• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Tan Yong Soon "Tio Kan" by Defence Minister Teo Chee Hean

limpeh

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/403473/1/.html

Civil servant rapped over cooking holiday
Posted: 19 January 2009 1754 hrs

Le Cordon Bleu in Paris

SINGAPORE - A senior Singaporean civil servant has been reprimanded for publicising his family's vacation at a top French cooking school when his country is suffering from a recession, a minister said Monday.

"It struck a discordant note during the current difficult economic circumstances when it is especially important to show solidarity and empathy for Singaporeans who are facing uncertainties and hardship," Defence Minister Teo Chee Hean said in parliament.

The civil servant, Tan Yong Soon, wrote early this month in a local newspaper about his family's experience learning to cook at Le Cordon Bleu in Paris.

He said he attended with his wife and son.Tan, permanent secretary at the ministry of environment and water resources, showed "a lack of sensitivity" and poor judgement, the minister said.

The head of the civil service has already spoken to Tan about the matter, the minister added.

"What the civil servant in question, Mr Tan, does during his vacation leave, this is (a) private decision," said Teo, who is also minister in charge of the civil service.

"However, I was disappointed with what he wrote in to The Straits Times."

According to the newspaper, a basic cuisine course at Le Cordon Bleu costs S$15,500. - AFP/vm

No ordinary civil servant - top of the grade Perm Sec, the guys who finalises policy and has no clue what is going on. The words empathy, common sense, decency appears to have no relevance.

This is not poor judgement. The whole world was facing a massive liquidity crunch never seen before. Blue Chip banks were going to the wire, people were losing jobs and he was having the time of his life.

What about the imbecile press?

lockeliberal

Dear Scroobal

Ever taught that it was the press that gave that idiot the rope to hang himself with ? It was insensitive and poor judgement but can u really fire a civil servant for that ? At most some sort of formal censure leading to a pay cut.

Locke

Hope

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/403473/1/.html

Posted: 19 January 2009 1754 hrs

Le Cordon Bleu in Paris

SINGAPORE - A senior Singaporean civil servant has been reprimanded for publicising his family's vacation at a top French cooking school when his country is suffering from a recession, a minister said Monday.

"It struck a discordant note during the current difficult economic circumstances when it is especially important to show solidarity and empathy for Singaporeans who are facing uncertainties and hardship," Defence Minister Teo Chee Hean said in parliament.

The civil servant, Tan Yong Soon, wrote early this month in a local newspaper about his family's experience learning to cook at Le Cordon Bleu in Paris.

He said he attended with his wife and son.Tan, permanent secretary at the ministry of environment and water resources, showed "a lack of sensitivity" and poor judgement, the minister said.

The head of the civil service has already spoken to Tan about the matter, the minister added.

"What the civil servant in question, Mr Tan, does during his vacation leave, this is (a) private decision," said Teo, who is also minister in charge of the civil service.

"However, I was disappointed with what he wrote in to The Straits Times."

According to the newspaper, a basic cuisine course at Le Cordon Bleu costs S$15,500. - AFP/vm
Minister Teo was duty biound to pretent to fuck Mr Tan,his treasured scholar.

Especially the whole Spore whose citizens who have sons serving NS know that Minister Teo was trying to bankrupt the parents of a SAF conscript,by asking them to pay bill of S$130,000.0000000000000000000000000000000000000000,a huge sum for non scholar-SAF soldier.

Was Minister Teo sincere,as one old soldier,I think NOT,but you decide.

angie II

14k8f3p.jpg

"KNN! What i do with my own money is my business!
Like that also Tio Kan!"

countdrac

At least he got balls to say he goes there to have lunch or dinner at a posh French restuarant.....do you have balls to say anything about what you do with yr money.....?

Words are cheap, can we expect some concrete action from Teo Chee Hean to appease all Singaporean who are now suffering and tightening their belt. By saying and not doing anything is as good as endorsing all top Civil Servants crave for extravangant lifestyle out of tax payers money.

The above prove my point that every year, the stat board budget was generously given to the civil servant to spend when it should be tighten to help the poor. No wonder we kept hearing budget deficit in parliament when in fact is due to govt poor planning.

congo9

14k8f3p.jpg

"KNN! What i do with my own money is my business!
Like that also Tio Kan!"

TYS : I spent my own money i also TIO KAN. Lau lee said , it golden period. That why i spent and can prop up the economy. Didnt you ask Singapore to spend ?

