• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

$645K HDB's priciest flats go on sale. Still AFFORDABLE Woh!

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>
th_TV2008081820401000-1.jpg
th_ST_IMAGES_SKMM14-1.jpg
th_25B_TEMASEK_wideweb__470x2730-1.jpg

Huat ah! *Ha*Ha*Ha*

$645K HDB's priciest flats go on sale
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><TR>Pinnacle@Duxton units are among 992 released for sale yesterday </TR><!-- Author --><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Fiona Chan, Property Reporter
</TD></TR><!-- show image if available --><TR vAlign=bottom><TD width=330>
home-sty-pinnacle.jpg

</TD><TD width=10>
c.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=bottom>
c.gif

The seven blocks of Pinnacle@Duxton dominates the Tanjong Pagar skylin. Forty-four units cost more than $600, 000. -- ST PHOTO: STEPHANIE YEOW
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->FOR sale: the most expensive flats ever released by the HDB.
They are the remaining 111 five-room units at the iconic 50-storey Pinnacle@Duxton in Tanjong Pagar, which is due to be completed this year.
<TABLE width=200 align=left valign="top"><TBODY><TR><TD class=padr8><!-- Vodcast --><!-- Background Story --><STYLE type=text/css> #related .quote {background-color:#E7F7FF; padding:8px;margin:0px 0px 5px 0px;} #related .quote .headline {font-family: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; font-size:10px;font-weight:bold; border-bottom:3px double #007BFF; color:#036; text-transform:uppercase; padding-bottom:5px;} #related .quote .text {font-size:11px;color:#036;padding:5px 0px;} </STYLE>On the market
Pinnacle@Duxton, Tanjong Pagar Units: 428 (317 four-room, 111 five-room)

Prices: $457,000 to $645,800

NOT WORTH PAYING FOR

'I wouldn't pay $600,000 for a five-room flat, I don't think any HDB flat is worth that value.'
Housewife Lily Lee, who is in her 30s and looking for a new flat

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>Prices start at $545,000 and go up to an eye-popping $645,800 for a 49th storey unit, making them Singapore's costliest new flats by a long shot. Forty-four cost more than $600,000.
The current record for a new HDB flat is held by a five-room unit at Toa Payoh, which was released for sale in February at $531,500. This excludes the premium flats built by private developers under the Design, Build and Sell Scheme (DBSS).
Pinnacle@Duxton also has 317 four-room units still unsold, which were made available at prices ranging from $457,000 to $555,000. These units are left over from when the development was launched in 2004. The flats were then priced between $289,200 and $439,400 and met with overwhelming response.
But not all the units were eventually sold, and some were returned to HDB after the buyers withdrew from their planned purchases.
The remaining flats were among 992 new flats released for sale yesterday under HDB's latest balloting exercise, which also included surplus units from the Selective En bloc Redevelopment Scheme (Sers) in Ang Mo Kio, Jurong West, Kallang/ Whampoa and Queenstown.
While the prices for the Pinnacle@Duxton flats seem steep, the HDB said they were still lower than the prices of resale flats in the area.
'Despite their pricing, units at the Pinnacle@Duxton are especially attractive as they are priced below the market prices of similar flats in the resale market,' a spokesman said.
'Their high prices are supported by recent open market resale prices of comparable flat types in the vicinity, for example at Cantonment Close, Tanjong Pagar and Jalan Membina. Overall resale prices in these areas have gone up in recent years.'
HDB provided figures showing that prices for five-room flats in Jalan Membina recently hit $670,000 for a unit above the 20th floor. The average price of a five-room flat sold in Jalan Membina and Cantonment Close over the last three months was $624,000.

