• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Dr Chee's application for travel to speak at Oslo Freedom Forum rejected

Leepotism

MONDAY, 23 APRIL 2012
Singapore Democrats

liaward-speech.jpg
Dr Chee Soon Juan's application for travel to Norway to speak at the Oslo Freedom Forum in May has been rejected. The Official Assignee (OA) has, like in countless occasions in the past, banned the SDP secretary-general from going overseas.

Forum organisers have, however, asked Dr Chee to record his speech on video which will be presented during a session to highlight countries where "human rights violations are skillfully hidden by governments and thus ignored by the [international] media."

The OA's rejection makes little sense because the rationale for prohibiting bankrupts from going overseas is to ensure that they do not skip town for good and leave the creditor unpaid. There is no chance that Dr Chee will leave Singapore and not return.

Besides, it's not like Mr Lee Kuan Yew and Mr Goh Chok Tong, who sued and then bankrupted Dr Chee, need the money. The two former prime ministers are millionaires many times over. And yet, they insist on wanting money from the SDP leader.

Thirdly, it cannot be that the OA is afraid that Dr Chee will spend his money overseas and not pay Mr Lee and Mr Goh because the Freedom Forum has stated that it will pay all of his expenses for the visit. The reason is obviously something else.

The last time the OA rejected Dr Chee's travel was November last year when he was invited to speak at the International Bar Association's annual conference in Dubai. Because of his inability to travel, he recorded his speech which was played to audience. (Watch video here.)

From that presentation, the panel chairpersons Professor Robert Stein of the University of Minnesota Law School and Justice Richard Goldstone of the Constitutional Court of South Africa have invited Dr Chee to co-author a chapter in a book dealing with the subject of the Rule of Law. Cambridge University Press has shown interest in publishing the book.

The Oslo Freedom Forum is a high level event described by The Economist as "a spectacular human-rights festival on its way to becoming a human rights equivalent of the Davos Economic Forum." Former US president Bill Clinton said that the Forum is “a unique gathering of the best minds, bravest hearts and strongest pillars of the human rights community.”

The mission of the Forum is to bring together leaders from academia, advocacy, business, media, politics, social entrepreneurship, and technology to address the world’s most challenging humanitarian issues. It has attracted wide media interest inluding news organisations like CNN, Al-Jazeera, Wall Street Journal, Forbes magazine, Huffington Post and so on.

This year's speakers include Mr Jimmy Wales, founder and CEO of Wikipedia and Mr Julian Assange of Wikileaks. Past speakers include Nobel Peace Prize winner Leymah Gbowee, chessmaster and Russian democracy advocate Gary Kasparov, and former Czech Republic president (the late) Vaclav Havel.

Dr Chee will highlight in his presentation the urgent need for open and democratic debate as the socio-economic situation continues to deteriorate in Singapore. The control of the political system and the local media by the ruling party must end.

Please note that the Oslo Freedom Forum is unlike many other conferences, especially those devoted to human rights, in that we strive to offer an experience rich with audio-visual material, including dynamic onscreen presentations, short films, custom music and more. As such, we strongly encourage you to include as much visual material as possible throughout your presentation, and our creative director, Chandler Tuttle (copied on this email), is fully available to help you prepare your talk in this way.

Sophal Ear’s presentation about the Cambodian genocide from the 2010 Oslo Freedom Forum is an excellent example of a visually engaging speech. The link can be found here: http://youtube/yraS_HzdezQ

You will be featured in a session titled Spotlight on Repression, which will bring together speakers from repressed countries where severe human rights violations are skillfully hidden by governments and thus ignored by the mainstream media.

Within this theme, we invite you to give a presentation, titled The Secret of Singapore, about your work as an opposition politician in your country. Give a vivid account of the government’s monopoly on media and stifling of free speech, the harassment and imprisonment of opposition figures, and the tight control of civil society and free association. Tell us about the repression you have faced personally in your country, and tell us about what you have done to bring about change in Singapore and promote democracy and human rights.

