• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

HDB Mortgage SLAVES

theDoors

U moron, we already have our own Nelson Mandela. Chia Thye Poh. There can be ONLY ONE.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nelson_Mandela

Mandela served 27 years in prison, spending many of these years on Robben Island. Following his release from prison on 11 February 1990, Mandela supported reconciliation and negotiation, and helped lead the transition towards multi-racial democracy in South Africa.

Chia did not continue his political work after release from prison.

theDoors

News report on a happy HDB dweller

I live like a king
http://www.asiaone.com/print/Business/My+Money/Property/Story/A1Story20100119-192806.html

Man who "settled" for Yishun flat says he feels like he's living in condo.

Wed, Jan 20, 2010
The New Paper

BY ELYSA CHEN

HE HAD wanted to buy a 4-room flat in Ang Mo Kio, but settled for Yishun instead when he couldn't afford it.

It was probably one of the best decisions that 53-year-old driver Low Hoon Chee made. He saved $50,000 and Ang Mo Kio is just three MRT stops away from Yishun.

With a shopping centre and swimming pool within walking distance, Mr Low said it feels like he has a full suite of condo facilities and added: "I feel like a king, even though I live in a flat."

He is one of many homebuyers who are not willing to pay high prices for flats in central or mature estates.

Do you know anything about revolution at all? In Singapore? There are a set of pre-requisites for revolution to happen... put it this way, Singaporeans are not even ready to go for street protests and you are talking about revolution?

There is nothing wrong in making Singapore a better place for everyone.

Goh Meng Seng

You are an opposition member. YOu make use of your position as an opposition member to make a place better for everyone while under the PAP system???? Isn't that being used by the PAP to do their job better?

Aren't you wasting your time as an opposition member? Or using this position doing small work?

Why dun you admit that you have no fucking balls to deal with the PAP directly?

YOu are just unfolding the pages that is dogeared by the PAP and then try to show that you are doing something for the people. FOr gods sake, you sound like a servant for the PAP.

If you have any balls or capabilities, CHANGE the WHOLE PAP BOOK. ( system) SO you are in agreement with the PAP system?

Anybody can do research and show what is wrong and what will happen in the future. Even i can do that. But for you case you stop there.

YOu are in no position to tell SInkieland is ready or not for protest and revolt. It should be a leader that initiated that. I dun think you have the balls and capabilites to be in a leader position. It really shows by your mindset and the way you reply to my posts.

A leader initiate and play around the pre-requisite, not subject to it.

You are those who dare not challenge the system and yet try to show that you are doing something but what you only do is just paper , talk-a-lot work.

What you know and what you do to solve is totally different thing.

Goh, soft power has never brought change. Look at all the recent changes. South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, Phillippines. etc, All these asian countries have changed govts. in the last last couple of decades, but only thru mass public demonstrations, and blood spilled on the street and elsewhere. Why do you think this will not happen in s'pore, why will we be the exception?

Soft power are just an excuse for losers who are totally balless.

IN Thailand, the yellow shirt protest at the paraliment house. THe thaksin men throw grenade to the crowd from the hole in the tent that they made. It kills 2 of them. When i arrive there, they were putting candles and flowers around the photo that is pasted on the wall. ( yes i was there after the bombing and that nite at 3am, another bomb blew off, but i was off around 10am, my 2 hour stay. My girl is with me and is she scare, yes, she was shaking while walking there but she just want to show support. This is call courage. Learn it!!!! balless sinkies.)

What happen when these 2 protestors die? The Thais will run back to their homes??? sorry men, they are totally unsinkie-like. THe next day, the mass have even more people to go against such killings, it up to 40k people from i think 10 to 20k.

Now, if the balless goh is there, i think he will run back to his home and hide. Because in his mind, the pre-requisite is always not there. He needs the pre-requisite to be spoonfed to him, then he can show other he 'brave' it all out.

The Thais are willing to brave death for their country. WHo will you respect? a balless sinkie talking about pre-requisite or one who brave death for their country.

In sinkieland, there isn't death at all, only the sinkie govt trying to scare you with jail childishly and just that, you see the balless goh start giving excuses.

THe only death i know in sinkieland are those sinkies running the silly and time wasting 2.4km and drop dead.