=> But how many are transacted at such prices? Who are the buyers? Those who made a windfall from en bloc thingy, right? Like this also can use as benchmark? Con until like this? *PTUI*

Still, whether buyers will respond well to these prices remains to be seen.
Housewife Lily Lee, who is in her 30s, said the prices for the Pinnacle@Duxton units were 'very high'.
'I wouldn't pay $600,000 for a five-room flat, I don't think any HDB flat is worth that value,' she said.
But Mr Zhao Bing Yao, 29, thought the price seemed 'reasonable in this market'.
'My friend just spent about $400,000 for a four-room flat in Clementi that is 30 years old, so I think it's okay to pay up to $600,000 for a brand-new five-room flat near town,' said the director of an IT company.

=> PRC on free scholarship and with no NS obligation?

Mr Mohamed Ismail, the chief executive of property agency PropNex, said that HDB 'has no alternative but to price at market norms'.
'If they price too low, it will have an impact on resale prices in the area,' he said, adding that private homes in Tanjong Pagar cost mostly above $1,000 psf.
Still, he noted that the target group of buyers for the Pinnacle@Duxton flats will be 'very small', given the $8,000 monthly household income ceiling. Buyers of the five-room flats would be paying almost $3,000 in monthly mortgage instalments, he said.
For 'young couples and those who are not ready to pay the higher prices for flats in Pinnacle@Duxton', HDB suggested applying for the other types of flats released in yesterday's balloting exercise.
These include 285 flats in Jurong West along Corporation Drive, with three- room flats starting at $142,000, four- room flats starting at $213,000, and five- room flats starting at $270,000.

=> i.e. Live beside Bangalas!

There are also four- and five-room flats in the Kallang/Whampoa area next to Kallang MRT, and 128 studio apartments in Ang Mo Kio that elderly buyers can opt for.
As at 5pm yesterday, 1,271 applications had been received for the 992 flats.
[email protected]

On the market

Ang Mo Kio Units: 128 studio apartments
Prices: $80,000 to $115,000
Kallang/Whampoa Units: 103 (39 four-room, 64 five-room)
Prices: $364,000 to $554,000
Queenstown Units: 48 five-room flats
Prices: $481,000 to $539,000
Jurong West Units: 285 (91 three-room, 164 four-room, 30 five-room) Prices: $142,000 to $306,000

NOT WORTH PAYING FOR
'I wouldn't pay $600,000 for a five-room flat, I don't think any HDB flat is worth that value.'

PRICES REASONABLE
'My friend just spent about $400,000 for a four-room flat in Clementi that is 30 years old, so I think it's okay to pay up to $600,000 for a brand-new five-room flat near town.'
Mr Zhao Bing Yao, 29, director of an IT company

Man in the streets

All siao leow !!!

familee is going nuts, Mah bow tan is going bananas, the housing agents are going happy, the 66% must send to Mental hospital.

when old fart fucks to hell, HDB flats become nothing !

Man in the streets

lily lee is human.

Ah zhao may be having mental problems or PAP ball licker.

NOT WORTH PAYING FOR

PRICES REASONABLE
'My friend just spent about $400,000 for a four-room flat in Clementi that is 30 years old, so I think it's okay to pay up to $600,000 for a brand-new five-room flat near town.'
Mr Zhao Bing Yao, 29, director of an IT company

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>Sep 27, 2008
POPULATION DATA BY ZONES
</TR><!-- headline one : start --><TR>More elderly folk in Outram, Toa Payoh
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><TR>More young people live in Punggol, Woodlands; Bedok most crowded </TR><!-- Author --><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Li Xueying, Political Correspondent
ST_IMAGES_OLD.jpg

</TD><TD width=10>
c.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=bottom>
c.gif

About one in five - or 21 per cent - of Outram's 17,000 residents are 65 and older. In contrast, just 4.6 per cent of Punggol's residents are in this silver-haired group. -- ST FILE PHOTO

