Page 263 of 497 FirstFirst ... 163213253261262263264265273313363 ... LastLast
Results 5,241 to 5,260 of 9924

Thread: Living in JB 2 (Johore)

My Reputation Points: 67 / Power: 3

Default Re: Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Quote Originally Posted by DREAMorACTION View Post
    We tried to Jio u and organize some outings/dinners last time, but u didn't seem forthcoming also what ...
    Oh, was there a gathering in this forum?

My Reputation Points: 1512 / Power: 8

Quote Originally Posted by Funds Transfer View Post
    Oh, was there a gathering in this forum?
    Haven't taken place yet to the best of my knowledge. You know what, we should just PM some of us and arrange for a lunch or coffee at Station One cafe or something. PM like 10 persons and then no sharing of their nicks. Just meet and have a relaxing time and have a common code to identify oneself.
    Last edited by wuqi256; 10-04-2012 at 04:02 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by wuqi256 View Post
    Heard someones car was the target of crime at Safra in Tampines? Crime is everywhere, just need to be vigilant, lock up properly and don't display cashcard, etc.
    Even motorcycles are not safe, luckily in this case they managed to find it in the end:

There is crime every where. But in some places, they are briefly reported. Not sure if anyone knows more about this incident. No follow-ups since this report over the weekend.

Man injured in armed robbery attack in Choa Chu Kang
    Posted: 07 April 2012 2212 hrs

SINGAPORE: A man in his late-20s was wounded in an apparent armed robbery attack in Choa Chu Kang Saturday evening.

Police said the man suffered multiple cuts to his body and was sent to the Khoo Teck Puat Hospital.

Police were alerted to the incident at 5.00pm at Block 687-B Choa Chu Kang Drive.

Channel NewsAsia understands two men were involved in the attack.

Police investigations are ongoing.

- CNA/cc

There is crime every where. But in some places, they are briefly reported. Not sure if anyone knows more about this incident. No follow-ups since this report over the weekend.

Man injured in armed robbery attack in Choa Chu Kang
    Posted: 07 April 2012 2212 hrs

SINGAPORE: A man in his late-20s was wounded in an apparent armed robbery attack in Choa Chu Kang Saturday evening.

Police said the man suffered multiple cuts to his body and was sent to the Khoo Teck Puat Hospital.

Police were alerted to the incident at 5.00pm at Block 687-B Choa Chu Kang Drive.

Channel NewsAsia understands two men were involved in the attack.

Police investigations are ongoing.

- CNA/cc
    Ok this is serious, i think have to be extra vigilant these days no matter where one goes.
    On another note, saw a Woodlands bus accident being mentioned in another thread some
    where, seriously hope that is just a hoax especially when it says mowed down, etc.

Haven't taken place yet to the best of my knowledge. You know what, we should just PM some of us and arrange for a lunch or coffee at Station One cafe or something. PM like 10 persons and then no sharing of their nicks. Just meet and have a relaxing time and have a common code to identify oneself.
    Everyone could bring a durian and have a party!

Ok this is serious, i think have to be extra vigilant these days no matter where one goes.
    On another note, saw a Woodlands bus accident being mentioned in another thread some
    where, seriously hope that is just a hoax especially when it says mowed down, etc.
    No hoax. A fact-fact.

Boy hit by SMRT bus in Woodlands
    By Fann Sim | Yahoo! Newsroom – 4 hours ago

A boy was hit by an SMRT bus in Woodlands on Monday afternoon. (Yahoo! file photo)
    (Updated at 7:11pm: Boy's age corrected.)

A schoolboy was hit by an SMRT bus in Woodlands on Monday.

SMRT bus service 912 was turning left at the junction of Woodlands Avenue 6 and Woodlands Drive 53 when it knocked a 9-year-old boy down.

The Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF) said they received a call at 2:53pm informing them of an accident and they then dispatched assistance to the scene.

The boy sustained a fracture in his right ankle and was conscious when he was sent to the KK Hospital at 3:09pm, said an SCDF spokesperson.

An SMRT spokesperson told Yahoo! Singapore that SMRT’s Bus Operation Command Centre (BOCC) was notified of the accident at 3:00pm and immediately activated an ambulance. There were about 28 passengers on board the bus during the time of incident and no passenger was injured.

“The Service Leader has been suspended from duty,” said SMRT.

They will be assisting the family in every way they can, SMRT added.

The incident comes four days after an SBS bus hit and killed a woman crossing the road at the junction of Sengkang East Way and Compassvale Road.

-------------------------------------------------------------------

It makes me wonder about the conspiracy theory circulating the web about how PRC drivers are trying to get out of their labour contract by committing misdeameanor. Wondering if there's any truth in it now.

Ok, luckily no death but our roads are quickly becoming a death trap.

I have done this years before but again i strongly urge everyone not to use mobile phones or to listen to your ipods, etc when crossing the road and not to dash across without even looking. Cyclists too as i noticed so many zig zagging and not obeying traffic rules. Again, there are yet no known iphone/ipad apps for stopping an incoming vehicle.

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/10-year-old...-smrt-bus.html

SMRT bus service 912 was turning left at the junction of Woodlands Avenue 6 and Woodlands Drive 53 when it knocked a 9-year-old boy down.

The Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF) said they received a call at 2:53pm informing them of an accident and they then dispatched assistance to the scene.

The boy sustained a fracture in his right ankle and was conscious when he was sent to the KK Hospital at 3:09pm, said an SCDF spokesperson.

