• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

rotikosong

Unlikely to find on net. For me whenever I need help on this I always look for Khun May who comes from Lashio but now lives in Bangkok, she speaks Mandarin too as they teach in school. Taiyai language is very similar to N.Thai language.

One of these is Khun May but 4 of them are Taiyai people from Burma, look like Thai ya?

It is a pretty unique situation if one needs Tai Yai translation. Most Shan people (at least the ones at the border Tachilek all the way up to Keng Tung) can understand rudimentary Thai as they get and watch a lot of Thai TV. From my exposure to Tai Yai language (and I've had some) - it is different from N Thai language (nuer) - written script different, language constructs also different although the people, like Froggy says, look the same - I think they basically were all Lanna long time ago. Most Tai Yai people, unless they were super tok-kong during school, cannot understand Burmese either. I know one who went to uni - she super with languages.

You nailed it, ya he meant ghost. Thailand misses you when you back?

Pai seh. I've been to Thailand lots although during when you appear away. Last time was December and was in Chiang Mai (actually not in city, about 2 hours in the middle of nowhere; Chiang Rai border) for 2 weeks. Almost crossed into Myanmar through "back-alley" but later thought better not do.

It is a pretty unique situation if one needs Tai Yai translation. Most Shan people (at least the ones at the border Tachilek all the way up to Keng Tung) can understand rudimentary Thai as they get and watch a lot of Thai TV. From my exposure to Tai Yai language (and I've had some) - it is different from N Thai language (nuer) - written script different, language constructs also different although the people, like Froggy says, look the same - I think they basically were all Lanna long time ago. Most Tai Yai people, unless they were super tok-kong during school, cannot understand Burmese either. I know one who went to uni - she super with languages.

Pai seh. I've been to Thailand lots although during when you appear away. Last time was December and was in Chiang Mai (actually not in city, about 2 hours in the middle of nowhere; Chiang Rai border) for 2 weeks. Almost crossed into Myanmar through "back-alley" but later thought better not do.

hey i visited taichilek during 2013 was damn pissed i was charged 500 bht but i am a citizen from an asean country (sinkieland) while thai friend only paid 20 bht why did i need to pay more?

wow shan language is a burmese language isn't it? Mind telling us why you need these translations? Business dealings in burma?

Aiyo dun think so deep la. Am flattered you hinting me to be some international criminal type to grab honor and glory for Sg (I wished).
It's simply just to impress some charbor la....after many years I've still only clinged on to that few basic phrases only....

Hao Hak Shu .... ( that quintessential I love you )
Shu jon ha hao ( do you miss me )

It's interesting back then I visited xi Shaung bana in what is technically China and the people there speak taiyai as well.

Aiyo dun think so deep la. Am flattered you hinting me to be some international criminal type to grab honor and glory for Sg (I wished).
It's simply just to impress some charbor la....after many years I've still only clinged on to that few basic phrases only....

Hao Hak Shu .... ( that quintessential I love you )
Shu jon ha hao ( do you miss me )

It's interesting back then I visited xi Shaung bana in what is technically China and the people there speak taiyai as well.

ROFL if that's the case it should be pretty easy to find those simple phrases. I thought it was something deep that a google search could not produce. Taiyai isn't a popular language but it is not that remote or rare a language that is dying out unlike languages spoken by tribes in the amazon or papua new guinea.

Speaking of xi shuang bana aka sipsongpanna in thai i read it's where the first thai people came from or their where their ancestors originated from. Their ancestors still reside there the dai people.

hey i visited taichilek during 2013 was damn pissed i was charged 500 bht but i am a citizen from an asean country (sinkieland) while thai friend only paid 20 bht why did i need to pay more?

You lucky already.
I ever kena robbed at gunpoint there for refusing to pay 'penalty fees' to the border guards.
Do they still have curfew now? (Day trips only).

You lucky already.
I ever kena robbed at gunpoint there for refusing to pay 'penalty fees' to the border guards.
Do they still have curfew now? (Day trips only).

huh? How much were you robbed and why at gunpoint? I mean you don't pay you don't go over there. When i was there there were all sorts of nationalities. One old jap man, many ang moh from england. At first i didn't want to pay after seeing friend pay only 20 but later after seeing the rest pay 500 i followed suit i should have asked him about singapore and myanmar being in asean thing but i forgot. The guy spoke pretty decent english.

I think it was still day trips in 2013. Not sure. It isn't a place where you want to actually hang around. You just go there see see look look, buy your shit and then leave. One thing i know for sure is you cannot leave tachilek and travel to other parts of myanmar when you cross over from chiang rai but then again they keep your passports. Yup you're not allowed to take your passports with you. Anyway crossing back into thailand was also a nightmare. I had to fill in both arrival and departure again and the queue was super long. Mostly burmese people. Thai immigration was pretty rude too saw the officer correcting some stuff on my card cos it was illegible was damn lucky he didn't ask me to fill in a new one.

huh? How much were you robbed and why at gunpoint? I mean you don't pay you don't go over there. When i was there there were all sorts of nationalities. One old jap man, many ang moh from england. At first i didn't want to pay after seeing friend pay only 20 but later after seeing the rest pay 500 i followed suit i should have asked him about singapore and myanmar being in asean thing but i forgot. The guy spoke pretty decent english.

I think it was still day trips in 2013. Not sure. It isn't a place where you want to actually hang around. You just go there see see look look, buy your shit and then leave. One thing i know for sure is you cannot leave tachilek and travel to other parts of myanmar when you cross over from chiang rai but then again they keep your passports. Yup you're not allowed to take your passports with you. Anyway crossing back into thailand was also a nightmare. I had to fill in both arrival and departure again and the queue was super long. Mostly burmese people. Thai immigration was pretty rude too saw the officer correcting some stuff on my card cos it was illegible was damn lucky he didn't ask me to fill in a new one.

