• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SDP - Promise 10 - The Journey Begins

For those who are not aware what SDP has pledged, here it is below. One got to think why the other opposition parties and even the PAP could not even come out with these things.

Let take promise 2 - isn't that brilliant. I was just blown away when I read this. Personally I have over the years placed my own investments in unsafe investments. A wake-up call to me on a personal level.

There are so many other gems as well including reducing the class size that many of us never ever thought about. In fact after this was raised by SDP, why not reduce class size to just one. Imagine if each student has one dedicated teacher what the results will be. If 40 down to 20 and this does not mean higher cost despite no GST (promise 5), why not class of one.

I eagerly wait their release of their tactical and strategy solution on how they are going to increase their vote while most of the key players have chosen to disqualify themselves and other point is how they are going to perform better than the other opposition candidates let alone the PAP.

"1. To contribute 50% of our MP's allowance to improve our party’s service to you and to seed an endowment fund for the needy.

2. Not to authorise any unsafe investments that place your funds at risk, unlike the PAP which lost $8 million of Town Council’s surpluses in toxic investments.

3. To run our Town Councils with you by getting residents involved in precinct management committees. Together, we will maintain our estate in a way that is better than the PAP’s town councils.

4. To conduct, in addition to our weekly Meet-the-People's sessions, quarterly town hall meetings to obtain your views on policies that affect you and take them to parliament.

5. Abolish the GST for essential items and foodstuffs, and reduce other items to 3%.

6. Introduce the Singaporeans First Policy to ensure that Singaporeans are given priority for jobs and stop the PAP from overcrowding our city.

7. Abolish the CPF Minimum Sum Scheme and return the hard-earned savings to the people.

8. Reduce cost of medications, consultation fees, polyclinics and hospitals.

9. Introduce minimum wage laws.

10. Reduce the class size from 40 to 20"

lockeliberal

Dear Scroobal

To be fair at least, point one and point two of their promises make sense. To the extend that they have promised "work for the following " it should have been stated articulate strong or voice out in parliament the following issues and that should not have been buried in the fine print.

The publication speaks well of PR savy and professionalism. Probably out shines even the WP in layout and professionalism_)). For that matter the SDP has a KISS concept whereas the WP buries you under a detailed 16 chapter summary without bothering to shorten it.

Locke

The publication speaks well of PR savy and professionalism. Probably out shines even the WP :_)). For that matter the SDP has a KISS concept whereas the WP buries you under a detailed 16 chapter summary without bothering to shorten it.

Locke

The problem the SDP has it comes across as a party for the WOGs. Heartlanders simply can't identify with a party made up of leadership which speaks English the way it should be spoken.

The WOGs do admire Chee for what he has done and the sacrifices he has made. However, when it comes to voting, they'll still vote for the Pappies simply because they feel the PAP can do more for their bank accounts in the long term.

Forvendet

WP is getting out of whack now. Published 16 chapters of something like how to have first world parliament and government, then say they're not ready for government. I can understand the numbers is insufficient and appreciate their honesty with that. But if can't form government, write 16 chapters of government policies for what? Bedtime fairytale reading? Manifesto at this time should be no more than 2 pages.

Yellow_People said I'm biased against SDP publishing silly stack of policies when they can't field enough candidates anywhere near close to taking over governmentTo be fair, WP is the same in this area.

To be frank, not matter how dumb you are and you throw 10 things a few should hit the spot. I am sure that is not how things are done for such a serious issue.

Noboy can beat the SDP when it comes to language, PR and organising events. A well regarded obeserver once commented that even PAP struggle until someone pointed out that PAP can outdo anyone in view of their vast resources. The idea is to create an impression to the electorate. Look at the WP where they look like they are making ends meets. Same with the PAP when it comes to campaigning. You were in the Govt and you would have seen some of slickest event organisation with Ministries trying to compete with each other which the general public never sees.

When Ms Promiscuity struts around and they do a video of their event, people are wondering how SDP manages with limited funds. It paints the wrong picture and stupid woman does not know that people behind have a different agenda.
Dear Scroobal

To be fair at least, point one and point two of their promises make sense. To the extend that they have promised "work for the following " it should have been stated articulate strong or voice out in parliament the following issues and that should not have been buried in the fine print.

The publication speaks well of PR savy and professionalism. Probably out shines even the WP in layout and professionalism_)). For that matter the SDP has a KISS concept whereas the WP buries you under a detailed 16 chapter summary without bothering to shorten it.

Locke

The SDP disconnect with the voters and more importantly the heartlanders have been massive from the word go. I find it hard that this issue/problem is something that they are not aware of. This has been raised on so many occasions. VW is breath of fresh air and hopefully they can ride on his coat-tails.

The problem the SDP has it comes across as a party for the WOGs. Heartlanders simply can't identify with a party made up of leadership which speaks English the way it should be spoken.