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->OUTRAM is for the oldies, while Punggol is for the kiddies.
Sitting in an area where Singapore's forefathers landed, Outram has the highest proportion of elderly residents. About one in five - or 21 per cent - of its 17,000 residents are 65 and older.
In contrast, just 4.6 per cent of Punggol's residents are in this silver-haired group.
Instead, this once sleepy fishing village, which has been recently rebranded as an exciting new town, has the highest proportion of toddlers: 12 per cent of its 54,600 residents are four and younger.
This contrasting picture of urban development can be gleaned from the latest population figures released by the National Population Secretariat yesterday.
They offer a glimpse into the profile of Singapore residents - made up of citizens and permanent residents - living in 31 zones, as defined by the Urban Redevelopment Authority development guide plans.
These plans divide areas of the island into different zones, such as Ang Mo Kio, Yishun and Toa Payoh.
The data confirms what is anecdotally known. For instance, Punggol, with amenities like an upcoming waterway, tends to attract young couples, while samsui women and other elderly folk traditionally reside in Outram, which includes Chinatown.
Other areas with a lot of elderly folk include Bukit Merah, Queenstown, Rochor and Toa Payoh. About 15 per cent of their residents are 65 and older.
Those with higher proportions of young residents include Sengkang - Punggol's neighbouring town - Woodlands and Jurong West.
Sociologist Tan Ern Ser said a danger of areas with too high a proportion of elderly residents is that as the old have less spending power, retailers may be affected. Some schools may suffer from declining enrolments, he added.
One way to encourage a better mix of young and old is to give priority allocation of HDB flats to families with old folk, in areas with a preponderance of young people, he suggested.

=> Then why tell young couples to fxxx off to live with Bangalas if they cannot afford $645k pigeonholes?

In those areas with a larger elderly population, build more high-end HDB apartments and condominiums, if construction is part of the game plan, he said.
He added: 'Introduce good-quality nurseries, kindergartens, schools and other amenities that are attractive to young people and families.'
The data also shows Bedok is the most crowded zone, with 285,800 residents, followed by Tampines, with 256,700.
Newton has the fewest (5,900), followed by River Valley (8,400).
The figures also indicate the types of dwelling in each zone.
If dwelling type is used as a proxy for wealth, Bukit Timah residents - unsurprisingly - emerge as the most well-to-do by a wide margin.
Half of its 69,500 residents live in landed property. Another 12 per cent live in condominiums and private flats.
Other middle-class areas include Marine Parade, Serangoon and Tanglin.
At the other end of the spectrum, Outram, Bukit Merah and Kallang have the highest proportion of residents living in one-room flats. [email protected]

Man in the streets

perhaps when old fart goes to hell, PAP implodes and the price will come down.

PAP equals HDB, if PAP collapses, HDB is also finished.

No regime is forever.

It's better to keep cash.
HDB price is very fake, it is politicised by the PAP.

HDB prices will never go down. Its up up and up away. :mad:

The_Latest_H

Let's just see how long can these fucking prices hold themselves up in such a despairing world property market...

If the PAP thinks that their prices can defy the world market, they have another thing coming!

Sperminator

Good to sell it and migrate to some other places to enjoy the gain from property appreciation.

www.hdb.gov.sg

Please reference the above website to have an overview of the property pricing in SINGAPORE.

I am greatly sadden by the fact that HDB pricing are shooting sky high that a newly wed will be debt ridden till retirement...

Let's do a simple financial calculation.

Assuming best case scenario of 2 SINGAPOREANS getting married, and say buy the most expensive flat in SINGAPORE with a price tag of SGD 645,000.

So, in SINGAPORE (provided both staying near parents), so have another discount of SGD 20,000 each X 2 = SGD 40,000 discount, (provided both are FIRST TIME BUYERS) & (provided both QUALIFY the HDB loan, if not, then go for more expensive BANK LOANS)

Best case scenario of both pay the debt for 30 years...

n = 30 X 12 = 360 payment months

initial payments of minimum 10% = SGD 64,500 minus SGD 40,000 (maximum grant) --> must pay SGD 24,500 for CPF minimum.

For young couple to accrue SGD 24,500 in their CPF, they both should have a minimum of SGD 3000 pay per month and contribute CPF for at least 1 1/2 years before getting married.