<tbody>
</tbody>

jiakhongleow

Everything need to change will be GE2016. Incompetent no leadership quality LHL will not survive GE2016. Old fart will not last to see 2016 and he will long be forgotten and whoever bring up his name will be booed at.

Leepotism

Rights group urges Singapore to lift travel ban for opposition leader to attend Norway forum

By Associated Press, Updated: Tuesday, April 24, 6:57 PM

<article>SINGAPORE — A human rights group has urged Singapore to lift a travel ban on a prominent opposition leader so he can attend a conference in Norway.
The New York-based Human Rights Foundation called on Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong in a letter Tuesday to allow Singapore Democratic Party Secretary-General Chee Soon Juan to speak at the Oslo Freedom Forum in May.
</article>

<article>Chee has been banned from traveling outside Singapore since he declared bankruptcy in 2006 when a court ordered him to pay heavy fines for defaming former prime ministers Lee Kuan Yew and Goh Chok Tong.
The government’s bankruptcy office said in a letter earlier this month that it denied Chee permission to travel to the conference because he has failed to make a contribution to his bankruptcy estate.

</article>

Kinana

The can easily overcome that by having an internet conference. I saw it on TED where Ai Wei Wei appeared at the forum by the net live on a screen and addressed the ang mos.

Cruxx

Everything need to change will be GE2016. Incompetent no leadership quality LHL will not survive GE2016. Old fart will not last to see 2016 and he will long be forgotten and whoever bring up his name will be booed at.

You've no idea how many brainwashed opposition supporters admire old fart a great deal.

Thank goodness the application was rejected. We don't want him making a fool of himself there. Besides other attendees might get the impression that all Singaporeans were as clueless as he is and that would put the country in very bad light.

The can easily overcome that by having an internet conference. I saw it on TED where Ai Wei Wei appeared at the forum by the net live on a screen and addressed the ang mos.

the sg isp may reroute the video packets on an infinite loop in a round-the-world trip with more than 30 hops and feign ignorance. :p

steffychun

Thank goodness the application was rejected. We don't want him making a fool of himself there. Besides other attendees might get the impression that all Singaporeans were as clueless as he is and that would put the country in very bad light.

I agree first time with you.

How come no condemnation from the US or UN? No sanctions? I thought Chee always compares himself to Aun San?

Liquigas

steffychun; How come no condemnation from the US or UN? No sanctions? I thought Chee always compares himself to Aun San?[/QUOTE said:
Now you are laughing at him but come one day like Aung San Suu Kyi this man may be able to walk into Parliament, what then do you have to say?

methink

alamak, just one dr chee pinky already pee in his pants...

Yes when he or his SDP walks into parleement, he and his dogs will be whining to their master LKY!

Hopefully he is not dead by then. I want to see the emperor live to witess that day! He may have a heart attack!

It's natural for OA to reject CSJ application to go abroad. CSJ status and profile would naturally qualify him for political asylum abroad in many countries and he can also use the opportunity abroad to transit to any of those countries he choose instead of returning to Singapore. That PAP fears CSJ is the joke of the century. If PAP fears CSJ (average percentage of votes at 25%), PAP should have let him go and stop him from coming back, e.g. FS and TLH.

