• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

151st biggest prostitute & mistress, Sumiko Tan: Oh, Thank you, foreign worker...

kojakbt

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%" rowSpan=4></TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>28266.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Feb 7, 2010

Thank you, foreign worker

Why be angry at foreign workers in our midst when they are doing jobs that are unpopular but necessary?

<!-- by line -->By Sumiko Tan
<!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->

For all the unhappiness that has been expressed about foreign workers in Singapore, one fact remains - life would be difficult without them.

Let's be honest here. Most foreign workers are doing the jobs that Singaporeans are loath to do, and there sure are many jobs Singaporeans don't want. (kojakbt: ever wonder why in western countries, the whites still do those dirty jobs?)

Be a maid and tend to the cooking, cleaning, looking after the baby and the invalid grandma and work the sort of hours most Singaporeans expect their maids to work? No, thanks.

Toil under the sun at a construction site and be transported around sitting at the back of lorries? Are you kidding? (kojakbt: have you seen white westerners working as construction workers in their countries? They don't have to be transported around. They drive to work)

Go from table to table at hawker centres to clean up the mountains of chicken, fish and pork-rib bones left behind by customers? No way. (kojakbt: have you seen white aussie garbage collector before?)

Stand around, smile and act pleasant all day at a shop and answer the inane queries of customers? Only if desperate.

In fact, even jobs such as florists are shunned by Singaporeans. Why, you might wonder. How unpleasant can it be working with flowers and dreaming up beautiful designs?

Pretty unpleasant, according to Singaporeans, because a florist's job entails him having to stand on his feet for long periods - and Singaporeans don't like that.

Another reason Singaporeans prefer not to work as florists is that they are expected to put in lots of overtime during festive periods, said a report in The Straits Times last week.

Strange reason, isn't it? Wouldn't you think people would grab at the opportunity to work overtime as it translates into more money? (kojakbt: I give you $8/hr for overtime, u want to do or not? But many SPGs willing to moonlight as social escorts for $300/hr)

The truth is, there are many jobs that Singaporeans avoid but which have to be done if the economy is to be kept going. Employers have no choice but to give them to foreigners because Singaporeans don't want them. (Kojakbt: no, employers just want to employ slaves... if they can dont pay salaries, even better... I don't blame them for being profit-oriented)

It's strange how Singaporeans can train for hours under the sun to prepare for a triathlon, but ask them to take a job that involves physical labour and they will turn their noses up at it. (kojakbt: stupid analogy. there is a difference between working in a job and voluntary keeping fit at your leisure. As far as work is concerned, everyone has a price. If one day S$1 = 1 RMB, you think the PRCs will want to come here and work as construction workers?)

And it's not only physical labour they disdain. Jobs that dirty their hands or involve repetition and service are also unpopular.

Still, who can blame them? Most people would agree that it's far more comfortable working in an air-conditioned office than at a job where you get all hot and dusty. And if they can hold out for something like this, why bother to get their hands dirty in the meantime? (kojakbt: money talks. Why do you think even some Sinkie girls want to work as social escort?)

Others would even argue that it's a fallacy to say that Singaporeans don't like menial work.

Rather, they say, Singaporeans don't take up such jobs because they can't - wages for such jobs are so low they won't be able to support their families on them. (Kojakbt: precisely!)

And the reason wages have been forced down? Because the Government has allowed in unskilled foreign workers in its desire to have a more competitive economy with low-cost workers. (Kojakbt: yes, resulting in dive in our productivity... such "moden day slavery" policy by PAP is unsustainable in the long run, as highlighted by ESC)
Hence, the resentment at how foreign workers have come in to spoil the market.

But I wonder: How many Singaporeans would actually take up jobs as maids if wages were increased? Or construction workers, for that matter? Or painters or plumbers? (kojakbt: simple, just do more studies in western countries and see for yourself...)

The difference between the foreign worker and Singaporeans is that the former looks at Singapore as an opportunity. It is a place he can make a living and send money home to his loved ones, benefiting from the strong Singapore dollar.

So even if the hours are long and living conditions hard - as they definitely are for the low-end foreign worker here - he ploughs on.
And if you are an employer, wouldn't you prefer a hardworking and motivated worker than one who shows a sour face? (Kojakbt: employer will even prefer slaves if slavery is legalized)

In fact, I must say that my shopping experience has improved vastly ever since foreigners have taken on service-sector jobs.

At the petrol station I go to, the young man from China is always polite. His English isn't perfect but he makes up for it by being pleasant. He doesn't give the impression that he's unhappy in his job, which is invariably the vibe I get when I'm served by a Singaporean. (kojakbt: while Sumiko Tan was paying for petrol to the young PRC man, she was having fantasy of being served by a younger man in bed...)
Nine out of 10 times when I'm served by a Filipino sales staff, the experience is also a happy one because he is cheerful.