So, remainder 90% which is PV (SGD 580,500) needs to be paid 360 times, and interest on HDB is about 2.5% which is a whopping (PMT) SGD 2288 per month. FV (= SGD 0)

If I am not mistaken, there are not alot of people who qualify for this...

I thought the purpose of HDB (HOUSING DEVELOPMENT BOARD) is to ensure that the housing for the SINGAPOREANS should be AFFORDABLE???

I think the word AFFORDABLE have been misused by some people wearing white, or the white boys.

Because the whiteboys earn MILLIONS per year, AFFORDABILITY in their context is of course easier than the 66%

Till today, I am puzzled why some men in white claim that SINGAPOREANS are quitters, and losers, when they are pushing the BAR so high to reach.

Yes, I AM COMPLAINING.

In HONG KONG, the housing pricing is simply rediculous, which I would not agree in the housing pricing, but still there are alot of rich people on earth, willing to part their "easily earned" money to buy multi-million HKD apartments.

But this is SINGAPORE, SINGAPORE have an elected government, where they are elected to take care of the welfare of the people.

And isn't it funny to see so many SINGAPOREANS travelling overseas, like CHINA, VIETNAM, THAILAND, MALAYSIA, AUSTRALIA, CANADA, USA, EUROPE... even EUROPE's housing can be more COST EFFECTIVE than SINGAPORE....

Isn't it funny to call all these SINGAPOREANS quitters when the BAR is raise up so high that so many cannot reach it.

What has happened to the basic core purpose of setting up a HDB during the humble years of SINGAPORE? Wasn't that a VISION to provide nice, comfortable accomodations for all, at REAL AFFORDABLE PRICING???

Personally, I don't think I like the idea of being in debts till my retirement years, and found that I have nothing in my CPF because of my expensive flat, and later, I have to top up my CPF till it qualifies for an ANNUITY that is compulsory later on, and I end up becoming a slave, a peon, a serf....

All I know is that, the Government of Singapore do have the power to control the pricing of HDB.

And speaking as a SINGAPOREAN, all I am asking is for our Government to reconsider the repercussions of having expensive HDBs....

I am totally appalled to find out that now a days, a 5 room flat in AMK can be SGD 530,000.00 , 4 room flat in AMK about SGD 400,000.00 and 3 room flat about SGD 250,000.00

Talk about inflation... inflation also got not so fast one....

I pray that the pricing of HDB fall, and crumble, and for the welfare, and benefit of SINGAPOREANS who truly want to own a home, and start a family...

I also want to have an affordable HDB, but with prices like that, I think it's cheaper to buy properties overseas, that's why, more and more SINGAPOREANS are leaving home.... that's why...

THINK FOR THE PEOPLE, and the PEOPLE will think of their country...

Treat your people like SERFS, PEONS, SLAVES, they will leave like MOSES leading the ISREALITES out of EGYPT.... people will leave in HORDES...

May GOD BLESS SINGAPORE.

hockbeng

www.hdb.gov.sg

Please reference the above website to have an overview of the property pricing in SINGAPORE.

I am greatly sadden by the fact that HDB pricing are shooting sky high that a newly wed will be debt ridden till retirement...

Let's do a simple financial calculation.

Assuming best case scenario of 2 SINGAPOREANS getting married, and say buy the most expensive flat in SINGAPORE with a price tag of SGD 645,000.

So, in SINGAPORE (provided both staying near parents), so have another discount of SGD 20,000 each X 2 = SGD 40,000 discount, (provided both are FIRST TIME BUYERS) & (provided both QUALIFY the HDB loan, if not, then go for more expensive BANK LOANS)

Best case scenario of both pay the debt for 30 years...

n = 30 X 12 = 360 payment months

initial payments of minimum 10% = SGD 64,500 minus SGD 40,000 (maximum grant) --> must pay SGD 24,500 for CPF minimum.

