• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

can middle age gentlemen take back lunch money from interns

Here is another very sung nao jing issue with middle age gentlemen.
When go lunch in groups with interns, can he collect back drinks and food money from interns say we order soft drinks and sometime food from same stall.
Don't collect also bay tahan few dollars everyday. If collect feel bit paiseh cos they are interns.:cool:

NanoSpeed

To collect is entirely within your rights. But if you insist on enforcing your rights, you will lose face. You can't have your cake and eat it.

If middle-aged men collect money from interns, rest assured they will speak negative about you behind your back.

Don't go with your interns. Even if you have to go out for lunch, tell them you are a vegan. You are going different way.

xpo2015

Interns dun have salary or some even a small allowances. They are paid far below min wage. Don't exploit the kids lah. If middle aged men are single and have no family still want to collect small change from the kids, I think beri Malu one. Die die also want to get back only a few bucks.

babuSingh

Dun b so stingy....who knows the intern might be your boss one day if you changed jobs
How much can drinks cost you?
If that bothers you, just stop buying drinks until other people offered to buy

Thats why older folks keep to their clique during lunchtime...even if the you paid for their meal, it is still ok to remind them to return you the money

MovieStar

Well. Depend how wealthy you are.
Also how much is your salary.

I don't mind pay and treat sometime. But I dislike people take my advantages.

not only should he collect he should also set up a $2 company and demand additional 35% increase in protection money from them.

Unrepented

If interns got not enough money to spend after their salary, their parents should be the ones giving them.

You will be 70% correct and ethical to collect from them. Their parents cannot just fuck and forget, vote and forget.:mad:

When go lunch in groups with interns, can he collect back drinks and food money from interns say we order soft drinks and sometime food from same stall.
Don't collect also bay tahan few dollars everyday. If collect feel bit paiseh cos they are interns.:cool:

Unrepented

Tell the interns that you are training them to have a feel of reality, and let them test if they have the iron in them. What they want, they can choose, plain water or fruit juice, no money......then bring their own plain water from the office tap.:mad:

Interns dun have salary or some even a small allowances. They are paid far below min wage. Don't exploit the kids lah. If middle aged men are single and have no family still want to collect small change from the kids, I think beri Malu one. Die die also want to get back only a few bucks.

To collect is entirely within your rights. But if you insist on enforcing your rights, you will lose face. You can't have your cake and eat it.

If middle-aged men collect money from interns, rest assured they will speak negative about you behind your back.

Don't go with your interns. Even if you have to go out for lunch, tell them you are a vegan. You are going different way.

Last time when I was younger I earned much more than now. I had intervals of 2to3 interns under my care. Since they were under my care and I earned good salary surely I always never collect from them and it becomes a daily lunch routine for drinks. For food sometimes. No pinch felt.
I even treat them from my own pocket to Crystal Jade during their last day.

But now as I am already middle age and yet earning lesser, the few dollars a day adds up to a substantial amount to me. BTW the current interns in my current job is not under my care, but we are closely related in our jobs and I click well with them so I usually go with them. The pinch comes when ordering drinks. As for food I can still try my best to prevent ordering the same stall. Or rather buying food usually is self service so the issue may not always happen.

If interns got not enough money to spend after their salary, their parents should be the ones giving them.

You will be 70% correct and ethical to collect from them. Their parents cannot just fuck and forget, vote and forget.:mad:

Yes but they see you as a senior especially for middle age men. It is quite awkward to collect from them lor. You won't feel awkward meh.

Dun b so stingy....who knows the intern might be your boss one day if you changed jobs
How much can drinks cost you?
If that bothers you, just stop buying drinks until other people offered to buy

Thats why older folks keep to their clique during lunchtime...even if the you paid for their meal, it is still ok to remind them to return you the money
Drinks nowadays is not cents but $1.50 average and not just 1. Is 2 or 3 including mine 4 liao.
Yeah I will use this strategy not to order first lah but sometime they will order so all order together lor. When waiter come senior have to zhi tong liao.

Agoraphobic

When I used to lunch with my colleagues, we paid for our own meals, but for drinks, whoever made the order would pay the round. It was quite fair as we took turns to order the drinks, so the expense was shared quite equally. In the last two years or so, I stopped going out to lunch with them and brought my own lunch (either leftover from the previous night's dinner, sandwiches, or fruits) to work, which at lunch, I sit in the pantry, or at my desk. This is because I want to reduce the salt, sugar and MSG the food vendors dump into their dishes. There are no interns at my office.

The ang mo culture differs. When bill comes, each will pay his/her share.Some will even alert waiting staff to bill separately even when seated together.

For me, if kaki is keng king or queen, just avoid that person as lunch or dinner kaki. Meal tastes better that way.

When interns are concerned, I suppose it depends on two factors - is it a strain for you financially? Is the intern taking advantage of the situation?

When I used to lunch with my colleagues, we paid for our own meals, but for drinks, whoever made the order would pay the round. It was quite fair as we took turns to order the drinks, so the expense was shared quite equally. In the last two years or so, I stopped going out to lunch with them and brought my own lunch (either leftover from the previous night's dinner, sandwiches, or fruits) to work, which at lunch, I sit in the pantry, or at my desk. This is because I want to reduce the salt, sugar and MSG the food vendors dump into their dishes. There are no interns at my office.

yeah this question is also applicable to colleagues. There are many patterns of colleague I encountered. Some are like what you mentioned round robin type.
Some is quickly went to buy himself and that's it others he don't care for drinks but he still joins in.
Worst types are never offer to order but accept others order for him.
I am phobia to colleagues that say they busy ask you to tao bao for them but never pay back . Not sure is busy till forget or act blur. Mostly are shit skins from msia and local m&ds for this category.

Don't be stingy, is only a few bucks.

When going KTVs or HFJs, same problem can arise. Some kakis will never take out their wallets but will drink like there is no tomorrow. Best to siam them.

Then, there are people who will come to your table even though not invited to cross over. They will leave their bottle untouched and drink yours. This type no need to give face. Tell them to bring theirs over.

When going KTVs or HFJs, same problem can arise. Some kakis will never take out their wallets but will drink like there is no tomorrow. Best to siam them.

Then, there are people who will come to your table even though not invited to cross over. They will leave their bottle untouched and drink yours. This type no need to give face. Tell them to bring theirs over.

It was becos of this type of problem that I stop going ktvs . Yeah coming to join in are those not your immediate friend but friends of friends.
Once my friend brought along his friend and sister. His sister same time brought along 2 female friends of hers to clubbing.
His friend wanted to act toa kang in front on the ladies and pay for everything including supper :biggrin:. Later I discovered he has a motive to tackle 1 of the lady.
Result he won her. After 1 wk she became his gf This shows that toa kang is recommended if want to sian char bor, a lot of points for that:biggrin: