• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Fatty Aussie tourist hurt badly in zipline malfunction at Sentosa (Brokeback Island?)

Australian tourist breaks back on Sentosa zipline ride

20110918.105059_sept1911_fox.jpg

AsiaOne
Sunday, Sep 18, 2011

An Australian man broke several vertebrae in his back after a malfunction at Sentosa's MegaZip flying fox adventure ride last Sunday.
Michael Joseph McCarthy, 38, took his turn down the ride at about 1.45pm, after his son, 14, and daughter, 17, made it down the ride safely.

However, he noticed that something was amiss when he was approaching the platform at a much greater speed than his wife, who also took her turn at the same time.

The Sunday Times reported that due to an unknown malfunction, Mr McCarthy, who weighs 100kg, did not slow down despite reaching the end of the flying fox zipline. He was travelling at 50kmh.

He then fell, and broke several vertebrae in his back due to the force of the impact.

The tattooist from Adelaide told The Sunday Times: 'I started going faster and my wife (who was on the next zipline) was wondering why she was not. She was holding up her hands asking, where are you going?'

Mr McCarthy said that after he fell, he waited 30 minutes before help came as there was no on-site medic to assist him. He was finally taken to the Singapore General Hospital at 3pm last Sunday.

He is now in stable condition after being in the intensive care unit (ICU) for five days. He can now move his legs, while his back has 35 stitches. However, he is left wondering how the accident could have happened.

He is well within the limits of the safety parameters of the ride, where the minimum height is 0.7m and the maximum weight is 140kg.
The ride has been suspended since the incident, which is the first accident at the MegaZip park, which opened two years ago.

The case has been reported to the Building and Construction Authority (BCA), the regulating body for amusement rides. Investigations are now ongoing.

Mr Alexander Blyth, managing director of Flying Dragon Adventures, which runs the ride, told the paper: 'Nothing failed and nothing snapped. Please do not speculate. It is up to the BCA to comment.'

Re: Fatty Aussie tourist hurt badly in zipline malfunction at Sentosa (Brokeback Isla

Mr McCarthy said that after he fell, he waited 30 minutes before help came as there was no on-site medic to assist him. He was finally taken to the Singapore General Hospital at 3pm last Sunday.

=> 3rd world cost cutting thingy again. But he should be thankful he is not a al cheapo pink ICer for he can expect the kangaroo court to be especially generous in its compensation package.

LeMans2011

Re: Fatty Aussie tourist hurt badly in zipline malfunction at Sentosa (Brokeback Isla

This guy is "unstoppable"... sounds like the equipment cannot cope with his weight to me... or Mr Brokeback is just too clumsy :biggrin:

=> 3rd world cost cutting thingy again. But he should be thankful he is not a al cheapo pink ICer for he can expect the kangaroo court to be especially generous in its compensation package.

yeah this is damn shocking. no excuse for the 30 minutes waiting time.

It's just bad planning for such an important area.

Cruxx

World lumber 1 safety standards :biggrin:

butoh6050

Fatty bom bom Aussie will be looking at a fatty lawsuit.

At least he gets to walk away, ehh carried away:rolleyes:

With the serious accidents that's occured in sunny Sentosa, I wouldn't be surprised if people started avoiding that place.
I wonder if the ghosts that are rumoured to be inhabiting that place is at work:eek:

Loofydralb

This is a very serious situation. RWS does not have a reputation of safety if this story is true.

First it was the roller coaster ride whose seat fell off during the morning test run. The ride wass closed for months. Its just plain luck that someone who was in the queue that morning did not die.

Now its this flying fox contraption failure that almost killed a man, maybe paralysed him. Either these rides are not designed up to standards or those operating and maintaining them just does not understand. Typical Sinkie standards similar to Shop n Save coldroom emergency button not working.

Safety is $$$ and that is where Singapore whose population is continually drummed with, looks at safety as something of a luxury. $$ first. MOM is well known to have wonderful safety laws but woeful enforcement. First world infrastructure, third world citizens.

Hey guess what guys. Rides still continue.

After Fatty Ang Moh is discharged from hospital, rest assured that he will be receiving a windfall from Sentosa's management for his pain...

This prick will never make such a comment if he was in a developed country. Something obviously went wrong.
Australian tourist breaks back on Sentosa zipline rideMr Alexander Blyth, managing director of Flying Dragon Adventures, which runs the ride, told the paper: 'Nothing failed and nothing snapped. Please do not speculate. It is up to the BCA to comment.'

songsongjurong

if its PRC..哭爸哭妈。。。nnot SGD1,000,000/- no go back !!!!! whole famili will wailed for compensation !:*:

Cruxx

if its PRC..哭爸哭妈。。。nnot SGD1,000,000/- no go back !!!!! whole famili will wailed for compensation !:*:

If it's PRC, the victim would have become paralysed, only to recover after receiving a dose of SGD1,000,000.

lianbeng

lianbeng not surprised that this chow angmoh gonna sue sentosa until every cent is drained dry.:biggrin:

I guess lardbottom Aussie tourist did not read the posted sign when he came to the park, regarding emergency procedures. It reads:

PLEASE READ IF YOU NEED EMERGENCY MEDICAL ATTENTION:

IF YOU ARE RELATED TO A MINISTER OR AN ELITE MIW, YOUR WAIT TIME IS 5MIN PLUS A HELICOPTER RIDE TO THE HOSPITAL.
IF YOU ARE A WHITE CAUCASIAN TOURIST OR FT, YOUR WAIT TIME IS 30 MIN PLUS AMBULANCE RIDE.
IF YOU ARE A NON CAUCASIAN TOURIST OR FT, YOUR WAIT TIME IS 1 HR PLUS AMBULANCE RIDE.
IF YOU ARE NATIVE BORN SINGAPOREAN, YOUR WAIT TIME IS TAN KUKU, YOU BETTER WAKE UP YOUR IDEAS AND BRING YOUR OWNSELF TO THE HOSPITAL, SIMI LAN AMBULANCE YOU TALKING ABOUT.