Back then foreigners weren't allowed to cross. Only Thais.
This was way before even the 'casinos' time.
The few of us figured we looked like Thais and chanced it.....no passports required since foreigners aren't allowed in the first place. They just let anyone enter but exit time just flash your Thai ID.....
We figured we are ok since we had military passes and a bodyguard (RTA officer).....
How wrong we were....probably already kena tagged during the entry time.....they wanted thb 3k from us.....ended up kena cleaned out of all cash and belongings. Went back still kena court martial by SAF. Valuable lesson learned.

Waterside Resort Restaurant in Bangkok is probably one of the biggest restaurants in Bangkok. Its also a favorite for dining plus karaoke. How big is this? I estimate the restaurant itself is probable like 170m by 80m not including car parking area which could easily be twice as big as the restaurant. Its almost full every night.

Photos taken around 6pm yesterday, great ambience to be sitting outside

Staff uses electric scooters to serve as its a big place

There've got very big function rooms that can cater for more than 100 people and also many karaoke rooms tats very well furnished

Started with cabbage fry with bacon

Tomyam krung soup

Nue dat deow - pork

roasted cockles

Seabass

Deep fried kampong chicken

Kailan

Food served very fast, short waiting time, food is very good.

Back then foreigners weren't allowed to cross. Only Thais.
This was way before even the 'casinos' time.
The few of us figured we looked like Thais and chanced it.....no passports required since foreigners aren't allowed in the first place. They just let anyone enter but exit time just flash your Thai ID.....
We figured we are ok since we had military passes and a bodyguard (RTA officer).....
How wrong we were....probably already kena tagged during the entry time.....they wanted thb 3k from us.....ended up kena cleaned out of all cash and belongings. Went back still kena court martial by SAF. Valuable lesson learned.

WTF u siao ah not allowed to cross you still decide to do it. ROFL. So what belongings you guys lost? Btw why did you all want to go there?

My friend wanted to buy something over there luggage cos it's cheaper compared to in thailand. I tagged along and of course to see the place but it's no different from any other market in thailand.

Anyway i remember visiting china illegally with my parents when we vacationed in HK. At that time sinkie citizens could not enter mainland china.

WTF u siao ah not allowed to cross you still decide to do it. ROFL. So what belongings you guys lost? Btw why did you all want to go there?

My friend wanted to buy something over there luggage cos it's cheaper compared to in thailand. I tagged along and of course to see the place but it's no different from any other market in thailand.

Anyway i remember visiting china illegally with my parents when we vacationed in HK. At that time sinkie citizens could not enter mainland china.

We had RTA military passes which stated in the passes we were VIPs guests of the thai army.
Very jalan in Thailand with privileges and discounts everywhere.....back then as now military in control so army big fuck. I guess it got to our heads and thot that we would be accorded similar treatment in Burma.

But this incident is still small potatoes compare to me cheonging into Burmese border town at chedi Sam Ong (infamous 3 pagoda pass). That was the real cowboy town in no man's land.....very happening as it was dangerous. Was told wanted crininals ran into the town and police wouldn't give chase....populated by all sorts of characters doing illegal trades machiam famous dodge city or eldarado cowboy towns from western movies....that's a story for another day.

We had RTA military passes which stated in the passes we were VIPs guests of the thai army.
Very jalan in Thailand with privileges and discounts everywhere.....back then as now military in control so army big fuck. I guess it got to our heads and thot that we would be accorded similar treatment in Burma.

But this incident is still small potatoes compare to me cheonging into Burmese border town at chedi Sam Ong (infamous 3 pagoda pass). That was the real cowboy town in no man's land.....very happening as it was dangerous. Was told wanted crininals ran into the town and police wouldn't give chase....populated by all sorts of characters doing illegal trades machiam famous dodge city or eldarado cowboy towns from western movies....that's a story for another day.

u went there for sight seeing? I mean i doubt the military would bring you guys there for r&r

Cycling has become a big thing in Thailand these 4-5 years. See many bicycle shops sprouting up all over even in small sois. Can also easily find all sorts of high end bikes you name it. Also many bicycle track being build the most famous of all is probably the Green Track around Suvarnabhumbi airport which is anot 25km long.

Spotted this at Foodland Ramintra supermarket a few minutes ago

Facebook threats leaves Thai youth, 17, dead in the street
Thaivisa Reporters

fb.jpg

Image: Thairath.co.th

BANGKOK: -- A Thai youth was stabbed in the neck after threats made on Facebook spilled onto the street leaving the seventeen year old dead on a Bangkok footpath, reports Thaivisa News.

Police were called to the scene of the murder in Soi Petchkasem 48 in the Phasi Charoen area of Bangkok late last night after a violent fight between two rival gangs.

The dead teenager, named only as "Lek" lay in a pool of blood dead from two neck wounds that other gang members said was inflicted by a rival gang known as "J." An upturned Honda Wave motorbike was found nearby.

Prasong Chamnansin of Phasi Charoen police said that initial investigations suggested that four youths from Lek's gang were riding two bikes when they were confronted by members of another gang near the spot where the man lay dead. A violent fight ensued in which Lek was stabbed twice.

Gang members tried to take him to hospital but he fell off the back of a bike and was already dead. Threats had been made on Facebook between the two gangs.

The dead youth's gang members were taken in for questioning as the case continues.