• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

My Singaporean Indian Friend

CPT (NS) BRANDON

This afternoon I met up with my Singaporean Indian friend who I have not seen in the past 18 months.

I have known him for many years. Our friendship started in the army when I was a regular, he was my Platoon Sergeant when I was serving my PC tour. Like me he has now moved out of the SAF, and he now runs a small business dealing in paper materials and stationery. He earns between $12,000 to $18,000 monthly. He drives an Audi, lives in a rented condo, and employs 7 staff including a personal assistant.

He told me that he deeply resented the influx of FTs from India because now, no matter how well he does, he feels that people are biased against him -- he feels that Singaporean Indians are viewed as the same as Indians from India. He complained about the bad habits of the Indians from India, such as being excessively stingy, always asking for discounts (no matter how rich they are), being overly harsh and disrespectful towards service staff, and their tendency to congregate in large numbers as well as refusing to integrate with other nationalities. He said that Indian Indians do not even want to integrate with Singaporean Indians, and prefer to keep to themselves. He also told me that he finds himself having to read about news in India (such as the recent rape cases) and has to be conscious about how he is perceived. Previously he never even read news about India at all.

Do you think this is true?

Do you think you view Singaporean Indians in a more negative light thanks to the bad habits / behaviours of Indian Indians?

What are your personal experiences?

NOTE TO MDA CENSORS -- I am NOT a racist and I have no prejudiced views against anyone of any race. I am merely trying to discuss what appears to be a growing social perception. Nothing to do with racism or race.

da dick

hard to tell difference between them leh. since the new ah neh PR are also mostly south indian(darker skin). even when they open their mouth it's hard to tell difference because older singpie-indians (and matland-indians)also have a bloody thick accent.

such as being excessively stingy, always asking for discounts (no matter how rich they are), being overly harsh and disrespectful towards service staff, and their tendency to congregate in large numbers as well as refusing to integrate with other nationalities.

same can be said about the chinese

SgParent

Do you think you view Singaporean Indians in a more negative light thanks to the bad habits / behaviours of Indian Indians?

The same can be said of the Singaporean Chinese.

Singaporean Malays, Singaporean Indians, Singaporean whatever also have problem to a certain extend to differentiate and so view Singaporean Chinese in a more negative light thanks to the bad habits / behaviors of PRC, Malaysian Chinese, etc, etc.

Similarly for Singaporean Malays because of Malaysian Malay, Pinoy.

NOTE TO MDA CENSORS -- I am NOT a racist and I have no prejudiced views against anyone of any race. I am merely trying to discuss what appears to be a growing social perception. Nothing to do with racism or race.

You are oversensitive. MDA dun have time for such a lousy forum

It is hard to differentiate between a sinkee Indian and the foreign Indian. Thus, I deal with them with utmost caution.

Note to MDA: I am xenophobic for obvious reasons.
Note to PAP: I detest you for selling out my country.

PRONTO01

I too agree that the same can be said of the Singaporean Chinks because of their similarity traits. Digging their nose in public and some more advance lick their finger after digging, spitting anywhere and everywhere, swearing mother, father, etc, complain and strike at Sim Lim Square, does not shower and carries strong piggy smell, loves gambling, screwing at Geylang, cheating on spouses, business and bites the hands that feeds them.

EH how come you need to "Note to MDA" ah ? Is it possible 1 day SBF might kena busted ? shock and scared for bros here but not myself lah , I had never post any racist remarks.

I'm just following the practice introduced by the thread starter. :rolleyes:

Though registered in Malaysia, - the majority owners of Wilmar are Singaporeans. And our Govt is claiming that they have no leverage. And many of the owners though of Indonesian nationality reside in Singapore.

The World’s Top 15 Listed Palm Oil Planters
Following are the 15 largest listed palm planters, ranked by market value. They are mostly located in Indonesia and Malaysia, the top two producers of the vegetable oil.