For young couple to accrue SGD 24,500 in their CPF, they both should have a minimum of SGD 3000 pay per month and contribute CPF for at least 1 1/2 years before getting married.

So, remainder 90% which is PV (SGD 580,500) needs to be paid 360 times, and interest on HDB is about 2.5% which is a whopping (PMT) SGD 2288 per month. FV (= SGD 0)

If I am not mistaken, there are not alot of people who qualify for this...

I thought the purpose of HDB (HOUSING DEVELOPMENT BOARD) is to ensure that the housing for the SINGAPOREANS should be AFFORDABLE???

I think the word AFFORDABLE have been misused by some people wearing white, or the white boys.

Because the whiteboys earn MILLIONS per year, AFFORDABILITY in their context is of course easier than the 66%

Till today, I am puzzled why some men in white claim that SINGAPOREANS are quitters, and losers, when they are pushing the BAR so high to reach.

Yes, I AM COMPLAINING.

In HONG KONG, the housing pricing is simply rediculous, which I would not agree in the housing pricing, but still there are alot of rich people on earth, willing to part their "easily earned" money to buy multi-million HKD apartments.

But this is SINGAPORE, SINGAPORE have an elected government, where they are elected to take care of the welfare of the people.

And isn't it funny to see so many SINGAPOREANS travelling overseas, like CHINA, VIETNAM, THAILAND, MALAYSIA, AUSTRALIA, CANADA, USA, EUROPE... even EUROPE's housing can be more COST EFFECTIVE than SINGAPORE....

Isn't it funny to call all these SINGAPOREANS quitters when the BAR is raise up so high that so many cannot reach it.

What has happened to the basic core purpose of setting up a HDB during the humble years of SINGAPORE? Wasn't that a VISION to provide nice, comfortable accomodations for all, at REAL AFFORDABLE PRICING???

Personally, I don't think I like the idea of being in debts till my retirement years, and found that I have nothing in my CPF because of my expensive flat, and later, I have to top up my CPF till it qualifies for an ANNUITY that is compulsory later on, and I end up becoming a slave, a peon, a serf....

All I know is that, the Government of Singapore do have the power to control the pricing of HDB.

And speaking as a SINGAPOREAN, all I am asking is for our Government to reconsider the repercussions of having expensive HDBs....

I am totally appalled to find out that now a days, a 5 room flat in AMK can be SGD 530,000.00 , 4 room flat in AMK about SGD 400,000.00 and 3 room flat about SGD 250,000.00

Talk about inflation... inflation also got not so fast one....

I pray that the pricing of HDB fall, and crumble, and for the welfare, and benefit of SINGAPOREANS who truly want to own a home, and start a family...

I also want to have an affordable HDB, but with prices like that, I think it's cheaper to buy properties overseas, that's why, more and more SINGAPOREANS are leaving home.... that's why...

THINK FOR THE PEOPLE, and the PEOPLE will think of their country...

Treat your people like SERFS, PEONS, SLAVES, they will leave like MOSES leading the ISREALITES out of EGYPT.... people will leave in HORDES...

May GOD BLESS SINGAPORE.

That's why must vote opposition.

LKY already said: you want lower housing prices, then vote more opposition.

Sperminator

That's why must vote opposition.

LKY already said: you want lower housing prices, then vote more opposition.
--> that quote is dangerous.

My honest opinion, I'll rather vote for LKY than his dumb son. (if he is available)

But to vote for Opposition, is suicide... just be informed that your vote is serialized buddy... meaning traceable... buddy.

the whiteboys know that you vote or not, and also know who you vote.

I'm not here to decide what is right or wrong, but I am here to vent out a frustration as a Singaporean who wants an AFFORDABLE HDB near my parents, at an affordable price, but not like PRIVATE HOUSING.

With current pricing in HDB in SINGAPORE, these pricings are equivalents of PRIVATE PROPERTIES in MANY COUNTRIES!!! can live in a CONDOMINUM in China with good swimming pool, tennis court, basketball court, and 2 layer security guards, and with a home of about 120 m square!!!

