• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What exactly is life insurance and how does it work?

ykhuser

why put your money in other people pocket?

first batch of 100 plp buy insurance.
1 claim, 99 pay for his claim
second batch of 100 plp buy insurance
another 1 from batch 1 claim, 198 foot the bill.
so on and so for.
1 day if the downline all refuse to buy due to some reason,
no $$ to foot the bill for the 1 person who claim

garlic

Well, i purchase 2 life insurance and also 1 investment linked product from ntuc income. From what i have gathered, they have the lowest distribution cost and also agent commission. What brothers said here are true, the returns on the illustration are grossly inflated and on a "best-scenario" basis.

However, what i do see are the disease, death and TPD coverage also the guaranteed returns are also higher than the total outlay down the years. I am not very shrewd when it comes to stocks and other investment instruments, but having regular-premiums life policies do indeed let me save while earning small returns and hopefully be able to hit 50% of the "best-scenario" returns coz that would be good return. I do have term policies also for protection and the income/medishiled for private hosp fees.

presssomemore

Erm, if you buy 4D and TOTO, once a week, it is more likely that not you will strike at least once a year. Now can you imagine losing a hand, leg, finger or toe every year, just to tio bei sai? In this case, no one will be buying insurance, if their aim is to tio bei sai.
It's a humorous comparison only. Of course nobody in the right frame of mind want to die, get hurt or be ill.

Should is not confirm. And cannot quote u means, you also not confident. I know people handling claims, and they tell me that even in NTUC, which is supposed to be the nicest insurance company around because of their links to the government and hundreds of supermarkets, there is a claim by date, and if you overshot, each one is considered on a case to case basis. They do get rejected.
I'm pretty sure there's no time limit for death claim. So by right if the policy is inforced and no outstanding unpaid premiums during death occurred, the claim is payable. If it's medical related claims, yes there's a time limit for making claims and yes it's case to case basis. Just treat it as I am not confident about this point. But what I am confident about is NTUC is definitely not the nicest insurance company. Cannot elaborate more.

Wrong, also for those who invest early. To sustain the ponzi scheme, they must show that they can payout.
Top tiers means those who invest early lah.

50% for the first year, not substantial? Then what you want? 100 or 200%? Your grandfather insurance company ah?
Not a substantial amount compared to the all the premiums paid for the rest of the years. What I'm trying to say is that, some people thought that agents are leeching from their premiums year after years. Or some thought that agent can become millionaires just because he bought an insurance from that agent. Agent income depends repeated business and new customers.

Keyword : some, some is a very subjective word, 1% also some, 99% also some. Most investment linked policies give more commission, as compared to life or term.
First of all, 99% is "most" not "some". Even if it's more, it's like about 5%-10% more. Most agent will not risk losing a business for this amount if he think it's something not suitable for the client. And I thought you said you understood that the amount agent earn is not substantial?

I know agents who believe in all sorts of things. And I know agents who drive big cars, and I can tell you, they obviously do everything, but investment is where the real money is.
Why you care so much whether agents drive big car or small car, do insurance only or got do sideline? If you are jealous of your agent or don't like his face or he's not doing his job properly, just sack him, change agent. What's the problem? I'm not sure what you mean by "but investment is where the real money is". Are you saying agents make money from investing themselves or you mean agents make tons of money from selling investment linked policies?

One person will only have one term policy and/or one life policy, yet they can have lots of investment policies though.
If this is you, please make an appointment with me. I will help you do a policy review.

Fund Managers get sacked, you joking? How many out of work fund managers do you know? A fund manager can lose money for three years straight, but if he made a bundle in the fourth, he becomes a legend.
I don't know any fund managers at all. I don't know how long a fund manager have to under perform in order to get sack, but I was told they will be sacked.

Do you know insurance companies reserve the rights to change the premiums?
Of course I do. But only for those that are not premium guaranteed. And that's what I said in my previous post!

Do you know half the insurance companies are government linked, what till the cow come home? The cow haven't wake up they pak kat already.
This one I really don't know. I know NTUC is, GE maybe only. But pak kat is very unlikely. Though we may complain so much about garmen, but MAS really did a lot in protecting consumers with regards to insurance products.

Just look at our telcos and our public transport operators and, you will jolly well know that government institutions are very good in serving the interests of the affected GLCs above all else.
I don't what to say. What do you think?

presssomemore

@Thick Face Black Heart,
No rebuttal doesn't mean you are right. It could mean people are ignoring you. Or it could mean that I'm too tired to make anymore post.

Ultimately, just buy what you need, buy what you can afford and buy what you understand. Even if you're talking about investment in stocks, it's the same thing.

Peace out! :smile:

ykhuser

recently, my friend in insurance line pick up a new slogan.damm irrating.
keep message me a lot of convincing satements alway ending with xxxxxxxx anyway, decison is alway yours.cheer

damm irritaing
wonder his mentors teach him those stupid slogan

Thick Face Black Heart

@Thick Face Black Heart,
No rebuttal doesn't mean you are right. It could mean people are ignoring you. Or it could mean that I'm too tired to make anymore post.

Ultimately, just buy what you need, buy what you can afford and buy what you understand. Even if you're talking about investment in stocks, it's the same thing.