The Thais take action and didn't talk so much crap about this and that.

Soft power are just an excuse for losers who are totally balless.

IN Thailand, the yellow shirt protest at the paraliment house. THe thaksin men throw grenade to the crowd from the hole in the tent that they made. It kills 2 of them. When i arrive there, they were putting candles and flowers around the photo that is pasted on the wall. ( yes i was there after the bombing and that nite at 3am, another bomb blew off, but i was off around 10am, my 2 hour stay. my girl:confused:is with me and is she scare, yes, she was shaking while walking there but she just want to show support. This is call courage. Learn it!!!! balless sinkies.)

CB kia tonychat,

my girl ki lan:oIo:

ladyboy say ladyboy lah:biggrin:

lockeliberal

Dear Scroobal

You really should tell GMS that he should stop trying to argue in Generalities and instead start focusing on specifics and specific generations.

He is wasting his breathe with People who bought their flats at anytime in the 70's eighties and or early nineties. They are sitting on cash on appreciating asset values and try as he says that its an illusion, that one will have to downgrade etc etc etc, the the people know best and they know who is better off in terms of overall wealth.

Can the PAP pull the same trick of for people of this generation and perhaps of my generation over the next thirty years. That is the question.

Locke

I think he is getting the message. This thread is also good as it provides some level of feedback.

Dear Scroobal

You really should tell GMS that he should stop trying to argue in Generalities and instead start focusing on specifics and specific generations.

Locke

popdod

Time for commercial break.

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/V7ZJz0dxBJ4&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/V7ZJz0dxBJ4&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

:biggrin: :p :biggrin:

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Locke,

You may come with me when NSP is selling their papers on Sundays. See what I say when I sell my papers. :wink:

Goh Meng Seng

Dear Scroobal

He is wasting his breathe with People who bought their flats at anytime in the 70's eighties and or early nineties. They are sitting on cash on appreciating asset values and try as he says that its an illusion, that one will have to downgrade etc etc etc, the the people know best and they know who is better off in terms of overall wealth.

Can the PAP pull the same trick of for people of this generation and perhaps of my generation over the next thirty years. That is the question.

Locke

Yah, drag the chap along. You need to rekindle his spirit of yesteryears when he was full of fire in the old sbf and the resident political guru giving accurate assessments.

Locke,

You may come with me when NSP is selling their papers on Sundays. See what I say when I sell my papers. :wink:

Goh Meng Seng

BlueCat

well,majorities of Singaporean are indeed HDB's slaves.
all our hard earn CPF are being tied by the mortgage with HDB.

QXD

GMS is just playing on negative perceptions.

If buying property was truly "slavery", the one will be buying property that would massively deflate in value across time, owners face negative equity, banks will foreclose on the owner, and the ex-owner will homeless, saddled with a debt that they can never repay in their lifetime, work to pay off the debt and with nothing to live on, live on the streets and die out in the cold.

Of course, slavery would be a popular term since prices now are perceived by locals to be higher than usual, but considering how home owners have seen their home values increase through the years, one can one surmise that, and as I have said a long long time ago, Singaporeans should learn how to be investment savvy; Make themselves more knowledgeable in controlling their own finances, stop expecting the government to spoonfeed you all.

One must ask, that if the government did indeed step in and make policies giving Singaporeans an unfair advantage, how long would this advantage last in the open market? Higher HDB cash subsidies would be priced in via bigger demand and therefore less chance of obtaining a flat, building flats faster will suppress asset growth of existing first home owners who plough in their hard earn money into an asset value that remains flat.

The only "slavery" I see are Singaporeans expecting the government to feed them with more. And therein lies the issue, are Singaporeans made "slaves" by the PAP or are they themselves willing slaves to PAP?

Moral of the story: Don't buy that 4D, toto, penny stock, ILP and call it an "investment". Learn to see real opportunity to create an income for yourselves. Learn how to leverage your income and then you will see that you are playing PAP's game for your benefit. Who then is the "slave"?

If buying property was truly "slavery", the one will be buying property that would massively deflate in value across time, owners face negative equity, banks will foreclose on the owner, and the ex-owner will homeless, saddled with a debt that they can never repay in their lifetime, work to pay off the debt and with nothing to live on, live on the streets and die out in the cold.

