• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Where is the opposition during the minibomb fiasco ?

Avantas

Did you see any opposition politicians who took part in the last GE offering a helping hand to the affected minibomb investors ?

Singapore opposition politicians other than Mr Goh Meng Seng were largely missing during the minibond fiasco. In Malaysia, such a issue will be a gift from the heavens to be pounced on by every opposition party which will pour out money, resources and manpower to assist the victims.

Politics is all about perception and visibility. The more you are seen “serving” the people, the more votes you will get in future elections.

XXX

How do you expect Singaporeans to vote for the opposition when they are so media shy and are seen only to make a cameo appearance during elections? During the last election, the Workers’ Party was protrayed by the mainstream media in a rather positive light bar the unfortunate Gomezgate - Glenda Han, Lee Wai Leng, Perry Tong and Brandon Siow were all given personal interviews. Where are they now ?

XXX

Singapore’s opposition politicians must learn to be more media-savvy in order to raise their public profile and visibility. Otherwise, they will forever be living up to the PAP’s label of them being “opportunistic politicians who make an appearance only once every five years.”

Read full article here:

http://wayangparty.com/2008/11/04/where-are-the-opposition-politicians-during-the-minibond-fiasco/

eeoror88

Where have all the flowers gone ...
Long time passing ....
Where have all the flowers gone ....
Long time ago .....

Sianzzzzz

eQuipment

i think its pointless for opposition to step in during the minibonds crap happened. they're not the ones responsible for the blunder. even if they question the relevant authorities on the measures set in place, is also meaningless.

the damage is already done, and ppl r pointing finger for the blame. investors say kena conned by the banks to invest in the bonds, bcos they thought its FD. then banks says investors blind never read T&C. then protestors gather to sing song, saying that znghu didnt do anything to ensure safety net. then znghu say, investor die is their problem - gain $, never complain, lost $ cry father cry mother.

if oppostion step in, is also not much difference, bcos only 2-3 seats in the parliament cant cook up any storm. if really want opposition to rottan the znghu for any possible lapses or loopholes, then citizens need to ensure more opposition get seats in parliament. make them the watchdog in parliament, to caution/ensure the znghu do things properly, before the problem even arise.

prevention is always better than cure.

STUCK_HERE

Stop being a crybaby. You talk as if we got 50% opposition. We have only 2 men and they are growing old. They got to their position not because of you. Why should they help you?

Next election lah, you will have no opposition.

silverspoon

Stop being a crybaby. You talk as if we got 50% opposition. We have only 2 men and they are growing old. They got to their position not because of you. Why should they help you?

Next election lah, you will have no opposition.

yep...opposition is for show only....

cannot totally dun have right? else how to show the world we are democratic society with the best government drawing the world highest salary but doing totally nothing

Where have all the flowers gone ...
Long time passing ....
Where have all the flowers gone ....
Long time ago .....

Sianzzzzz

ze answer, my fren, is blowin in ze win ...
ze answer is blowin in ze win ...

madmansg

opposition like low tk and s lim probably hiding as they too shy to admit they also greedy pigs and lost a fortune in minibonds.