served NS and tried hard to defend our country, we have a society largely built upon 60% daft Singaporeans.

I've always been interested in the composition of the 60%.
Generally, it could be made up of the following:

1. friends and family of the miws
2. people who really believe they are doing a good job - some of these end up being grassroot leaders or volunteers
3. people who think they can get some benefits by helping them - some of these also end up being grassroot leaders or volunteers
4. people who think it is in their best interests to support them - could include pensioners, civil servants, those working in glcs or stat boards
5. people who have benefitted from them or currently benefit from supporting them - includes rich and elites like business people, corporate bigwigs, those from wealthy families including ah sia kias, etc
6. people who are actually struggling but fear that things will get even worse if pap is not around
7. people who have been brainwashed, or been intimidated or cowered into fear by their scare tactics
8. sycophants, yes men, silly followers who simply follow the herd or majority, not due to fear but simply follow the wave
9. idiots and morons
10. people who simply hate opposition or specific opposition members for whatever reason

please add on if u have other categories.

Thick Face Black Heart

It is a huge disappointment that being a citizen who served NS and tried hard to defend our country, we have a society largely built upon 60% daft Singaporeans.

With 60% of population that are clueless and living on meaningless life, is Singapore in the midst of sinking and vulnerable to foreign attack?

Yet, 60% enjoy being lectured; they feel the orgasm whenever PAP made sneering and bitter speeches about them.

Bro,

We must not alienate the 60% by calling them "daft" or "clueless". These are the votes that we want to win. The 40% is not even secure yet, as many of them are swing voters who were willing (brave?) enough to test out the opposition.

There are many more swing voters out there (amongst the 60%) whose hearts and mind we have to win. Continue to educate and reach out.

Thick Face Black Heart

Spot on regarding the comfort zone.

The MSM also has a large part to play. The older generation does not use FB or surf SBF, they get their daily fix from ST and CNA (on TV). So their opinions are all shaped by the MSM.

Reluctance to change is part of human nature. Even for those who fell on hard times, many of them still continue to vote PAP because they don't see how the oppo can benefit them. This is called psychological inertia.

A significant of low income earner still vote PAP, even though they are the most heavily screwed bunch of folks.

And the same is happening across the causeway, in case you think this is unique to SG. How many low income chinese there support mahathir even though he spoke a lot of racist stuff. Again, psychological inertia.

Alot of them are in their comfort zone. They have a job, a house and that's enough for them. They are afraid of change. I equal that to a selfish attitude.
They don't think of their future generation.
Once these folks are out of a job and can only find jobs cleaning tables, they get angry with the system. They look to the opposition as their saviour.

bro,

was more interested in knowing the demography of our electorate. understanding that males and females take up approximately 50% each. the age group could then play another pivotal role in the political inclinations of the electorate.

folks in their 30s and below did witness the transformation from kumpong to city, but witnessed the way PAP enriching themselves with millions whilst the poor and old having to fend for themselves. folks in their 40s know how hard it is to survive in the corporate world, folks in their 50s worried about their kids and their future.

the influx of new citizens will continue to bolster the votes for the incumbent if the numbers are right. it will be scary.

Cruxx

2. people who really believe they are doing a good job - some of these end up being grassroot leaders or volunteers
3. people who think they can get some benefits by helping them - some of these also end up being grassroot leaders or volunteers
4. people who think it is in their best interests to support them - could include pensioners, civil servants, those working in glcs or stat boards
5. people who have benefitted from them or currently benefit from supporting them - includes rich and elites like business people, corporate bigwigs, those from wealthy families including ah sia kias, etc
6. people who are actually struggling but fear that things will get even worse if pap is not around
7. people who have been brainwashed, or been intimidated or cowered into fear by their scare tactics
8. sycophants, yes men, silly followers who simply follow the herd or majority, not due to fear but simply follow the wave
9. idiots and morons
10. people who simply hate opposition or specific opposition members for whatever reason

You can subsume all of these under one category: beneficiaries of a money laundering tax haven. Dumb Sinkies look at the Lambos and Iphones proliferating all over the cuntry and attribute it to the "wise stewardship" of the PAPzis. :rolleyes:

bro,

was more interested in knowing the demography of our electorate. understanding that males and females take up approximately 50% each. the age group could then play another pivotal role in the political inclinations of the electorate.

