• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore Property Bubble 2012: Here we go again

Force 136

As long as people can afford $80,000 for a COE, the property market will not go down.......

I talking sense? yes?

numero uno

can i ask you a question? If the property prices keep going up.. how are those newly weds going to buy it? Are they going to slog for the whole life just to pay for it? For those new entrepreneur who want to set up an office or business, are they going to pay high price for that as well? How are people going to pay for all these unnecessary high priced rent and mortgages. This is totally ridiculous.

Singapore property prices are not driven by market forces, it is artificially being pushed up by the govt's policies and pace of property expansion... There is not free market forces to speak of..

Why aren't singaporeans see the whole picture.

because the MSM is controlled by the garmen and they themselves like SPH, DBS are involved in the property devlpments, lending and marketing etc. how can an economy developed when almost 90% of it is based on speculation in property? no wonder singapore does not produce any note worthy entrepreners unlike US or even asutralia.
Its is a very dangerous cycle as it is going to burst soon. alot of people were burnt in the 1997 crises. the newspaper just did not report it. even a former MP went bankrupt and need Temasek to bail him out. you know who. Now with the european crises and the US still unable to manage their economy despite 3 round of stimulus, it is is only a matter of time in terms of days when things would crash down. even China economy is going down. don't believe all the hype in the papers that they are printing. It is a con job by all the developers as closed to 18, 000 units are due for completion in 2013 and they are sweating as interest rates is going to up and alot of people is going to get burnt. mark my words. at the end of the day, only 0.001% of the population benefit and the rest 9% are tied up with 30yr mortgage and car mrotgage etc and with diminishing pay because of useless FT imported to suppress pay, no wonder alot of people are killing themselves. soon you would see alot of blood and tears. the casino is an eyeopener and the garmen is having difficulty wwith all the social ill effects.

borom

We all know that this is NOT A FREE MARKET.
Both supply (land auction,planning approval, zoning ,HDB, Keppeland, ect2) and demand (FT's, job quotas for foreigners, property rules,interest rates, money supply) are controlled by the same group of people.

The sad and tragic part is that they are using/controlling your monies and resources (CPF,state or rather public reserves/land) to make life difficult for you.

If City Devt buy land to build houses and than hold it at high prices even if they cannot sell-its OK as the shareholders bear the cost/risk.

However if they use public funds/land/agency to control demand and supply and make prices unaffordable to the electorates, ,than its morally/politically wrong and should be voted out.
Why should we join hands with such people to make life miserable for our children and grandchildren.

Because of the above, housing here is NOT an economic/financial issue but more a political/social social issue because of manipulation and until people wake up to this fact, the majority of our future generation are in for a long and hard life in servitude to foreigners.

enterprise2

because the MSM is controlled by the garmen and they themselves like SPH, DBS are involved in the property devlpments, lending and marketing etc. how can an economy developed when almost 90% of it is based on speculation in property? no wonder singapore does not produce any note worthy entrepreners unlike US or even asutralia.
Its is a very dangerous cycle as it is going to burst soon. alot of people were burnt in the 1997 crises. the newspaper just did not report it. even a former MP went bankrupt and need Temasek to bail him out. you know who. Now with the european crises and the US still unable to manage their economy despite 3 round of stimulus, it is is only a matter of time in terms of days when things would crash down. even China economy is going down. don't believe all the hype in the papers that they are printing. It is a con job by all the developers as closed to 18, 000 units are due for completion in 2013 and they are sweating as interest rates is going to up and alot of people is going to get burnt. mark my words. at the end of the day, only 0.001% of the population benefit and the rest 9% are tied up with 30yr mortgage and car mrotgage etc and with diminishing pay because of useless FT imported to suppress pay, no wonder alot of people are killing themselves. soon you would see alot of blood and tears. the casino is an eyeopener and the garmen is having difficulty wwith all the social ill effects.
A lot of people bought in mid 90s and lost hundred of thousands. I know because I was one of them.

kulgai

Base on what data?

Paper currency is worthless when US keep printing and Euro may break up.

Gold and precious metals on the other hand are limited supply, for now.

Ur absolutely rite. Gold and precious metals will see higher levels still. The present correction is yet another buying opportunity

Like many things in Singapore, the demands in Singapore are artifically created.

