• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Good Quotes by SBF forummers

Thick Face Black Heart

What is the point of having reserves if they can't be spent on helping the less fortunate in society. Families save money so they have something to fall back on when things go bad. That's the whole purpose of saving money. Governments are just an extension of families. We have people in Singapore who have now fallen on hard times. What is so wrong about giving them a leg up using just a SMALL portion of the reserves. The forefathers would be most happy to help those in need. Who is the govt to say it should not be done????

(Leongsam)

Thick Face Black Heart

Your Fault - Over-reacting to the Train Breakdowns

The PAP is not contended with replacing Singaporeans with foreigners in the workplace, it also wants to slam Singaporeans using foreigners.

First of all, why give huge publicity to foreigners who do not know Singapore and take whatever they say as gospel truth? Was there an over-reaction in the first place? Was there a mass demonstration on the streets? Was there a mass boycott of SMRT? Did Singaporeans vote the PAP out? Do this foreigner expect zero reaction as reasonable reaction? Mind you, there were already several MRT breakdowns in the past with zero reaction from Singaporeans.

Secondly, any reaction was not targeted at the MRT breakdown per se but more at the cockiness, arrogance and high-handedness of the PAP and Saw. If you boast all the time and demand huge salaries and bonuses because you boasted that you're the best, and replaced Singaporeans with your own people, expect strong reaction when you screw up. Even God could not stand arrogance and pride.

( rodent2005 )

Why are only anti PAP prose considered worthy of your "good quotes" classification???

"Good quotes" should mean just that... ones that are well written regardless of the opinions expressed.

Why are only anti PAP prose considered worthy of your "good quotes" classification???

"Good quotes" should mean just that... ones that are well written regardless of the opinions expressed.

Hey! What about my contribution, post #22?
That's the best quote of 2011 by a thousand miles.

Thick Face Black Heart

Singapore services always had to be efficient, convenient and well designed and more importantly integrated to keep us one step ahead of the competition. The PAP has been right in this direction and it was something that the founding fathers did. Its not rocket science as we have no natural resources.

The issue is not that we are still better than the London Tube or the NY metro. The issue is are we better than what we were 10 years ago or 20 years. Did we have the same breakdown or more. The benchmark is not NY metro or London Tube.

Also take into consideration the London Tube and one has to realise that it pretty much antiquated, maintenace is a constant challenge. The transport unions are also militant

Only a narrow person who has not seen the world will continue to tell you that SMRT is better than the Tube. I can assure you that Jurong East issue would not have been tolerated by the UNions, the Tube, the passengers and the Govt (of UK -- TFBH). In SIngapore it went for years. I also cannot recall the TUBE thumping their noses at passengers.

(Scroobal)

Thick Face Black Heart

http://www.sammyboy.com/showthread.php?49421-Rise-of-a-new-Singapore-Intelligentsia-in-20-years-time.

This was a thread that was quietly forgotten soon after it was started. But I believe it to be most important. Imagine a new immigrant class settling down here, and then forming their own elitist group to secure their own interests at the expense of Singaporeans (because the agenda that they will pursue will not apply to Singapore as a whole).

Incredulous? Read the above thread and make your own judgment.

Thick Face Black Heart

I see that the whole SHT affair and the subsequent Indian MPs response is a reflection of how deepset the PAP's DNA has become. Difficult almost impossible to change. There's no real sincerity and honesty to respond in a humble way. They still try to resort to fudging, denials, confounding to save face. Hard for Ah Loong to orchestrate a transformation in PAP when they still think like his father.

(kingrant)

Thick Face Black Heart

Please contribute the quotes which you personally feel are worthy.

However, please exclude quotes from OverTheCounter as he is your paid agent.

Thick Face Black Heart

For me.
10 min no announcement no aircon/fan function. I will smash the window also. That why many train prepare glass breaker/hammer in case of emergency. If not why need to put such hammer in the train.
Why need to worry break the glass in case of the emergency. Even bus example overturn and block the door. Of course need to break the glass right to exit. Sinkie will lan lan sit and wait some one or fireman come to break the glass.
Just like airplane. If emergency landing with fire or on the water. Then need to open the emergency door.
There once air stewardess ask me to exchange seat to sit next to the emergency door because the passenger assign to that seat not understand or uncomfortable. I tell her Ok and don't worry.
Sinkie will die in emergency because all are waiting for order what to do.