At a boutique I used to go to, the salesgirl from China was super-enthusiastic about making a sale. (Kojakbt: cause the salesgirl get very low pay but with got commissions. A S$50 commission per sale is RMB250 - a qtr pay of an avg worker in china.... c'mon lah, Sumiko Tan, don't BS us lao chiao here lah... u can only hope to bluff some of those blur 66.6% sinkies...)

She'd pile me with clothes to try, wouldn't bat an eyelid if I asked for yet another size of a dress I liked, reassure me that I didn't look fat and scurry to get measuring tape and pins to help me alter a dress.
And after I was done shopping, she'd SMS and call me up whenever new stock arrived. I always ended up buying more than I should.
Some might find service like this overbearing, but give me an enthusiastic salesgirl than one I can tell wishes I'd leave her alone and walk out of the store.

This resentment against the foreign worker is not peculiar to Singapore, of course.

In Europe, for example, the opening up of the Eastern bloc countries to the European Union has caused similar resentment among locals.
But the fact is, the Poles and the Czechs are more hard-working and are simply happier to be earning the minimum wage than the locals, who turn their noses up at certain jobs and prefer getting drunk and being on the dole. (Kojakbt: Fark u lah, sumiko tan, it's the same farking economic arbitrage principle. 1 British Pound = 4.66 Polish Zloty, 1 British Pound = 30 Czech Koruna)

The Singaporeans who complain about foreigners are the ones with the dead-end jobs and low salaries. They're - understandably - unhappy with their lot and cannot see how their lives can improve. They are already working long hours and still have nothing to show for their effort. (kojakbt: This is a farking myth. White collar jobs have also been infiltrated by FTs helping to depress salaries further. Ask any Sinkie IT fellas and they will tell u. White collar jobs is are even worse - there are no quotas!)

So what can be done? Should levies for foreign workers be raised to lessen the dependency on them? But how would higher wages affect businesses? And, again, even if jobs in construction or shipbuilding were available, would Singaporeans want them?

The thing is, low-income earners in Singapore do have a choice. They can choose to be self-employed and to better their lot. Why aren't there more self-employed people here? It doesn't take long to learn how to be a tiler or a painter or a plumber, and they can make a pretty good living doing that, one would imagine. (Kojakbt: Sumiko Tan is sprouting shit from her CB mouth... why don't she choose to be self-employed and lead the way? Why leeching on the PAP establishment for so many decades inside?)

The irritation with the foreign worker is as much social and cultural as it is economic.

The onslaught of foreigners has been sudden after all, happening over the last five years or so. And beyond supposedly taking away jobs, they are making their presence felt in the property market, in the sort of food sold at hawker centres, and even in schools where their children grab the top academic prizes.

The Singapore vs Foreign Worker divide is an issue that won't go away any time soon.

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

kojakbt

Meanwhile, though, I look at the thousands of maids, construction workers, toilet- and hawker-centre cleaners toiling in our midst and I can only say, thank you, Mr and Ms Foreign Worker.

(Kojakbt: Sumiko Tan, why keep fantasizing having sex with these FTs? Just go and ask them lah... u sure can get a dozen willing to bonk you for free...)

iamtalkinglah

She is talking out of point.
1) THE CONCERN IS “TOO MANY FTs IN SINGAPORE” not “FTs IN SINGAPORE”.
2) With the high cost of living in Singapore, how can we afford to let our wife stay at home and be a full time house wife.
3) With the long working hours in Singapore (longer hours than Japan), where got time to go home and clean and cook?
4) Whether the FT Toil under the sun at a construction site and be transported around sitting at the back of lorries are not our problem! That’s the nature of the job and it is the employer’s fault to abuse the Ah Neh. What did she do? Why didn’t she write an article to “report” these employers instead of BLAMING IN ON SINGAPOREANS?
5) I have seen local elders going from table to table at hawker centres to clean up the mountains of chicken, fish and pork-rib bones left behind by customers, why didn’t she voice out on these concerns?
6) She is not being objective, I have seen Singaporean sales person/florist/cleaners/etc !! Who is she trying to cheat????
7) Wouldn't you think people would grab at the opportunity to work overtime as it translates into more money? – Yes because they don’t have a family in Singapore to go back to.
8) Employers have no choice but to give them to foreigners because Singaporeans don't want them. – How you know? I have only seen ads that specially indicated that they want a FT!!!
9) The difference between the foreign worker and Singaporeans is that the former looks at Singapore as an opportunity. It is a place he can make a living and send money home to his loved ones, benefiting from the strong Singapore dollar. – And not to mention, reduced the demand of Singapore dollars when they exchange SGD for RMB.