HDB Property falling? Allow more PRs to be approved, demand goes up and so does the prices. Or just stop building HDB flats. They had done both and we are paying for the lousy decision they made.

Want HDB prices to go down? just do the opposite of the above.

with the population going to hit 6.5m, I doubt the COE will fall since the number will remain the same with more people bidding for it.

gz0707

A lot of people bought in mid 90s and lost hundred of thousands. I know because I was one of them.

This is still happening now. The current mindset amongst middle aged professionals aged 30 to 40s is still "buy now while you can, property prices will continue to rise in the long run". So I see those in the prime of their careers buying anything from 800k EC to over 1 million condo apartments. not sure how they will make it through when the property prices crash and they lose the jobs needed to sustain monthly payments.

However if they use public funds/land/agency to control demand and supply and make prices unaffordable to the electorates, ,than its morally/politically wrong and should be voted out.

Aiya... 6014 agrees with them because the gobblemen give them coolie rice to eat. Asiatic values, don't bite the hand that feeds you, even if they give you only bones to chew on.

Why should we join hands with such people to make life miserable for our children and grandchildren.

If you want to cash out, like the FTs who are cutting the queue or the sinkies who want a better life for your kids in First World countries instead of this cesspool of sin and greed.

Many of these buyers are now up to the brime with their loans. Most max out what they can borrow from the banks.

I just waiting for the day wghen bank increase housing loan interest rates, sure many fire sales then.

This is still happening now. The current mindset amongst middle aged professionals aged 30 to 40s is still "buy now while you can, property prices will continue to rise in the long run". So I see those in the prime of their careers buying anything from 800k EC to over 1 million condo apartments. not sure how they will make it through when the property prices crash and they lose the jobs needed to sustain monthly payments.

gz0707

Many of these buyers are now up to the brime with their loans. Most max out what they can borrow from the banks.

I just waiting for the day wghen bank increase housing loan interest rates, sure many fire sales then.

Yes, I have seen this before. current HDB sold to pay for outstanding credit cards bills. 20% bridge loan for downpayment and remaining 80% of the purchase funded by max out loan. shocking.

if I'm not wrong, when asset value falls below the loan amount, the bank will call in the difference. so borrowers may need to cough up 100k or more when property prices crash. that means they may have no job, no house (if it is re-possessed) and no cash (wiped out from spending during good times).

During the good times I noticed that the interest rate in Spore was lower than other countries. It soon became obvious to me that it was being manipulated by the PAP. The lower rates benefit the gov't as they don't have to pay so much to borrow from the CPF.

They can also continue to peddle expensive HDB units to the "lesser mortals". Many "lesser mortals" can manage the low interest rates but if it goes up, expect many to default on their bank loans.

So as long as the PAP is in power it is in their interest to keep interest rates low.

Capano2121

Time for a re-enactment of 1998 Jakarta lah! Kill the PRC, rape them & slash them! Mats will have a good time!

Kinana

During the good times I noticed that the interest rate in Spore was lower than other countries. It soon became obvious to me that it was being manipulated by the PAP. The lower rates benefit the gov't as they don't have to pay so much to borrow from the CPF.

They can also continue to peddle expensive HDB units to the "lesser mortals". Many "lesser mortals" can manage the low interest rates but if it goes up, expect many to default on their bank loans.

So as long as the PAP is in power it is in their interest to keep interest rates low.

Our interest rates are deteremined by US interest rates. PAP can't manipulate US rates you fool.

anyway I am looking forward to a crash next year and fire sales.

Our interest rates are deteremined by US interest rates. PAP can't manipulate US rates you fool.

Obviously the Spore gov't can't manipulate the US interest rate.
However that doesn't mean they can't determine the rate in Spore:rolleyes:

This rate is regulated by MAS. If you don't believe me, just ask any bank in Spore.

Kinana

Obviously the Spore gov't can't manipulate the US interest rate.
However that doesn't mean they can't determine the rate in Spore:rolleyes:

This rate is regulated by MAS. If you don't believe me, just ask any bank in Spore.

You are wrong. If our rates are different from US rates, it will cause problems for us cos our economy is so open

shOUTloud

There are so many pple like you waiting for the proverbial crash and fire sale that it would probably not come.