Leepotism

Thor Halvorssen

Founder, Human Rights Foundation

An open letter to Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong

<strike>
</strike>

Dear Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong,
In November of 2011, the Human Rights Foundation invited Dr. Chee Soon Juan -- one of your well-known critics and one of Singapore's most visible opposition leaders -- to speak at the 2012 Oslo Freedom Forum, taking place May 7, 8, and 9 in Norway. The forum is an annual gathering for promoting democracy, human rights, and justice.
Yesterday, we learned that Dr. Chee's application to leave Singapore to participate at the Oslo Freedom Forum was "not approved." I enclose a copy of an April 10 missive from Lydia Loh of the Insolvency and Public Trustee's Office -- an agency of your government -- denying Dr. Chee permission to exit Singapore and travel to Oslo.
Your government's travel ban on Dr. Chee is but the latest in a series of instances where he has been penalized for criticizing Singapore authorities.
<center style="list-style-type: none; list-style-position: initial; list-style-image: initial; margin-top: 0px; margin-right: 0px; margin-bottom: 0px; margin-left: 0px; padding-top: 0px; padding-right: 0px; padding-bottom: 0px; padding-left: 0px; border-top-style: none; border-right-style: none; border-bottom-style: none; border-left-style: none; border-width: initial; border-color: initial; border-image: initial; ">
2012-04-24-Singapore.jpg
</center><center style="list-style-type: none; list-style-position: initial; list-style-image: initial; margin-top: 0px; margin-right: 0px; margin-bottom: 0px; margin-left: 0px; padding-top: 0px; padding-right: 0px; padding-bottom: 0px; padding-left: 0px; border-top-style: none; border-right-style: none; border-bottom-style: none; border-left-style: none; border-width: initial; border-color: initial; border-image: initial; ">Two faces of Singapore: opposition leader Chee Soon Juan,</center><center style="list-style-type: none; list-style-position: initial; list-style-image: initial; margin-top: 0px; margin-right: 0px; margin-bottom: 0px; margin-left: 0px; padding-top: 0px; padding-right: 0px; padding-bottom: 0px; padding-left: 0px; border-top-style: none; border-right-style: none; border-bottom-style: none; border-left-style: none; border-width: initial; border-color: initial; border-image: initial; ">and Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong (WikiMedia Commons)
</center>In 1992, Dr. Chee began his political career while still teaching at the National University of Singapore (NUS), joining the opposition Singapore Democracy Party (SDP). In 1993, after running an unsuccessful SDP campaign for a parliamentary seat, he was charged with misuse of research funds and fired by the head of his department at NUS, who was a member of the ruling People's Action Party (PAP). Dr. Chee argued that the charges were politically motivated. In return, three university officials sued him for defamation, obtaining a judgment of U.S. $350,000 in damages. Instead of declaring for bankruptcy, which would have prevented him from standing for election, Dr. Chee paid the sum by selling his house and possessions.
During the 2001 general elections, Dr. Chee questioned an alleged multi-billion dollar loan offered by the government of Singapore to the Suharto government of Indonesia. In return, Prime Minister Goh Chok Tok brought legal proceedings against Dr. Chee for defamation, as did your father, former Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew, at that time senior minister. Dr. Chee was convicted and ordered to pay $350,000 in damages. Unable to pay this fine, in 2006 he was declared bankrupt, barred from standing for elections, and forced to seek government permission to travel overseas.
During the 2006 general elections, you and your father brought more defamation charges against Dr. Chee, this time for an article printed in the SDP newsletter, implying corruption in your government. Dr. Chee was convicted of libel and ordered to pay you and your father $416,000 in damages.
These are just three of the most prominent cases where Dr. Chee has been penalized for criticizing the government of Singapore. In the last 20 years he has been jailed for more than 130 days on charges including contempt of Parliament, speaking in public without a permit, selling books improperly, and attempting to leave the country without a permit. Today, your government prevents Dr. Chee from leaving Singapore because of his bankrupt status.
A general travel restriction aimed at preventing a bankrupt individual from defrauding creditors may be legitimate. However, in this case, the travel restriction against Dr. Chee is aimed at further curtailing the freedom of expression of an opposition leader. It is our considered judgment that having already persecuted, prosecuted, bankrupted, and silenced Dr. Chee inside Singapore, you now wish to render him silent beyond your own borders.
Singapore is bound by the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, which is widely regarded as customary international law. Article 19 of the Declaration states that "everyone has the right to freedom of opinion and expression; this right includes freedom to hold opinions without interference and to seek, receive and impart information and ideas through any media and regardless of frontiers." According to the United Nations Special Rapporteur on Freedom of Opinion and Expression, while this right is subject to legitimate regulation, any restrictions on this right "must be clear, unambiguous as to the specific type of banned expressions, and proved to be necessary and proportionate, so as to prevent abuse for purposes beyond their intended purpose."
Along those lines, the Special Rapporteur has stated that defamation and libel laws should recognize that public figures have less protection from criticism than do private figures, that these laws should never be used to prevent criticism of governments, and that "the standards applied to defamation law should not be so stringent as to have a chilling effect on freedom of expression."
While freedom of expression is theoretically guaranteed by Article 14 of Singapore's constitution, your government imposes illegitimate restrictions on this right via the systematic and targeted application of the 1957 Defamation Act and Section 499 of the Penal Code against independent media and opposition leaders. In sum, the Singaporean government's major convictions of Dr. Chee violate international law, and enforcing a travel ban on him further enforces this violation.
We request that your government reconsider its travel ban on Dr. Chee and,
in the spirit of human rights, allow him to leave Singapore for four days to participate in the Oslo Freedom Forum.
Dr. Chee would need urgent clearance, as he needs proper travel documentation from you to depart Singapore on May 6. Norway does not require Singaporean citizens to have entry visas. We have booked his return flight to arrive back in Singapore on May 10.
By allowing Dr. Chee to join us, you would send a message that your government is willing to allow its most well-known critic to participate in international dialogue.
Yours sincerely,
Thor Halvorssen
President
Human Rights Foundation