zhihau,
as we discussed before, % of males voting pappy could be 50%, % of females voting pappy likely to be 70%.
and that's how we get 60%, assuming % of males and females is roughly equal.
this could be the same % for old and young, replace male with young and female with old
cutoff age could be 50, assuming that % of people below and above 50 is roughly equal.

freedalas

9. idiots and morons

One sizable group is those who don't believe that the vote is secret. Though both the PAP and the opposition had assured the people that our votes are secret, these people still do not trust the PAP as they have seen so many cases of the PAP taking revenge on those who speak or act against them the past 50 years. More efforts should be made to convince this group that our votes are indeed secret as there would be quite a swing towards the opposition.

You can subsume all of these under one category: beneficiaries of a money laundering tax haven.

I don't think it has reached that stage at the moment, but their obsession with "wealth management" as opposed to
"wealth or value creation" is bordering on being ridiculous.

One sizable group is those who don't believe that the vote is secret. Though both the PAP and the opposition had assured the people that our votes are secret, these people still do not trust the PAP as they have seen so many cases of the PAP taking revenge on those who speak or act against them the past 50 years. More efforts should be made to convince this group that our votes are indeed secret as there would be quite a swing towards the opposition.

this group is covered by my category 7, and some of these people are also in category 4.

Thick Face Black Heart

Superficial and biased. Are you telling me the PAP didn't have their bad eggs? What about those in PAP cabinet or PAP MPs who committed crimes and were forced to relinquish their political positions? Pritam Singh named two good examples (excluding Devan Nair, which is a bad example as he committed no crime). Are you telling me PAP is whiter than white? That there is no infighting? No sex scandal? No backstabbing?

Priest lah. Want to hong WP also learn how to hong properly.

Every mistake of the opposition whether it is infighting or sex scandal is brought into full view because the MSM is given free reign to report and even dramatize such events. But the PAP scandals are kept quiet. Even government scandals are just reported in a nonchalant way and then left to die down. Remember the two high ranking civil servants charged for corruption recently? Bet you don't even remember, you are so drowned out in looking for faults in WP.

Its not like we are in a fair climate where there's a two party system. The PAP has 94% of the seats, even if HG goes to WP they will still have 93% of the seats. Let there be more balance first, then maybe I will listen to what you are saying. You are the kind of person, if a mercedes driver drives by you will offer him two dollars but a poor man walks by, even 20 cents also cannot give.

Last time I tend to think and wonder why the 60% Singaporeans didn't vote for opposition parties after all the policies which make us suffer. However, I begin to realize why and WP's recent sagas one after another will entrench such sentiments among the 60%: they don't trust opposition parties and opposition parties had hardly shown that they could be trusted. Trust and confidence are something very fundamental in Singapore politics.

Trust and confidence were destroyed back in the 1990s when SDP has infighting resulting in Uncle Chiam starting his own party while SDP lost all its seats. It took 20 yrs for voters to be convinced again to vote for 6 MPs into parliament but within 9 months (less than a year), Yaw-gate happened with plagiarism being uncovered in WP MPs. What is worse, the incoherent debates on ministerial pay put up by WP MPs. It will definitely affect the middle ground voters' confidence on opposition parties like WP again.

It seems that elections, whether it is GE or By-elections, have become a contest on who is worse than the other sides, not about who could do better. The worse thing to happen is that WP supporters are fast becoming the PAP supporters of yesteryears, void of reasons and rationale, just pure fanaticism.

Goh Meng Seng

Thick Face Black Heart

You seriously think voters trust the PAP of today and they vote PAP because they trust the party? Come off it, self-styled two bit political "analyst".

The PAP has all the rules in their favour. PA and grassroots co-opted by them and used for political purposes. Opposition MPs are not allowed to be grassroot advisors of their own constituencies. The PAP mainstream media is under their thumb. Alternative media like TOC are gazetted by MDA. The ISA is still in force. Opposition personalities sued, bankrupted. ISD active in campus, closely monitoring political activity all over the place. Parents are called up by the authorities if their kids show political talent in campus activities.

