• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

secret societies operated in Singapore in the 1950s and the 1960s

Baimi

Wahh, years ago used to stay around Beauty World. Didn't know the area had a reputation.

Beauty World long gone, heard there was some sort of fire. Maybe a victim of PAPs urban planning :confused:

369, 333 are also secret societies

Lumpar

The real gangsters used to help their bosses solve problems , whether it be debtors or rival gangs, Nowadays the kids running around ask their bosses to help them solve problems. lol

must be the crutch mentality! :eek::eek::eek:

yinyang

What about the jln besar crowd? Met a retired gangster (in my youth) who waxed lyrical on his heydays, how connected he was etc. Seen better days then, had to ask me for $30 to buy durians for his family. But remembered he taught me a few tricks on gin rummy (even managed to give me a passport when I was strung up in mid game). Met his crony loan shark for coffee (looked liked any shenton way bloke) at his base station in old Hock Lam street lane. Got to give it to the guys, they got good cameradie. Standing offer to help out in any tight spots. Thankfully, never got a chance to make any SOS call. :biggrin:

Ah Hai

"YOU don't disturb my territory, and I don't disturb your territory."

That was how secret societies operated in Singapore in the 1950s and the 1960s. Gangland activities were rampant then.
Mr Harmon Singh recalls "those bad old days":
"When I first joined (the police force) in the beginning of 1959, I found out that secret societies were rampant. Organised crime, secret societies and gangland clashes were almost a daily affair, and there were gangs all over Singapore. Certain areas were worst than others. I got deeply involved in solving crimes and curbing secret society activities."
"In the course of dealing with the underworld, I learned that there were a few major secret society groups in Singapore. The main ones were groups like the 108, 24, 32 and 36, and the triad societies. Each of these major groups had splinter branches under them, for example, the 108 group had gangs like the Pek Kim Leng."
Gangs were divided according to different areas in Singapore. The various gangs and their splinter groups were engaged in protection rackets, vice activities, prostitution and extortion in their respective "territories".
A gang would control many of the businesses operating in its area - like four-digit lotteries, opium dens, brothels and gambling dens. As some areas were controlled by different gangs, violent clashes often broke out between the groups.
A table of hot-spots for secret society activities: Who control where
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-Ang Peh Hor (??)
Jalan Membina, Tiong Bahru
--------------------------------
-Ang Soon Tong
10-milestone Nee Soon area to end of Sembawang
-Hai Lock San
Tiong Bahru, Seng Poh Road
-Leng Hor San
Covent Garden, Havelock Road
-Pek Kim Leng
Bugis, Chinatown
-Sar Ji(jemaah islamiyah?)
Boat Quay, Mohd Sultan, Kim Yam, River Valley Road
-See Tong(See (LOWELL) Tong? xD)
North Bridge Road, Beach Road, former Odeon Theatre area, Seah Street
-Sio Oh Leng
Ganges Avenue, River Valley Road

THERE were hundreds of opium dens all over Singapore way back in the 1960s.

And it was easy to detect a den, said Mr Harmon Singh. Just follow your nose.

"All you need to do is to stand at a particular spot, and just breathe -- you can smell opium, and quite easily know that there's a den in the vicinity. But today it's hard to detect in that manner.

"There were hundreds of opium dens all over the island, especially in places like See Kar Teng (Tiong Bahru area), Poh Lee Long (Henderson Road area), Ho Chwee Shua (Bukit Ho Swee), Sembawang, Johor Road, Queen Street and Geylang. "

kaipoh

Incredible, end 2008 Singapore still controlled by gangster what the poodle doing ha!
what wong kan sing doing?

Lian9

wonder how are the SSB doing nw....in view that there are no mre hardcore gangsters in Singapore

Ah Hai

Those day want are really hardcore and very loyal, rather then those now.

PEOPLE became gangsters for several reasons.
Some looked upon gangs as a means of making a living, while others were influenced by friends. Some enjoyed the feeling of power of being associated with gangs.
But every new member had to go through the same initiation ceremony.
A finger of the new member would be pricked and the blood collected in a bowl. All the new members would then be required to drink from this bowl. The members also need to swear their allegiance before the Chinese Warrior God.

Good discussion here. Very informative although it's a bit outdated.

These kinds of threads always surfaced every few months in the old forum and there would always be saying biggest gang in sinkeeland is pinky the chief and his hatchet man's gang, this thread is no exception of course.