SOMEBODY better get their fact right in pricing the HDB... cost of construction cannot be so high one...

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
This is really absurd. HDB really sucks.

If one have to pay a mortgage payment of $3000 each month, it would mean that by the 30% rule, the household income must be $9000! But, HDB would not allow couples with more than $8000 household income to apply for new HDB flat!

So, is HDB's new flats still "affordable" by the very rule that they have set?

By the way, HDB is playing number games. They may just say that the couple with $8000K could opt for a longer loan period of maybe 35 years to make their flat "affordable"! The couple would be basically a slave to their flats for the rest of their of life. And this is a very dangerous proposition because after 40 years old, everybody's jobs will be at risk. Job security for those above 40 years old is practically zero.

I will write about this issue on my blog next week.

Goh Meng Seng

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>
th_TV2008081820401000-1.jpg
th_ST_IMAGES_SKMM14-1.jpg
th_25B_TEMASEK_wideweb__470x2730-1.jpg

Huat ah! *Ha*Ha*Ha*

$645K HDB's priciest flats go on sale
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><TR>Pinnacle@Duxton units are among 992 released for sale yesterday </TR><!-- Author --><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Fiona Chan, Property Reporter
home-sty-pinnacle.jpg

</TD><TD width=10>
c.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=bottom>
c.gif

The seven blocks of Pinnacle@Duxton dominates the Tanjong Pagar skylin. Forty-four units cost more than $600, 000. -- ST PHOTO: STEPHANIE YEOW

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->FOR sale: the most expensive flats ever released by the HDB.
They are the remaining 111 five-room units at the iconic 50-storey Pinnacle@Duxton in Tanjong Pagar, which is due to be completed this year.
<TABLE width=200 align=left valign="top"><TBODY><TR><TD class=padr8><!-- Vodcast --><!-- Background Story --><STYLE type=text/css> #related .quote {background-color:#E7F7FF; padding:8px;margin:0px 0px 5px 0px;} #related .quote .headline {font-family: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; font-size:10px;font-weight:bold; border-bottom:3px double #007BFF; color:#036; text-transform:uppercase; padding-bottom:5px;} #related .quote .text {font-size:11px;color:#036;padding:5px 0px;} </STYLE>On the market

NOT WORTH PAYING FOR

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>Prices start at $545,000 and go up to an eye-popping $645,800 for a 49th storey unit, making them Singapore's costliest new flats by a long shot. Forty-four cost more than $600,000.
The current record for a new HDB flat is held by a five-room unit at Toa Payoh, which was released for sale in February at $531,500. This excludes the premium flats built by private developers under the Design, Build and Sell Scheme (DBSS).
Pinnacle@Duxton also has 317 four-room units still unsold, which were made available at prices ranging from $457,000 to $555,000. These units are left over from when the development was launched in 2004. The flats were then priced between $289,200 and $439,400 and met with overwhelming response.
But not all the units were eventually sold, and some were returned to HDB after the buyers withdrew from their planned purchases.
The remaining flats were among 992 new flats released for sale yesterday under HDB's latest balloting exercise, which also included surplus units from the Selective En bloc Redevelopment Scheme (Sers) in Ang Mo Kio, Jurong West, Kallang/ Whampoa and Queenstown.
While the prices for the Pinnacle@Duxton flats seem steep, the HDB said they were still lower than the prices of resale flats in the area.
'Despite their pricing, units at the Pinnacle@Duxton are especially attractive as they are priced below the market prices of similar flats in the resale market,' a spokesman said.
'Their high prices are supported by recent open market resale prices of comparable flat types in the vicinity, for example at Cantonment Close, Tanjong Pagar and Jalan Membina. Overall resale prices in these areas have gone up in recent years.'
HDB provided figures showing that prices for five-room flats in Jalan Membina recently hit $670,000 for a unit above the 20th floor. The average price of a five-room flat sold in Jalan Membina and Cantonment Close over the last three months was $624,000.