In such an unlevel playing field Mr Got More Shit expects the opposition to be equal to the PAP even though PAP has much larger pool of resources and manpower.

As I told Got More Shit, level the playing field first, have more balanced parliament, then I will listen to him.

9. idiots and morons

What you have listed are the points I was trying to make. People live on greed, there is no integrity and they thought by getting some peanuts from PAP their future generations will be guaranteed of safety and prosperity? That is a fool's belief. PAP is like a vacuum cleaner, they gave this generations 1 cts and will take back $100 from your next generations. First generation bought a 5-room flat for $50K, now their children has to pay $500K for similar or smaller size flat. Did the same family benefited?

At the first sign of trouble, the Lee families can get out of Singapore with ease and settled elsewhere loaded with our CPF monies, can the grassroots people, the beneficiaries of peanuts and their PAP sycophants be equally protected and promised of a promiseland by Lee? If all these pro-pap supporters were to load on the same plane as the Lees, they will be kicked out and asked to find their own route of escape. Can these beneficiaries also be able to afford and support their cost of livings outside Singapore, will the Lee support them? Based on the mentality that no one deserved freebies and welfare, I am sure all these pro-pap dogs will have a hard time running road and settled in other part of the world comfortably, begging the leegime is a waste of time.

Who WERE PAP trying to cheat. Todate those in parliaments have their children probably settled somewhere already. Yaccoob had their children gotten the green cards and others remained stationed elsewhere. Loyalty is fed into peasant to protect the elite and will the elite stay loyal and protect lesser mortal in return? only times will tell, only when oppositions are voted in parliament can we truly see where PAP stands for this country or elsewhere. Their assets are largely undisclosed todate in certain parts of the world.

So why are the 60% continue to give PAP the blind supports when they are at the losing end from PAP power? Singapore will always be our home, in good or bad times. Why not bring in opposition in to exposed the true color of PAP sooner rather than later? Home is build on democracy to ensure continuous stability but we are not getting anywhere near.

PAP know foreigners will not serve National Service, there are data to prove it. But why is the immigration gate not lock? Like I said earlier, they are all planned secretly for the ill of Singapore future, everyone lose in the process regardless if you are the supporter of the white monkey. There is only one beneficiaries in the whole systems, that is Lee family and few elites in parliament. Singapore is for Singaporeans, not for PAP. I hope every single pro-pap supporters understand this factl.

3_M

- people who are risk averse and have the mentality of why fix it if it ain't broken?

-selfish voters who wants more oppositions but not in my ward.

-Civil servants who worries about their job prospect if they ever vote oppositions.

-people who needs help from govt like PR application for spouse.

-people who benefits from govt policies like property investors, stocks investors (who worries market crash if gov falls) business owners.

- people who are risk averse and have the mentality of why fix it if it ain't broken?

-selfish voters who wants more oppositions but not in my ward.

-Civil servants who worries about their job prospect if they ever vote oppositions.

-people who needs help from govt like PR application for spouse.

-people who benefits from govt policies like property investors, stocks investors (who worries market crash if gov falls) business owners.

I believe opposition parties can give it to them too. Not just PAP. The difference is in the core value. PAP believe in hardware bribe, opposition believe in software human touch. Other than that, nobody will ever lose out be it employer, employee, civil servants or any other investors. The morale of Singapore is low, people are unhappy with everything, the trust is no longer there, division and split is obvious because we have lost the SOFTWARE to run this country.

zhihau,
as we discussed before, % of males voting pappy could be 50%, % of females voting pappy likely to be 70%.
and that's how we get 60%, assuming % of males and females is roughly equal.
this could be the same % for old and young, replace male with young and female with old
cutoff age could be 50, assuming that % of people below and above 50 is roughly equal.

then which group of these are the hardcore PAP supporters and what's the base percentage? perhaps should rephrase the question as finding out the following:
% of the moderate PAP supporters
% of those who supports PAP due to its contributions in the past, i.e the % of the loyalists
% of those porlumpars

rusty

Yes the 60% have minds, but they have been poisoned by the MSM and by their own fear.

What's the diff?
The other 40 also got poisoned day in and day out but they still have a mind of their own like you(luckily)
Anyway, you still have a point, mind game is what a lot of people don't realised until recently