(Cestbon, on what he will do in event of train breakdown)

Thick Face Black Heart

Losing gamblers are like MIWs. When they lose, they need to pin the blame on anyone or everyone except themselves. But if they win, can only be one reason - themselves.

(GoldenDragon)

ssrrvv11

((The answer is simple. I dare to fuck LTK all the way to LKY in the face. Do I need clones? I only pity those alleged to be my clones. It's not my duty to protect them.))

who said this type of dua kang lancheow wei is quite obvious lah. :cool:

e8vg8y.jpg

The Kingrant Doctrine

"See. I believe in overkill and a tar with a wide brush using a blunt tool and leaving no stones unturned and any quarters given.We are many puny Davids against a Goliath juggernaut and no punches shld be pulled, no hold s barred. Hit it with everything we've got. When the enemy is the PAP, it's a virtue to overstate, exaggerate, and use every kind of asinine bovine feline or canine mode of attack. in all these, the PAP is an experienced practitioner. We are just learners and beginners, and have a steep learning curve, but we're catching up. As you said, ya, PAP is our role model.

"(Kingrant)

The Depoliticisation of Singapore

"The capable leaders in society aren't going into politics because generations of Singaporeans have been depoliticized by the hollowing out of civil society, muzzling of the media, denial of civil liberties, and grassroots indoctrination via PA and other partisan bodies masquerading as community outfits.

in first world countries what attracts people into politics is the chance to participate, to feel that you can make a positive difference, something that is looked up to by your contemporaries, the "feel-good" limelight factor, etc. All this is absent in Singapore because of our barren political landscape created by having all the power concentrated in the hands of a few who make all the key decisions unilaterally. The "few" also have their tentacles and grip on every facet of society, every public institution, every avenue of expression."

(TFBH)

ssrrvv11

Gist of my view: The 30% reduction is within expectation but I am still puzzled why they could still get bonuses. (HK civil servants and political appointees do not get bonuses)

who else but the resident clown goh meng seng doing the 马后炮. he didn't post his 'within expectation' prediction before the actual announcement so now trying to save some face by doing the 马后炮.

gms, is tan kin lian's 5% presidential election votes also 'within your expert expectation':confused:

what about nsp 'epic fail' in GE2011, in particular your own performance in tampines? also 'within your expert expectation':confused:

Its not because of lack of money, its because good people don't want to join a party or a govt that is losing credibility and is in a state of perpetual denial.

so true... the public must watch this video once again!
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/u6XAPnuFjJc" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Forvendet

I assented and voted for WP all the way from nomination centre to counting centre fighting and arguing for WP votes. That's why he has to reserve a certain measure of respect for me. If you carry his balls, you'd be in no position to negotiate with him. I point this out not as a boast. I point this out so that all whom have brains and eyes can understand and see clearly, there's no need to fear the government when one stands on solid grounds of reasons.

In any case, there's no such thing as this free or that free. Then you want education for what? Then you want job for what? Study for what? Work for what?

My alleged clone has many quotable quotes but this I like best so far.

Thick Face Black Heart

My alleged clone has many quotable quotes but this I like best so far.

Your alter ego actually makes very good political points.

Its a pity his arrogance (which will stink for 10,000 years) turns him into a salivating megalomaniac and he will twist every point he's trying to make into a story about his own towering achievement in social interaction.

I've learnt to just read between the lines, pick up the essence, and ignore the rest totally, and more important not to feed the troll.

I was trying to lift an extract from this excellent post but I realised that the entire post was just too powerful to ignore.

"This is one of the many crucial times when they should have done what is right, and not what they think is politically right. Behind many of PAP's policies is the huge heavy hand of political motivation - to keep themselves in power. It is normal for the political party of the day to do that but they have to make sure that their citizens are well taken care of - which they have not done. In fact, the average Singaporean has been neglected for many, many years.

