• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Guess Who Gets Top Floor @ Pinnacle Duxton?

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Sg_Review/message/1209

To: Singapore Review
18 June 2004
www.thevoiddeck.org

Guess Who Gets Top Floor @ Pinnacle Duxton?

As someone who is going to get married and buy a HDB flat (since I
cannot anything else) I was recently informed of this "fact" of
Singapore's public housing. In my 29 years of existence, this
little "fact" is a big shocker to me in today's Singapore; well, I
was informed by my oldie birdie friends in my neighborhood kopitiam
that all the Choice flats and Choice units in a HDB housing estate is
prioritized first and foremost for this group of people known as
Grassroots Leaders -- aka or also commonly known as the people who do
the dirty work for PAP MPs in each constituency -- remember how the
Nee Soon grassroot buggas cocked up in the last GE over the lor zhu
incident and almost cost the Minsta of State his seat until SM had to
go to a temple and negotiate like a true blue gangsta? Yep, those
people indeed. Anyway, back to my story: I gaped and said "WTF???"

My guess is that there has to be some truth to this little fact since
it was confirmed by at least another 3 or 4 people. When asked
whether this kind of policy is logical, they shrugged their shoulders
in the very Singaporean style and said "like that lor?". To pre-empt
any Minsta from justifying by saying that these people contribute
tons to the constituency and break their Sundays arranging the
walkabouts for PAP MPs, my answer is "SO WHAT?" To be a grassroots
leader, you are VOLUNTEERING right? So why should this act of
volunteering be sweetened by these little "perks"? It's like donating
for NKF so that you can win the first prize condominium. Where is
equality and a free market for PUBLIC housing? If these people are so
important why doesn't HDB build one block right in the middle of Toa
Payoh Central and house them there? While you're at it, paint the
block white with a red lightning logo across the building. These can
be the first 10-room HDB flats to reward these minions of the party.

If such a policy does indeed exist, it has to be removed. Simple as
that. For all the lucky ones getting Pinnacle @ Duxton, maybe you
should go find out who your top-floor neighbours are.

Bo Zheng Hu
www.thevoiddeck.org

hunter

I guess nothing is free. Singapore may well be the most corrupt country in the world.

why do you want to pay so much for a top floor of duxton pinnacle. From what i hear, those who buy in their early 20s (during the time when it first launch) are now sweating...for so bloody long, the flat is still not completed. And not only the units are smaller, they are more bloody expensive. And by the time its completed, they will have to start paying and for those taking 30 yr loan, good luck to them that their CPF don't run out or exceed the limit for taking loan.

And if you really want to stay top floor, go buy a penthouse unit in a condo lah...

everyday i look out of my window and see that mammoth pinnacle still being built. nah beh, take so bloody long to build a block of pigeon holes yet all they need is 2 years to build the IR....