….I have no more energy liao. Someone please take over..this is a plain stupid piece of option that I feel I am just wasting my time..

iamtalkinglah

Ms Sumiko Tan, get a 100% born and bred Singaporean whose parents are both 100% born and bred Singaporeans to write an opinion.
Maybe it will be more convincing.

Oh, it would even be more convincing if you can get someone who is depending on their parents now for income and whose parents are cleaners earning $800/month to write the opinion.

Highfalutin

I am sure it's possible for SPH to replace her with an FT who suck dicks better and at half of what she is currently earning. She can write her last article. "Thank You FT!"

Highfalutin

Ms Sumiko Tan, get a 100% born and bred Singaporean whose parents are both 100% born and bred Singaporeans to write an opinion.

Oh, it would even be more convincing if you can get someone who is depending on their parents now for income and whose parents are cleaners earning $800/month to write the opinion.

Wrong, her mom is a Jap! If Sumiko Tan had been brought up in Japan, we'll be watching her suck cocks in slutload.com, the only popular free porn site on Alexa 100 Singapore.!

kojakbt

….I have no more energy liao. Someone please take over..this is a plain stupid piece of option that I feel I am just wasting my time..

Me too... when I read the article, I Tulan until speechless, dont know what to say.... it's either she has been instructed from the top to say something good about the FT situation in Singapore so as to "balance" the negative groundswell, or she is truely living in the ivory tower - the 4 floors of brothel in the middle of Toa Payoh...

Complete lose touch with the ground... some more, all her arguments got holes!

she oni mention abt blue collar jobs ... y she kip her blahdy mouth shut on white collar jobs? ... white collar jobs got no ft meh? ... dat ah 154th oso taking in a lot of ft 1 ... wait 1 day, she oso displaced by ft, den she noe ... :eek:

y oso she so blahdy quiet on sales ppl who cant speak england? ... she never meet sales ppl who die-die muz speak 2 her in mandarin during her shopping spree meh? ...

a totally shallow, unreal n misleading article ... another time-wasting piece of crap ...

kojakbt

You are right, her mum is a Jap... I wonder how many Singaporeans has her grandfather killed in WW2...

kojakbt

I am sure it's possible for SPH to replace her with an FT who suck dicks better and at half of what she is currently earning. She can write her last article. "Thank You FT!"

Quite true, there are now pinoy writers, Indian FT writers, angmo writers etc in SPH now... matter of time they will also be replaced and let's see if she still sing the FT song or not...

besotted

Sumiko Tan is spot on. FT make our lives better and are indispensable toour economy

Everyone is entitled to his opinion

Unfortunately many are fully grown adults with juvenile responses, what with name calling prostitutes and sluts just because you disagree with a person's view

So so juvenile

kojakbt

Sumiko Tan is spot on. FT make our lives better and are indispensable toour economy

Unfortunately many are fully grown adults with juvenile responses, what with name calling prostitutes and sluts just because you disagree with a person's view

So so juvenile

Cause she is giving a very 1-sided view... and there is no way to retort on 151st... they will publish whatever they want Sinkies to hear...

Highfalutin

So so juvenile

Look who's talking!:rolleyes:

yellow people

So so juvenile

Good afternoon. :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

cooleo

SuckMiKo Tan is dying for a bigger influx of foreign trash into Sinkapore to boost her chances of getting married.

Through trial and errors, she has finally realized that quality local single males are immune to her pathetic charms. Hence there needs to be a bigger gene pool to boost up her chances!

iamtalkinglah

SuckMiKo Tan is dying for a bigger influx of foreign trash into Sinkapore to boost her chances of getting married.

Through trial and errors, she has finally realized that quality local single males are immune to her pathetic charms. Hence there needs to be a bigger gene pool to boost up her chances!

Good analysis!

For the rest of the brothers, see here:
http://sgblogs.com/entry/sumiko-missing-married-life/274773

"Is there something wrong with me? Is this all there is to life? Why aren't I married? Am I not good enough? Am I not lovable enough? Am I not capable of loving deeply and permanently? Have I been too fussy? Do I have bad karma?" - Sumiko Tan

Feeling half a woman
Am I less of a woman because I am not a mother and a wife? I sometimes feel that way
By Sumiko Tan

I always feel a bit awkward when I bump into friends with their children in tow.

It is often said that life is what you make of it, so I shall be thankful for what I have rather than what it could have, should have, would have been. The alternative could in fact have been worse.