An SMRT spokesperson told Yahoo! Singapore that SMRT’s Bus Operation Command Centre (BOCC) was notified of the accident at 3:00pm and immediately activated an ambulance. There were about 28 passengers on board the bus during the time of incident and no passenger was injured.

The incident comes four days after an SBS bus hit and killed a woman crossing the road at the junction of Sengkang East Way and Compassvale Road.

No hoax. A fact-fact.

Boy hit by SMRT bus in Woodlands
    By Fann Sim | Yahoo! Newsroom – 4 hours ago

A boy was hit by an SMRT bus in Woodlands on Monday afternoon. (Yahoo! file photo)

-------------------------------------------------------------------

It makes me wonder about the conspiracy theory circulating the web about how PRC drivers are trying to get out of their labour contract by committing misdeameanor. Wondering if there's any truth in it now.
    Thanks alot for sharing, i found it as well. Someone also just sent me this:

http://motoring.asiaone.com/Motoring...22-329463.html

Vans and other commercial vehicles are travelling too fast these days, in the link of the case, it appears its worse as it was a drink driving case.
    No matter how safe people want to paint our roads to be, just remember all roads are inherently dangerous and regardless of your political outlook,
    everyone is fair game to dangerous driving. Now i understand why years ago, my foreign classmates will take such a long time to cross the roads
    while locals just cross nonchalently.

When will people realise that when you are crossing/running/jaywalking, even if the person hits you, at most he/she goes to jail for a short while and
    can carry on with life. You on the other hand, will be likely maimed or dead. He may be wrong but you will be dead so please be careful when crossing
    the roads. One time after the CTE tunnel while exiting to Cairnhill, an ang moh just dashed out and then walked slowly in the middle, i tooted my horn
    to warn the guys behind me but he thought i was beeping him. Showed me the finger and casually walked and was almost hit by another car who was
    not going to slow down like me. I horned again and luckily the driver behind me (who was moving from left lane to overtake me) saw him as well and
    he did an emergency brake, luckily no car behind him else it would have been bad.

That driver did not horn him at all but probably would have taken his life.

Everyone could bring a durian and have a party!
    Sounds good, at a neutral place like Station One cafe

Road accidents(War) doesn't determine who is right, it determines who is left.

My Reputation Points: 263 / Power: 3

Ok, luckily no death but our roads are quickly becoming a death trap.

I have done this years before but again i strongly urge everyone not to use mobile phones or to listen to your ipods, etc when crossing the road and not to dash across without even looking. Cyclists too as i noticed so many zig zagging and not obeying traffic rules. Again, there are yet no known iphone/ipad apps for stopping an incoming vehicle.

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/10-year-old...-smrt-bus.html

Yeah the 800 buses need 1600 drivers, so more coming

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stori...194011/1/.html

My Reputation Points: 80 / Power: 2

This is even more ridiculous ... Resting in car also no peace, and not even safe .... And under broad daylight

http://www.tnp.sg/content/stabbed-while-resting-car

He was taking a breather in his parked car on Saturday afternoon at Choa Chu Kang.
    Suddenly, he found himself being stabbed through his open car window.
    The man, 29-year-old Mr Goh, suffered multiple knife wounds on his face, neck and arm.
    He reportedly said that he does not know his attacker, who fled to a nearby multi-storey carpark and escaped in a car.

Quote Originally Posted by DREAMorACTION View Post
    This is even more ridiculous ... Resting in car also no peace, and not even safe .... And under broad daylight

http://www.tnp.sg/content/stabbed-while-resting-car

He was taking a breather in his parked car on Saturday afternoon at Choa Chu Kang.
    Suddenly, he found himself being stabbed through his open car window.
    The man, 29-year-old Mr Goh, suffered multiple knife wounds on his face, neck and arm.
    He reportedly said that he does not know his attacker, who fled to a nearby multi-storey carpark and escaped in a car.
    Thats scary, luckily he didn't die. I think maybe not robbery but scary nonetheless

These news kept making headlines recently. From acid attack in mrt, to accidents on streets and to mishaps in neighbourhoods.

What's happening to our neighborhoods? Human of all ages were not spared.

It's a worrying trend and we must stay vigilant at all time.

Agree on your advice on the iPhone, bro. I am one that is hooked on phone while walking. I will make a change starting today ...

Thats scary, luckily he didn't die. I think maybe not robbery but scary nonetheless

A new trend of scam. Please be aware too

http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking...ry_787546.html

My Reputation Points: 122 / Power: 2

erm like that i think i cant join , haha , coz i am only e active lady in this forum ....so everyones know who am I if i turn up but i dun know them wor .....

My Reputation Points: 24 / Power: 0

I would love to meet up but I don't understand the need for all the secrecy of keeping forum nick separate from real name. Why so suspicious?

Quote Originally Posted by 2bFree View Post
    I would love to meet up but I don't understand the need for all the secrecy of keeping forum nick separate from real name. Why so suspicious?
    u will understand if u are in wuqi's situation ....

Guys

today malaysia having public holiday .... do check the traffic before going in ....
    looks like i cant go in this evening liao ....

Quote Originally Posted by crystal_tiong View Post
    erm like that i think i cant join , haha , coz i am only e active lady in this forum ....so everyones know who am I if i turn up but i dun know them wor .....
    Still possible as there is also cathylmg, ginfreely, etc. Regulars to the forum will all be invited, with at least about 4 known ladies.
    Last edited by wuqi256; 11-04-2012 at 01:55 AM.