Total plantation holdings are in hectares and include both cultivated and uncultivated land as well as joint ventures with
Indonesian smallholders.

Company Mkt Cap* Short&Long Landbank
Term Debt# (hectares)
($ mln) ($ mln)
1 Wilmar (WLIL.SI) 20,814.2 4,929.9 500,000
2 Sime Darby (SIME.KL) 11,994.8 1,638.0 524,626
3 IOI Corp (IOIB.KL) 8,323.2 1,639.0 251,000
4 KL Kepong (KLKK.KL) 3,617.6 580.0 360,000
5 Golden Agri (GAGR.SI) 3,302.8 557.0 637,361
6 Astra Agro (AALI.JK) 2,906.4 -nil- 258,900
7 Indofood (IFAR.SI) 1,362.6 650.1 541,224
8 Asiatic Dev (ASIA.KL) 1,206.8 7.9 164,000
9 London Sumatra (LSIP.JK) 864.3 73.4 169,909
10 Boustead (BOUS.KL) 804.0 1,035.0 100,000
11 United (UTPS.KL) 765.1 -nil- 80,874
12 Kulim Bhd (KULM.KL) 576.0 459.1 124,660
13 IJM Plantations (IJMP.KL) 502.6 10.0 70,000
14 Sampoerna Agro (SGRO.JK) 334.8 21.7 169,000
15 Bakrie Sumatera (UNSP.JK) 303.6 156.4 80,000

LeMans2011

Becos local chinese said orh tio si orh yeh..

Will remember to upz you when i regain power.
This is a fair statement - all Indians are the same.

Proof: try using the Samsung phone facial recognition lock feature. One Indian's phone can be unlocked by another.

LeMans2011

Though registered in Malaysia, - the majority owners of Wilmar are Singaporeans. And our Govt is claiming that they have no leverage. And many of the owners though of Indonesian nationality reside in Singapore.

The World’s Top 15 Listed Palm Oil Planters
Following are the 15 largest listed palm planters, ranked by market value. They are mostly located in Indonesia and Malaysia, the top two producers of the vegetable oil.

Total plantation holdings are in hectares and include both cultivated and uncultivated land as well as joint ventures with
Indonesian smallholders.

Company Mkt Cap* Short&Long Landbank
Term Debt# (hectares)
($ mln) ($ mln)
1 Wilmar (WLIL.SI) 20,814.2 4,929.9 500,000
2 Sime Darby (SIME.KL) 11,994.8 1,638.0 524,626
3 IOI Corp (IOIB.KL) 8,323.2 1,639.0 251,000
4 KL Kepong (KLKK.KL) 3,617.6 580.0 360,000
5 Golden Agri (GAGR.SI) 3,302.8 557.0 637,361
6 Astra Agro (AALI.JK) 2,906.4 -nil- 258,900
7 Indofood (IFAR.SI) 1,362.6 650.1 541,224
8 Asiatic Dev (ASIA.KL) 1,206.8 7.9 164,000
9 London Sumatra (LSIP.JK) 864.3 73.4 169,909
10 Boustead (BOUS.KL) 804.0 1,035.0 100,000
11 United (UTPS.KL) 765.1 -nil- 80,874
12 Kulim Bhd (KULM.KL) 576.0 459.1 124,660
13 IJM Plantations (IJMP.KL) 502.6 10.0 70,000
14 Sampoerna Agro (SGRO.JK) 334.8 21.7 169,000
15 Bakrie Sumatera (UNSP.JK) 303.6 156.4 80,000

Good research but what's the point? The fire happens on Indonesian turf, tell me there are no Indonesian officials from these companies that can be persecuted? By the time the Board of Directors' get percecuted, 60.1% of Singaporeans would have died from the haze. Oh and by the way the haze has been happening since 15 years ago, not yesterday... so tell me those bloody Indo officials can't do anything about it because the companies are not listed in Indonesia??

Come one people... don't be stupid like Vivian.