steffychun

Now you are laughing at him but come one day like Aung San Suu Kyi this man may be able to walk into Parliament, what then do you have to say?

One day? When? When the world is about to end? You compare him to Aung San? How is he? Why haven't he influenced the West to impose a No-Fly Zone over Singapore? Sanctions?

Cruxx

God knows why CSJ sacrifices so much to liberate brainwashed Sinkies when all he gets in return are contempt and derision. Singapore isn't a cuntry anyway. So why the patriotism? :confused:

[video=youtube;mVmDINcyJBY]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mVmDINcyJBY[/video]

methink

One day? When? When the world is about to end? You compare him to Aung San? How is he? Why haven't he influenced the West to impose a No-Fly Zone over Singapore? Sanctions?

Again the PAP lapdog stuffychute laps up nonsensical matters for its faithful masters.

How much are you paid doggie?

Conqueror

Make Believe Branding

You've no idea how many brainwashed opposition supporters admire old fart a great deal.

He did nothing much. He had nothing to show. He even tried to steal SIA success story for his own limelight but failed. Only the uneducated old folks thought he is the hero. The daft young Sinkies too and that's why they are into volunteerism.

He said SIA is purely commercial and nothing about the national pride. Do you believe that ?

Conqueror

李敖解释为什么说新加坡人笨

Aung San Suuki has the masses support, he doesn't. Democracy is about the majority. UN cannot supercede the people's decision. It will be a fiasco for democracy.

But, I wonder whether Hitler had got the majority's support and worship. I think he was a gangster who stuck up the majority.

李敖解释为什么说新加坡人笨 Li Ao explained why Sinkies are dumb :

[video=youtube;mATjvcwSjrA]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mATjvcwSjrA[/video]

steffychun

Re: 李敖解释为什么说新加坡人笨

Aung San Suuki has the masses support, he doesn't. Democracy is about the majority. UN cannot supercede the people's decision. It will be a fiasco for democracy.

But, I wonder whether Hitler had got the majority's support and worship. I think he was a gangster who stuck up the majority.

李敖解释为什么说新加坡人笨 Li Ao explained why Sinkies are dumb :

[video=youtube;mATjvcwSjrA]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mATjvcwSjrA[/video]

Now that is a good analysis.

Can Singapore ever get sanctions or no-fly zones?

Leepotism

Re: Dr Chee\\\\\\\'s application for travel to speak at Oslo Freedom Forum rejected

Li Ao was spot on. But sinkies , at least the majority cannot face the HARD TRUTH, and were furious at LI Ao\\\'s comment.