There's a hole in your argument, i.e. buying is practically compulsory; there's not much rental available anymore for Singapore families unless you go to HDB and prove that you're real broke. Even then, you'd be asked to take a number and queue.

QXD

You are refusing to see the point that in an environment where a home is a depreciating asset, the risk of owning real estate will create consequences such as the one I mentioned.

There's a hole in your argument, i.e. buying is practically compulsory; there's not much rental available anymore for Singapore families unless you go to HDB and prove that you're real broke. Even then, you'd be asked to take a number and queue.

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Your argument is totally flawed and full of holes. I will get back to this one later...

Goh Meng Seng

Of course, slavery would be a popular term since prices now are perceived by locals to be higher than usual, but considering how home owners have seen their home values increase through the years, one can one surmise that, and as I have said a long long time ago, Singaporeans should learn how to be investment savvy; Make themselves more knowledgeable in controlling their own finances, stop expecting the government to spoonfeed you all.

One must ask, that if the government did indeed step in and make policies giving Singaporeans an unfair advantage, how long would this advantage last in the open market? Higher HDB cash subsidies would be priced in via bigger demand and therefore less chance of obtaining a flat, building flats faster will suppress asset growth of existing first home owners who plough in their hard earn money into an asset value that remains flat.

The only "slavery" I see are Singaporeans expecting the government to feed them with more. And therein lies the issue, are Singaporeans made "slaves" by the PAP or are they themselves willing slaves to PAP?

Moral of the story: Don't buy that 4D, toto, penny stock, ILP and call it an "investment". Learn to see real opportunity to create an income for yourselves. Learn how to leverage your income and then you will see that you are playing PAP's game for your benefit. Who then is the "slave"?

You are refusing to see the point that in an environment where a home is a depreciating asset, the risk of owning real estate will create consequences such as the one I mentioned.

And the risk of not buying or owning? Stay in the street or void deck? There's actually no risk of buying for a home (as against investment or speculation) within one's means even after which it's depreciating. If you can afford it, and you're not selling it, depreciation won't hurt you. Trouble is, affordability has been stretched and redefined.

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
You have totally mixed up the two markets and the concept of "investment" vs "buying a house for a home".

Ramseth has nicely put it, if you are buying a house for a home, it doesn't matter whether the flats in RESALE market is high or low because you are not going to sell it for profit anyway.

Even if you want to sell off your flat to sleep on the street, that's fine. I HAVE NO ISSUE with HIGH RESALE PRICES as long as Singaporean buyers get a subsidy from HDB.

But I do have an issue with HIGH HDB PRICES for NEW FLATS which are meant for first time buyers, most probably newly wed couples! The reason why people like you mix the two markets up is basically because you have unwittingly and unknowingly accepted HDB's policy of linking the price of RESALE MARKET with NEW HDB Prices which HDB itself has total monopoly over.

Thirdly, you have erroneously assume that the NEW HDB FLATS are sold in normal free market! That is totally out! HDB is the SOLE MONOPOLY SUPPLIER of NEW HDB Flats and it even controls who can buy and cannot buy new flats from it! It means that even if the flat is priced at ZERO by HDB, it doesn't mean that the demand will increase because basically HDB has determined who are eligible and who are not! The demand is controlled demand.

It means that by lowering the price for NEW HDB flats, it will not result in a huge surge in demand as we can see from free markets. No. Even if this happens, it will be good sign.... young couples are encouraged to get marry and form a family unit earlier! There is a LIMIT to demand as there are just that many young Singaporean couples in Singapore. Foreigners are not allowed to buy at that low price and thus there will not be an unusual surge in demand.

Singaporeans can have their cake and eat it. They can enjoy low prices for NEW HDB FLATS, their very first flat while at the same time, have higher value in the resale market. Nothing wrong with that.

The most erroneous idea you have here is that Singaporeans have "control" over their "finances". Sorry to say that, PAP has calculated everything for you. They are just saying you can "afford" a HDB flat if you pay 30% (i.e. all your CPF) of your salary for 30 years mortgage. They are the monopoly of the new HDB flats, remember? Do you really think you could have any control over your own finances at all? You will be under their control!

Goh Meng Seng