• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Siglap

2 The cafe in Jackie's Bowl Siglap is now still the "Different Taste" restaurant in Frankel Avenue with the original owners active!

Really? I only see a slightly plumb woman around there, pleasant boss-like.
Their food is good. And good service. Fish head especially. And the chendol, sedap

This young octogenarian uncle is very happy to see this thread revitalised after 2012!
Been with SammyLeong café for at least two decades and have stopped being active due to lack of good chaps whose knowledge and comments that I valued. I see a few reappearing here now to my happiness.
A couple of tit-bits to start off if there are young guys interested:
1 The laksa stall opposite former Lau Arcadia near the church is a branch of 328 (main in CeylonRoad). This is a third copy of original Katong Laksa which was started at the opposite coffee in Ceylon Road. The original was started by "old man Jangut" who plied around the Joo Chiat/Katong areas in the early fifties! Two heavy pots of stuff supported by bamboo hanging from his shoulders. More on the development of "katong laksa" if interested. Don't forget Roxy laksa too.
2 The cafe in Jackie's Bowl Siglap is now still the "Different Taste" restaurant in Frankel Avenue with the original owners active!
have you met the over 90-yr old unker who carries a briefcase and goes to work in the cbd every work day (of course not during cb)? he would take bus 42 early morning and alight at kembangan station to ride the mrt to the city. and return in late afternoon. not sure if he’s still alive.

I don't think that is accurate. Its a

I don't think that is accurate. Its a fast plane, no doubt. But some reconnaissance Spitfire PR XIX flying out of Taiwan doing recce over China around that time were faster then the Hornet.
ironically the hornet replaced the spitfire and beaufighter in the feaf squadrons after ww2.

whoami

next to few years old new freehold development that replaced the ugly condo site. witnessed the site construction from start to finish. then went in for a tour. not bad but contractors were mainly run by tiongs.

Tot most of them are landed houses siglap area. But did notice one beautiful condo Flamingo Valley though.

Is this here the mee rebus used to be the bestest pom pee pee wan ? :P
i still patronize macik’s nasi padang stall at soy eu tua kopitiam. their lontong is super popular for breakfast and mee rebus still bagus. mee siam mai hum is da best. the newer laksa, prawn noodle, and lor mee stall serves the best laksa in the area. more bagus than katong laksa. imo, katong laksa is over-rated. i prefer laksa chor bee hoon that is not cut into tiny pieces - long unbroken chor bee hoon in laksa is the original and most authentic plus the deeper reddish orange color and spiciness in the coconut broth. the trick is not to overboil the coconut broth until coconut particles are separated from water. i see dilution and floating coconut particles in katong laksa all the time. big yucks! this stall does it just right - the perfect laksa broth plus uncut noodles.

Tot most of them are landed houses siglap area. But did notice one beautiful condo Flamingo Valley though.
the design is good. center area is a common courtyard with greenery and water features. parking is underground. save space above ground. but the top floors overlook the landed homes in the neighborhood. can see residents staring down at my rickety bike when i’m about to mount and ride. they must be thinking “who’s this xia xuay unker with a cheapo bike in our atas neighborhood?”

I like it too nice and quiet and peaceful stretch.....too bad u have to be elite to live there.
many angmohs and their families have moved into the area. can see them swarming the coffee and pizza shop (faker and cock) at swan lake by felatio avenue, oops fidelio, every saturday and sunday morning. their kids go to opera estate primary school. now with cb may close down unless they do a lot of to go and pickups.

K.N.N. @syed putra -- Tiok Boh?

Siglap is
derived from the Malay word si-gelap meaning “dark one” or "the darkness that conceals". ... The latter was named after Madam Hajijah binte Jumat who owned much of the land in the village and funded the construction of a mosque in the nearby Kampong Siglap.
si-gelap must have something to do with the spooky cemetery. foliage or forest is overgrown, and place unkept for many decades. since it’s dark or black, can “si gelap” have blm walkabout or protest as is fashionable among uppity young people on social media around the world these days? they can walk downhill and enjoy kopi at upper east coast road at the starfucks by killiney after the walk.

Baimi

Who was your principal in St Pat then , Bro Joe or Bro Justinian ?
Sorry, can't remember, can't even remember my teachers' names also.
Further down, Woo Mon Chew Rd, there is Poh Heng court, I think I did ask before, does it belongs to Poh Heng Jewellery?? Got 2 sons also from St. Pat.

tanahcow

i still patronize macik’s nasi padang stall at soy eu tua kopitiam. their lontong is super popular for breakfast and mee rebus still bagus. mee siam mai hum is da best. the newer laksa, prawn noodle, and lor mee stall serves the best laksa in the area. more bagus than katong laksa. imo, katong laksa is over-rated. i prefer laksa chor bee hoon that is not cut into tiny pieces - long unbroken chor bee hoon in laksa is the original and most authentic plus the deeper reddish orange color and spiciness in the coconut broth. the trick is not to overboil the coconut broth until coconut particles are separated from water. i see dilution and floating coconut particles in katong laksa all the time. big yucks! this stall does it just right - the perfect laksa broth plus uncut noodles.

K.N.N.

Uncle ah sai,
me nephew ask:

1. mee siam mai hum - is it below $6.9?

2. laksa - gots big big Hums boh?
also below $6.9?

Nice-Gook

Sorry, can't remember, can't even remember my teachers' names also.
Further down, Woo Mon Chew Rd, there is Poh Heng court, I think I did ask before, does it belongs to Poh Heng Jewellery?? Got 2 sons also from St. Pat.
I am not from st pats ..but had i known your principal than I would know whether you are prior to the 60s or 70s ..tks

K.N.N.

Uncle ah sai,
me nephew ask:

1. mee siam mai hum - is it below $6.9?

2. laksa - gots big big Hums boh?
also below $6.9?
all below $6.9 during dine-in at normal times. but with covid take-out surcharges plus delivery may be $6.9. hums are fresh, much fresher but not as big as fake tiongcock cockles and abalones across the road at the green apple spa.

I am East Coast boy, so I know this area very well. Alot has changed. Frankel Avenue runs through it, and every Siglap resident has eaten at Dawood one time or another. Still got kopitiam around there, but Dawood is gone.

An familiar landmark from yesteryear - Siglap Market. Demolished to make way for the current Siglap Centre
Towards the left of the market, in that 2 storey green building was the best duck rice stall in singapore. Located inside a kopitiam.

There is still a Malay cemetery there. It is the only lot of land permitted to burn leaves openly and sometimes the smell of burnt leaves cover the area in the early morning.

I don't remember this. The nearest malay cemetery I can recall was in Opera Estates. Its still there.