Peace out! :smile:

All motherhood statements. As if anyone should buy something they cannot afford or do not understand.

You here saying whole life policies has its place, and I'm saying they are financial ruinous to the client. Its as simple as that. I could print out any benefit illustration from any other major insurance firms and they would immediately reveal the fact. If I asked an industry insider to spill the means, even more damaging information would be revealed.

Reddog

Never never spend more than one (1) percent of your income on life insurance of any kind. Insurance is not an investment nor is it any form of savings. Be wise. Check out this subject thoroughly.

I would say sinkies would make the best insurance customers.
They need to be lulled into a false sense of protection.....false sense of security

Scroobye

You don't mind I tell you something hor?

I can tell when your real life ka kia (the guy who registered nickname TFBH) is posting and when your manipulative cheebye self is posting. It's the same with internet moniker Hawkeye1819.

You mean you get your CPF EVERY month like Lim Shit Say????

what a bogus motherfucker!

To check every month balance and feel rich, can go online. LOL.

ykhuser

Never never spend more than one (1) percent of your income on life insurance of any kind. Insurance is not an investment nor is it any form of savings. Be wise. Check out this subject thoroughly.

hi bro, where does the 1 % guildline comes from?
i spend 20% of my income on cpf every mth

the only insurance to get is medical insurance,, all other insurance are bullshit.

Scroobye

You don't mind I tell you something hor?

I can tell when your real life ka kia (the guy who registered nickname TFBH) is posting and when your manipulative cheebye self is posting. It's the same with internet moniker Hawkeye1819.

Scroobye

No more of your smartass motherhood statements using your ka kia's internet moniker?

Awwwww, poor bastard got pawned..................................... :rolleyes:

LOL. Trying to cover up being pawned by asking why nobody rebutted him.

Well, i purchase 2 life insurance and also 1 investment linked product from ntuc income. From what i have gathered, they have the lowest distribution cost and also agent commission. What brothers said here are true, the returns on the illustration are grossly inflated and on a "best-scenario" basis.

However, what i do see are the disease, death and TPD coverage also the guaranteed returns are also higher than the total outlay down the years. I am not very shrewd when it comes to stocks and other investment instruments, but having regular-premiums life policies do indeed let me save while earning small returns and hopefully be able to hit 50% of the "best-scenario" returns coz that would be good return. I do have term policies also for protection and the income/medishiled for private hosp fees.

My NTUC policy is giving me an average of 2 percent returns. That's below inflation!

Part of the first few years premium goes to agent commission not all of it. I already said agent have to jadi makan, nobody works for free. Agent only take commission for first few years only, then have to work for you for life. You tell me wu hua bo?

What work does the insurance agent do? If he does anything, is there value? Insurance agents are mere sales people. If the insurance policy is put in simple language, then we don't need insurance agent at all. Unless you are buying an investment policy that is tied to CDS, in which case, I still doubt the insurance agent can add any value as he wouldn't understand how that instrument work, you don't need an agent.

Buy term insurance and invest the premium difference between a term and investment policy in ETFs, you will be better off. Fund companies and insurance companies don't know any more than a learned investor. AIG blew up because it bought CDS. Lehman, Bear Stearns, Goldman, JP Morgan, RBS, ....they all messed up big time. If not for the $7.7 trillion injection by the US government, there won't be any of these banks.

ykhuser

What work does the insurance agent do? If he does anything, is there value? Insurance agents are mere sales people. If the insurance policy is put in simple language, then we don't need insurance agent at all. Unless you are buying an investment policy that is tied to CDS, in which case, I still doubt the insurance agent can add any value as he wouldn't understand how that instrument work, you don't need an agent.

Buy term insurance and invest the premium difference between a term and investment policy in ETFs, you will be better off. Fund companies and insurance companies don't know any more than a learned investor. AIG blew up because it bought CDS. Lehman, Bear Stearns, Goldman, JP Morgan, RBS, ....they all messed up big time. If not for the $7.7 trillion injection by the US government, there won't be any of these banks.

yeah.Insurance agents are mere sales people. some are conman
sometime they will brain wash you telling you they are here to help you and your family.they say they are saint from heaven.
you asked them if can cashback 100% of their earned comission if they are here as an angel, they will turn vampire show their true color

of late, i alway receive sms from 1 agent and another from mlm saleman.....the slogan alway ended with this
"the decison is alway your! cheer"
knn,dont know which mentor teach them this slogan,damm irritating

yeah.Insurance agents are mere sales people. some are conman
sometime they will brain wash you telling you they are here to help you and your family.they say they are saint from heaven.
you asked them if can cashback 100% of their earned comission if they are here as an angel, they will turn vampire show their true color

of late, i alway receive sms from 1 agent and another from mlm saleman.....the slogan alway ended with this
"the decison is alway your! cheer"
knn,dont know which mentor teach them this slogan,damm irritating
SLS salesman, 2nd hand car salesman, housing agent, insurance 'financial adviser'.....in this order of scum-ness......

ykhuser

SLS salesman, 2nd hand car salesman, housing agent, insurance 'financial adviser'.....in this order of scum-ness......

i dont think i called them 'financial adviser'
most of the time, they dont understand the product they are selling.
some dont even purchase their own product

most understand little about 'financial.they sell for the sick of commision