Imagine asking in a US forum which gang is biggest over there and they BUSH gang with his US army, fbi and police????:rolleyes:

These kinds of threads always surfaced every few months in the old forum and there would always be saying biggest gang in sinkeeland is pinky the chief and his hatchet man's gang, this thread is no exception of course.

Imagine asking in a US forum which gang is biggest over there and they BUSH gang with his US army, fbi and police????:rolleyes:

So many people say LKY is A gangster, so must be true lah :p

American army, FBI, police not in Bush's pocket, unlike in Spore where WKS & other relatives & cronies run the show for LKY. Americans also have right to bear arms. In Spore they can arrest & jail you without trial. Heck they can charge you for wearing the wrong T-shirt :eek:

Ah Hai

THERE were hundreds of opium dens all over Singapore way back in the 1960s.

And it was easy to detect a den, said Mr Harmon Singh. Just follow your nose.

"All you need to do is to stand at a particular spot, and just breathe -- you can smell opium, and quite easily know that there's a den in the vicinity. But today it's hard to detect in that manner.

"There were hundreds of opium dens all over the island, especially in places like See Kar Teng (Tiong Bahru area), Poh Lee Long (Henderson Road area), Ho Chwee Shua (Bukit Ho Swee), Sembawang, Johor Road, Queen Street and Geylang. "

According to Mr Singh, the opium smokers were mainly elderly Chinese people in those days.

"Some of the gangsters those days used to smoke opium before they went out to commit crime, especially housebreaking. It gave them the needed courage."

Mr Singh recalled how easy it was to carry out raids on opium dens.

"There were hundreds around -- you could see 30 to 50 dens in Tiong Bahru or Sungei Road area easily. Maybe even 50 or 100 in Chinatown alone."

Due to police efforts in wiping out drugs, the opium dens began to disappear in the 1970s.

As most of the dens were located in attap huts, urban renewal also helped to decrease the number of possible venues that could be used as opium dens.

"With newer drugs coming into the market, opium just went out of fashion."

According to Mr Singh, the opium smokers were mainly elderly Chinese people in those days.

"Some of the gangsters those days used to smoke opium before they went out to commit crime, especially housebreaking. It gave them the needed courage."
At that time, there were licenced dens and illegal dens similar to samsu stalls. Opium does not give courage, it actually subdues you and you will end up making peace with everyone including your mother-in-law.

Because dens were patronised primarily by the elderly and sick/dying of lower classes, it was not an attractive place and its demise was expected. It did not require anything but cursury attention.

SS would throw out members who were addicted.

So hakka triad chief and hakka PAP chief had an agreement? I scratch your back, you scratch mine and both prosper till today? This is news to me. Wow!

Ask any chinese educated ah peks, they will tell u many stories about LaoLee walk hand in hand with gangsters during the 50s. He gain power by making use of these SS members. Last time, he only speak malayu and england, how can he gain the trust of the chinese voters? By making deals with SS headman, who are respected within the area of their operation, LaoLee get manpower from the SS and also endorsement from the headman.

Heard that those who helped him was spared after he gained power. Many of them went to Holland with their money intact and form new gangs over there.(Even then, local talents had been leaving singapore:biggrin:) Those that refused to leave were sent to changi resort without trial. They wear uniform that was marked to indentified them from common inmates.

In the past, SS headmen are pillars of the society, respected by all. When i was a kid, there was such a person living in the community. I believed he make $$ by racketing and take 4D bet and giving loan. His men never touch the locals, and always organised those 7th month auction dinner.

sage

By late 60s and early 70s opium became a desperate substitute for the dragon chasers who could not afford the stuff. Anyone knows how many pushers have been hung in Singapore since implementation of mandatory death sentence?

Ah Guan

Because dens were patronised primarily by the elderly and sick/dying of lower classes, it was not an attractive place and its demise was expected. It did not require anything but cursury attention.

I was very surprised to learn from my campmate in the mid-90s that his grandfather was an opium smoker. He got his daily fixes from a flat in the Redhill/BHS area.

Apparently the CNB knows of this den but leaves it alone since most of the clients are very old men who could just kick the bucket anyday. If the den was raided alot of old addicts would just die painfully.

Baimi

369 have, never hear 333 before, maybe i olds liao. lol

maybe you are too young to know, :smile:
it must be a small unknown gang lor
like near the estate i stayed,
one gang, the "18 hai lam kia"
anyone heard before?