Almost everything in Singapore is geared towards elitism. Elitism disguised as meritocracy. It is time to repaint the economic landscape and put Singaporeans back into the forefront of policy making. Without citizens' trust and support, a government's tenure will not last. But does it have the courage to do say, the following?

1. Nationalize the transport system. Transport has strategic economic implications as lost man hours due to delays impinges directly on productivity. Do it on a cost recovery basis, cut diesel taxes (diesel engines are now very clean, re: EU emission standards), cap rental for taxis at $50 so that taxi drivers can make a decent living but cut all surcharges as well so commuters pay less. Cap fares for all students and senior citizens - 50 cents regardless of distance, 24/7. The PAP government will say nationalization scares away foreign investors. Hardly. Most major businesses in Singapore are owned by government linked companies anyway.

2. Free textbooks for all students and cap school fees. How much does it cost? Buy one less submarine, one less F15. Help families raise and educate their children. Our future.

3. Hawker centres and wet markets are cornerstones of Singapore's DNA. Stop the ridiculous escalation of stall rentals. Buy them all back and cap rentals at $1000 (?) a month so that hawkers don't struggle to make a living and ordinary Singaporeans and their children can enjoy decent food with decent portions at decent prices again. And teh tarik doesn't taste like diluted flood water. Where to get the money to do the buyback? GST, casino taxes?

We have very good civil servants who can work out the details. Welfarism? No dole in involved; money is indirectly put back into pockets so families can afford to raise children. Face it, we are not having enough babies because the PAP's policies have made it difficult and expensive to do so. And all the other issues we have with foreigners, etc, flow from here.

We live in the 21st Century and should be able to do things better, faster, and cheaper. Lowering the ministers' pay is just step one. We need step two - repainting the economic landscape and lower costs for citizens - to put things right again. Do we have the political and moral courage to do that? "

(Lee6100)

kingrant

Good quote, excellent points. The PAP has severed its humble socialist moorings long ago and is now a corporate capitalistic elitist party. One which knows the price of everything but the value of nothing.

I was trying to lift an extract from this excellent post but I realised that the entire post was just too powerful to ignore.

"This is one of the many crucial times when they should have done what is right, and not what they think is politically right. Behind many of PAP's policies is the huge heavy hand of political motivation - to keep themselves in power. It is normal for the political party of the day to do that but they have to make sure that their citizens are well taken care of - which they have not done. In fact, the average Singaporean has been neglected for many, many years.

Almost everything in Singapore is geared towards elitism. Elitism disguised as meritocracy. It is time to repaint the economic landscape and put Singaporeans back into the forefront of policy making. Without citizens' trust and support, a government's tenure will not last. But does it have the courage to do say, the following?

1. Nationalize the transport system. Transport has strategic economic implications as lost man hours due to delays impinges directly on productivity. Do it on a cost recovery basis, cut diesel taxes (diesel engines are now very clean, re: EU emission standards), cap rental for taxis at $50 so that taxi drivers can make a decent living but cut all surcharges as well so commuters pay less. Cap fares for all students and senior citizens - 50 cents regardless of distance, 24/7. The PAP government will say nationalization scares away foreign investors. Hardly. Most major businesses in Singapore are owned by government linked companies anyway.

2. Free textbooks for all students and cap school fees. How much does it cost? Buy one less submarine, one less F15. Help families raise and educate their children. Our future.

3. Hawker centres and wet markets are cornerstones of Singapore's DNA. Stop the ridiculous escalation of stall rentals. Buy them all back and cap rentals at $1000 (?) a month so that hawkers don't struggle to make a living and ordinary Singaporeans and their children can enjoy decent food with decent portions at decent prices again. And teh tarik doesn't taste like diluted flood water. Where to get the money to do the buyback? GST, casino taxes?

We have very good civil servants who can work out the details. Welfarism? No dole in involved; money is indirectly put back into pockets so families can afford to raise children. Face it, we are not having enough babies because the PAP's policies have made it difficult and expensive to do so. And all the other issues we have with foreigners, etc, flow from here.

We live in the 21st Century and should be able to do things better, faster, and cheaper. Lowering the ministers' pay is just step one. We need step two - repainting the economic landscape and lower costs for citizens - to put things right again. Do we have the political and moral courage to do that? "

(Lee6100)