=> But how many are transacted at such prices? Who are the buyers? Those who made a windfall from en bloc thingy, right? Like this also can use as benchmark? Con until like this? *PTUI*

Still, whether buyers will respond well to these prices remains to be seen.
Housewife Lily Lee, who is in her 30s, said the prices for the Pinnacle@Duxton units were 'very high'.
'I wouldn't pay $600,000 for a five-room flat, I don't think any HDB flat is worth that value,' she said.
But Mr Zhao Bing Yao, 29, thought the price seemed 'reasonable in this market'.
'My friend just spent about $400,000 for a four-room flat in Clementi that is 30 years old, so [COLOR=_______]I think it's okay to pay up to $600,000 for a brand-new five-room flat near town,' said the director of an IT company.[/COLOR]

=> PRC on free scholarship and with no NS obligation?

Mr Mohamed Ismail, the chief executive of property agency PropNex, said that HDB 'has no alternative but to price at market norms'.
'If they price too low, it will have an impact on resale prices in the area,' he said, adding that private homes in Tanjong Pagar cost mostly above $1,000 psf.
Still, he noted that the target group of buyers for the Pinnacle@Duxton flats will be 'very small', given the $8,000 monthly household income ceiling. Buyers of the five-room flats would be paying almost $3,000 in monthly mortgage instalments, he said.
For 'young couples and those who are not ready to pay the higher prices for flats in Pinnacle@Duxton', HDB suggested applying for the other types of flats released in yesterday's balloting exercise.
These include 285 flats in Jurong West along Corporation Drive, with three- room flats starting at $142,000, four- room flats starting at $213,000, and five- room flats starting at $270,000.

=> i.e. Live beside Bangalas!

There are also four- and five-room flats in the Kallang/Whampoa area next to Kallang MRT, and 128 studio apartments in Ang Mo Kio that elderly buyers can opt for.
As at 5pm yesterday, 1,271 applications had been received for the 992 flats.
[email protected]

Sperminator

Right on Mr. GOH! Right on!!!

Sometimes, I really wondered why the HDB makes the rules so fucking difficult for a couple to buy a HDB...

My brother was rejected to buy a HDB, because he "OVERQUALIFIED"

really fucking bastards, and cannot get HDB loan because also "OVERQUALIFIED"

How about I don't want to stay in a 4 or 5 room flat, and only 3 room flat, keep my expenses low scenario?

Basically HDB is setting up the rules to force people to get married, what If I DON'T want to get married???

I say some fucking dumb ass Scholars are sitting in their laurels in HDB, and not thinking for the people... they are Scholars right? then fucking THINK!

since the region is experiencing more seismic activities and buildings are going up higher and not seismic-proof, my recommendation is: stay away from residential high rises in indamnesia, malaiseia and sinkapoor.

Sperminator

since the region is experiencing more seismic activities and buildings are going up higher and not seismic-proof, my recommendation is: stay away from residential high rises in indamnesia, malaiseia and sinkapoor.

Dear Eatshitndie,

Please do share with us your views, by offerings some substantial thoughts...

We all know that the HDB pricing is high, but what can we do?

Other than not buying, which is obviously the case, but there are still tonnes of people bidding for the limited supply...

looking forward to listen to your views.

Dear Eatshitndie,

Please do share with us your views, by offerings some substantial thoughts...

We all know that the HDB pricing is high, but what can we do?

Other than not buying, which is obviously the case, but there are still tonnes of people bidding for the limited supply...

looking forward to listen to your views.

invest in low rise properties in johor. they are going for around usd150k for a relatively substantial piece of land (compared to sg) and state-of-the-art single-level or two-level housing. johor is near sg, so you can enjoy your weekend home just by crossing the crossway. the only annoyance is the wait at the checkpoint. if you work in sg, rent a room from hdb dwellers. invest the bulk of your money in a real house with freehold land. think about your retirement now, not when you retire.