The WOGs do admire Chee for what he has done and the sacrifices he has made. However, when it comes to voting, they'll still vote for the Pappies simply because they feel the PAP can do more for their bank accounts in the long term.

WP did very well during the last GE when they released their manifesto. This time around I too wonder why the expansive document. One thing WP has to address is the thought that hardwork relates to votes rather than quality of work and appropriate straplines.

What the WP has to understand that maintaining the status quo is no acceptable. I think that LTK understands but you wonder is the CEC is smart enough to understand. WP challenge is attact thinking individuals in their CEC not disciplined individuals. If the Hougang is retained with LTK in it, the party will lose credibility real quick. The voters have been burnt with Chiam and his lack of succession planning and I don't think they are going to tolerate it .

WP is getting out of whack now. Published 16 chapters of something like how to have first world parliament and government, then say they're not ready for government. I can understand the numbers is insufficient and appreciate their honesty with that. But if can't form government, write 16 chapters of government policies for what? Bedtime fairytale reading? Manifesto at this time should be no more than 2 pages.

Yellow_People said I'm biased against SDP publishing silly stack of policies when they can't field enough candidates anywhere near close to taking over governmentTo be fair, WP is the same in this area.

ivebert

. If the Hougang is retained with LTK in it, the party will lose credibility real quick. The voters have been burnt with Chiam and his lack of succession planning and I don't think they are going to tolerate it .

This is an acid test for LTK

If he chooses to stay in Hougang, it says a lot about his character, vision and guts.

Good luck for WP

At least they are a responsible party.
I hope they kick out some fools like Gerald Giam for example. He looks like a sick skinny shithead.

yellow_people

This is where CSJ and SDP have miscalculated. Simply put Ah Beng (NS) wants a govt that takes care of everything for him while doing Ah Beng's bidding. CSJ should have simply stayed on with his job as a lecturer at NUS instead of sacrificing fighting for ingrate Ah Bengs. HIs landed property would have been worth millions today instead of ending up in the hands of the PAP appointed OA. Ah Beng (NS) deserve the PAP and more.

-

yellow_people

WP did very well during the last GE when they released their manifesto. This time around I too wonder why the expansive document. One thing WP has to address is the thought that hardwork relates to votes rather than quality of work and appropriate straplines.

What the WP has to understand that maintaining the status quo is no acceptable. I think that LTK understands but you wonder is the CEC is smart enough to understand. WP challenge is attact thinking individuals in their CEC not disciplined individuals. If the Hougang is retained with LTK in it, the party will lose credibility real quick. The voters have been burnt with Chiam and his lack of succession planning and I don't think they are going to tolerate it .

Its called obfuscation of the truth. Something you were taught in your years in the civil service. :biggrin: WP has no principles to stand on..hence the voluminous manifesto. As the saying goes, the truth is often simple. A one page summary will do. SDP released a simple 10 principle answer... it would be easy for any uneducated Ah Beng to call SDP on his bluff should they fail to deliver.

WP must really have a low opinion, and I for once agree with WP, on the IQ of our Ah Beng stock. :biggrin:

-

seebaysong

I like point 10 although it should be topped up with improving quality of teaching... Passion is difficult to "train"... A friend of mine recently "retired" from MOE having been a teacher in secondary level for 30 yrs... his comment was that he is very very much relieved of the stresses now that he is out of the system... the teachers nowadays got stressed meh ?! They push all the stress to the parents... they function like domestic helpers in schools, just care-taking and not really passionately instructing and helping... I know of 1 particular principal who is so laid-back that she says that noise in class is constructive ! KNN the fat b**** !

For point 4, they should incl. MP meet the pple and not MP's helpers meet the pple... this is happening with present PAP led precints... sometimes it's even MP's helper's helper or MP's helper's helper's helper... kekekeke

Point 1 seems quite symbolic but it's a good start in leading by example not to be too absorbed by remuneration but rather, put service to the public first.

The rest no issues !
Good on them !

davetan3

I have a problem with (7) and (10).
(7) could cause many more problems with insufficient funds for old age. Look at the rest of the world. And read the latest article on ageing by the economist.
(10) already not enough teachers to go around - where to get?

yellow_people

This is an acid test for LTK

If he chooses to stay in Hougang, it says a lot about his character, vision and guts.

Good luck for WP

At least they are a responsible party.
I hope they kick out some fools like Gerald Giam for example. He looks like a sick skinny shithead.

I'll take a wager with you, that snake LTK stays in Hougang. :biggrin:

-

yellow_people

Its about principles in the end. CSJ should have ignored his calling and stuck to his teaching position. He would be a faculty dean today without worries about finance. WP has delivered a coffee table of a manifesto with no head or tail. I am not surprised as this is needed to stifle uneducated and aged Ah Beng into thinking that they have some substance when the reality is they have none.

