• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

CPF Minimum Sum vs CPF Life

TracyTan866

Is it better for a Singaporean to remain on the Minimum Sum scheme rather than opt for CPF Life? If she takes $200 from her monthly payout and buy a life insurance plan that matures in 20years, she will probably have enough money even if she has a long life after 85years. Has anyone done the maths?

batman1

The MIW has broken the contract with people of Singapore when they
deferred the CPF withdrawal date from 55 to 62 to 65.
They added many withdrawal restrictions n conditions such as the
Minimum Sum Scheme BEFORE u can withdraw any money from your own CPF money.
SO even if u are sick ,poor and jobless between 55 to 65,u cannot withdraw your own CPF money for
your daily survival.If your stomach is hungry NOW,what is the use of withdrawing monthly payout of a few hundred dollars 10 years LATER ? The MIW don't have these financial problems,u think the MIW
Understand the problems of the ordinary people of singapore ?

Leepotism

And every year they increase the minimum sum by at least $6000. Medisave minimum also increase every year. Most sinkies have nothing to withdraw when they reach age 55.

TracyTan866

Quite agree let people have choice opt out. If they live longer or shorter they person have to decide for themself.

i just did a preliminary calculation and feel that it is better to remain on Minimum Sum and use some of the monthly payout to buy a 20 year life policy

TracyTan866

The MIW has broken the contract with people of Singapore when they
deferred the CPF withdrawal date from 55 to 62 to 65.
They added many withdrawal restrictions n conditions such as the
Minimum Sum Scheme BEFORE u can withdraw any money from your own CPF money.
SO even if u are sick ,poor and jobless between 55 to 65,u cannot withdraw your own CPF money for
your daily survival.If your stomach is hungry NOW,what is the use of withdrawing monthly payout of a few hundred dollars 10 years LATER ? The MIW don't have these financial problems,u think the MIW
Understand the problems of the ordinary people of singapore ?

so back to my question, shd a singaporean remain on CPF Minimum sum if she has a choice?

batman1

so back to my question, shd a singaporean remain on CPF Minimum sum if she has a choice?
From what I know from the CPF website ,there is no more choice now for those CPF members
Who reached 55.IT IS COMPULSORY TO JOIN CPF-LIFE when they reached 55.In fact there is no comparison,Tharman spoke in parliament that cpf-life is the best for cpf members and rushed thru the CPF-life administrative orders making it compulsory to join CPF -life when u are 55.

CPF minimun sum. I agree gov must enforce but the question is how much???
But my ideas is whatever minimun sum CPF must pay minimun 3.5% interest on it.
Not 1st $60k as now which have 4% interest.

TracyTan866

From what I know from the CPF website ,there is no more choice now for those CPF members
Who reached 55.IT IS COMPULSORY TO JOIN CPF-LIFE when they reached 55.In fact there is no comparison,Tharman spoke in parliament that cpf-life is the best for cpf members and rushed thru the CPF-life administrative orders making it compulsory to join CPF -life when u are 55.

if the govt has to make CPF Life compulsory and dare not give the depositor a choice, my feeling is that CPF Life is a bad choice

TracyTan866

CPF minimun sum. I agree gov must enforce but the question is how much???
But my ideas is whatever minimun sum CPF must pay minimun 3.5% interest on it.
Not 1st $60k as now which have 4% interest.

I agree that interest for compulsory savings such as Minimum Sum shd earn more that the inflation rate

My new ideas for CPF is 1st $2k salary company contribute 20% of the CPF and then next after $20k is 15%.
So lower salary will get more CPF use for HDB flat installment.
What u think Tracy???

TracyTan866

My new ideas for CPF is 1st $2k salary company contribute 20% of the CPF and then next after $20k is 15%.
So lower salary will get more CPF use for HDB flat installment.
What u think Tracy???

i think your suggestion is good. But I also think 20% after $2k is also ok

TracyTan866

Anything without a choice is bad.

yes...

if CPF Life is as good as what the pap said, then everyone will rush to opt into CPF Life. why is the pap so afraid that Singaporeans will reject CPF Life? Obviously, it knows that CPF Life is inferior