Notice Scroobal and his minnions (the few that is left after been sliced into sushi) keep bringing SDP into the picture everytime I question WP motives... even for a dumb Eurasian that I think you are, I am pretty sure you can summon some brain juice to wonder why.

-

yellow_people

I have a problem with (7) and (10).
(7) could cause many more problems with insufficient funds for old age. Look at the rest of the world. And read the latest article on ageing by the economist.
(10) already not enough teachers to go around - where to get?

Why is this such a bad deal? With the number of late 30s and 40s Ah Beng PMETs being displaced by Pinoy and Ah Neh FTs... i would presume at the least the CPF savings Ah Beng has accumulated would help him tide over until he comes up with an alternative.

Teachers are easy lar. You can always import them from Pinoyland and Nehia.

-

That is not quite right. Chee fault is that he is not effective and his sacrifices are due to his well known lack of tactical and strategic acumen. When you take on the oppressive PAP, you got to be more honest than them or certainly not as silly as he was. For $226 and a couple of dodgy taxi fares he screwed himself up. He is not the only one but his is the prominent one as he stepped on the public stage.

He became a bankrupt because he forgot to check the fact with regard to the loan that never left our shores. Obviously the PAP will make a mountain out of molehill and their compliant courts will always do their bidding.

Imagine if he was given powers and a role in Govt. We are all aware of people who take home the office toilets rolls, print paper, add to their expense claims etc but these guys don't stand for public office or smart enough not to get caught. We certainly can't have people like this in govt. We are already got idiots like WKS and people in PAP who are out to milk the most from this country and its people.

If you think the Chee made sacrifices, then you are delusional as these have been pure miscalculation or lack of political acumen. There was no impact on anything. Look at the people that SDP draws. They are losers except for one rising star and asset - VW. Look at Gomez, truly a liability to every organisation that he has been. His father was charged in court for using union funds for his own use. He is not the only one. Why can't SDP bring in quality people.

Many of us were fans of Chee until time told a different story. Look at Gandhi - keeps claiming that he is a govt scholar. He was like many technical people who were sponsored to undertake studies in a UK Polytechnic. It was not germany where diplomas are treated as higher than degrees in some cases. Gandhi worked for the prostitute press until he was made redundant. He did not resign. This is the same prostitute press that this country has have had and the spots and stripes are still there. I can go down the list to highlight that SDP are a bunch of losers and their colourfull background but it will be the same story.

I am all for passion but you need mettle, capacity and some basic capability to take part in politics. Look at Monica, Francis and John. I am not sure if I could get them to organise a trip for a group of people to move from point A to point B. The people in SDP have not achieved anything in their private lifes so what are they going do for Singaporeans. We already have idiots in PAP grassroots organisation that are hopeless except to open MPs car doors. We don't need more.

This is where CSJ and SDP have miscalculated. Simply put Ah Beng (NS) wants a govt that takes care of everything for him while doing Ah Beng's bidding. CSJ should have simply stayed on with his job as a lecturer at NUS instead of sacrificing fighting for ingrate Ah Bengs. HIs landed property would have been worth millions today instead of ending up in the hands of the PAP appointed OA. Ah Beng (NS) deserve the PAP and more.

-

yellow_people

I've got some time on my hands this week so given the arsehole you really are, I'll still humor you.

That is not quite right. Chee fault is that he is not effective and his sacrifices are due to his well known lack of tactical and strategic acumen. When you take on the oppressive PAP, you got to be more honest than them or certainly not as silly as he was. For $226 and a couple of dodgy taxi fares he screwed himself up. He is not the only one but his is the prominent one as he stepped on the public stage.

Wrong. If Chee was dishonest, he would have settled the matter with his supvisor Vasoo or attempted to bury the whole matter under the carpet. He did not and stood his ground. What is fucking $226 when you are an NUS lecturer? He was framed. The fact of the matter was the PAP was out to get him.

He became a bankrupt because he forgot to check the fact with regard to the loan that never left our shores. Obviously the PAP will make a mountain out of molehill and their compliant courts will always do their bidding.

Wrong again. Chee mistake was joining the opposition cause and standing up for what he believed in. It had nothing to do with checking facts. LKY had dealt with Lim Chin Siong including D Puthucheary in the same manner... operation 'cold store' .. there is no need for facts... as that can be simply fabricated.

Imagine if he was given powers and a role in Govt. We are all aware of people who take home the office toilets rolls, print paper, add to their expense claims etc but these guys don't stand for public office or smart enough not to get caught. We certainly can't have people like this in govt. We are already got idiots like WKS and people in PAP who are out to milk the most from this country and its people.

This is where you let loose your PAP running dog personna Scroobal. It wasn't for toiltet rolls or supposedly padding his expense report that he fell out of disfavor. He stood on the opposition ticket before that had happened.

If you think the Chee made sacrifices, then you are delusional as these have been pure miscalculation or lack of political acumen. There was no impact on anything. Look at the people that SDP draws. They are losers except for one rising star and asset - VW. Look at Gomez, truly a liability to every organisation that he has been. His father was charged in court for using union funds for his own use. He is not the only one. Why can't SDP bring in quality people.

Talk about delusional||| SDP has the quality people not scums that try to curry approval from PAP by going on bended knee and admitting to all and sundry it is not prepared to form the govt yet and PAP are still the best. You can't get more pathetic than that. And it certainly does not need another YSL that puts up a false front while voting PAP.

Many of us were fans of Chee until time told a different story. Look at Gandhi - keeps claiming that he is a govt scholar. He was like many technical people who were sponsored to undertake studies in a UK Polytechnic. It was not germany where diplomas are treated as higher than degrees in some cases. Gandhi worked for the prostitute press until he was made redundant. He did not resign. This is the same prostitute press that this country has have had and the spots and stripes are still there. I can go down the list to highlight that SDP are a bunch of losers and their colourfull background but it will be the same story.

Yeah. Yeah. Sure you were a fan of Gandhi. The problem with your prostitute analogy is the WP has become one themselves.

I am all for passion but you need mettle, capacity and some basic capability to take part in politics. Look at Monica, Francis and John. I am not sure if I could get them to organise a trip for a group of people to move from point A to point B. The people in SDP have not achieved anything in their private lifes so what are they going do for Singaporeans. We already have idiots in PAP grassroots organisation that are hopeless except to open MPs car doors. We don't need more.

Yeah sure. What has LTK achieved after 2 decades in parliament. At least CSJ and his SDP fights for what they believe in. LTK sticks his finger in the sky to see which direction the wind is blowing.

LeMans2011

1. To contribute 50% of our MP's allowance to improve our party's service to you and to seed an endowment fund for the needy.This is real stupid shit. It's like owning up in advance we are of inferior quality, hence an upfront discount if you vote for us. It's the kind of stuff you come up with when you could not figure out how to win hearts. Manifesto #1 somemore!!!

2. Not to authorise any unsafe investments that place your funds at risk, unlike the PAP which lost $8 million of Town Council's surpluses in toxic investments.Does that mean putting the entire national reserves in Fixed Deposits? Even then there is currency risk!!!

3. To run our Town Councils with you by getting residents involved in precinct management committees. Together, we will maintain our estate in a way that is better than the PAP's town councils.What is "better"? Can i suggest this be changed to "more efficiently"?

4. To conduct, in addition to our weekly Meet-the-People's sessions, quarterly town hall meetings to obtain your views on policies that affect you and take them to parliament.Nothing spectacular about this.

5. Abolish the GST for essential items and foodstuffs, and reduce other items to 3%.And how are they going to do that?

6. Introduce the Singaporeans First Policy to ensure that Singaporeans are given priority for jobs and stop the PAP from overcrowding our city.This is probably the only one that make sense, should make this as #1.

7. Abolish the CPF Minimum Sum Scheme and return the hard-earned savings to the people.Similar to "reduce gst to 3%" kind of half-baked ideas. Policies should always be looked at in totality and not individually.

8. Reduce cost of medications, consultation fees, polyclinics and hospitals.This is fine.

9. Introduce minimum wage laws.Another half-baked idea like "reduce gst to 3%" and "abolish cpf minimum sum scheme"

10. Reduce the class size from 40 to 20. More half-baked ideas.

Apart from #6 and #8, the rests are only good for coffeeshop talk. I suppose SDP does not think it can win any votes at all, hence they churn out a whole list of items which they will never be able to do anyway. I mean how can you reduce the gst rate unless you run the govt???

Workers' Party might have a whole list of details which take a professor to understand, but it does not matter because voters remember only one manifesto "to create a first world parliament". Who on earth go and list down 10 manifestos!

yellow_people

LTK after collecting 4 terms of MP allowance knows its stupid shit too. That's why he is waiting for the opportuinity to either rule with a weakened PAP 50 years down the road or better yet in rule absolute control, so he can truly enslave stoopid shit inferior stock Ah Beng. Those who pin their hopes on a saviour, deserve neither saviour or freedom.

-

1. To contribute 50% of our MP's allowance to improve our party's service to you and to seed an endowment fund for the needy.This is real stupid shit. It's like owning up in advance we are of inferior quality, hence an upfront discount if you vote for us. It's the kind of stuff you come up with when you could not figure out how to win hearts. Manifesto #1 somemore!!!

LeMans2011

$15k per month is really a meagre sum, considering the amount of harassment one get's from the PAP machinery, and the public bullying in the parliament.