TYS : GLC and GIC become santa claus and give out so much money to foreign banks, also BO TAI CHI. I spent a so little of my OWN MONEY also cannot and you must CHASTISE ME in front of the SIngaporean and the whole Nation.

TCH : I chastise you becos i cannot BOMB bard the LEE FAMILY. Becos my salary comes from their pocket. Understand ...............

TYS : but but .........................................

TCH : NO but ...... go out and take off your pants ............. i already ask my secretary to prepare a lot of vaseline.

TYS : :(

Dear Scroobal

Ever taught that it was the press that gave that idiot the rope to hang himself with ? It was insensitive and poor judgement but can u really fire a civil servant for that ? At most some sort of formal censure leading to a pay cut.

Locke
I thought that as well but usually SPH staff will get a warning letter in their file for this kind of thing. I suspect it was a slip as they are paid a premuim to portray this fucking regime in good light.

I would transfer this PS to sit with the Minister without portfolio Lim Boon Heng. That would be punsihment anough.

dupersuper

was teo calling using his diamond encrusted solid gold mobile phone???

the problem is not that he was insensitive.
the problem is that he is dispensable (he even said so himself) but yet still drawing a exceptional tax payer salary.

come on, treat us as more mature than simple green eye monster.

wayangbaobao

stupid Teo don't know ministry of environment and water resources got nothing to do with Singaporeans who are facing uncertainties and hardship.

klongtoeytalk

believe my retriever, his barking is telling me this is another wayang show. even a 3.5yr old dog can smell it.

Erection is cuming!! More wayang show cuming your way.....so vote to your heart's content.

CENWEN

Civil servant rapped over cooking holiday, lack of sensitivity shown

Lack of sensitivity shown<cite class="auth">

Channel NewsAsia - 2 hours 9 minutes ago

</cite>SINGAPORE — A senior Singaporean civil servant has been reprimanded for publicising his family’s vacation at a top French cooking school when his country is suffering from a recession, a minister said Monday.

<!--Vendor: Yahoo, Format: Standard --><script language="javascript"> if(window.yzq_d==null)window.yzq_d=new Object(); window.yzq_d['ezKmt3xsfEo-']='&U=13fbhsq04%2fN%3dezKmt3xsfEo-%2fC%3d658500.12918151.13168046.2013436%2fD%3dLREC%2fB%3d5457825%2fV%3d1'; </script><noscript>
b
</noscript>"It struck a discordant note during the current difficult economic circumstances when it is especially important to show solidarity and empathy for Singaporeans who are facing uncertainties and hardship," Defence Minister Teo Chee Hean said in parliament. The civil servant, Tan Yong Soon, wrote early this month in a local newspaper about his family’s experience learning to cook at Le Cordon Bleu in Paris.

He said he attended with his wife and son. Tan, permanent secretary at the ministry of environment and water resources, showed "a lack of sensitivity" and poor judgement, the minister said. The online community did not pull any punches describing Mr Tan Yong Soon’s article on his family vacation as insensitive. Some even labelled him arrogant. Mr Tan is believed to have spent at least S$45,000 on his holiday in Paris where his family attended a cooking course.

One blogger said: "This is a top civil servant that has clearly lost touch with the realities in Singapore," referring to the current recession. But some Singaporeans Channel NewsAsia spoke to were more sympathetic. Said one man: "It depends on the individual. Some may be jealous because he’s got his own money he can do whatever he wants." "I don’t see any reason why we should criticise what he’s doing because if that is how he wants to spend his money and how he wants to treat his life, that’s how it is," said a lady.

Another man said: "It’s his prerogative but I think the timing is wrong" However one lady added: "I think that the S$45,000 that the whole family used to travel could be put to better use at this time." The head of the civil service has already spoken to Tan about the matter, the minister added. "What the civil servant in question, Mr Tan, does during his vacation leave, this is (a) private decision," said Teo, who is also minister in charge of the civil service.

"However, I was disappointed with what he wrote in The Straits Times." In a statement, Head of the Civil Service Peter Ho said: "He and his colleagues and I feel very bad about this episode because it stands in contrast to the values and ethos of the service and if left unaddressed can undermine the confidence and trust essential for us to do a good job." Mr Tan has so far not replied to queries from Channel NewsAsia. According to the newspaper, a basic cuisine course at Le Cordon Bleu costs S$15,500. — AFP/CNA/vm

Minister Teo was duty biound to pretent to fuck Mr Tan,his treasured scholar.

Especially the whole Spore whose citizens who have sons serving NS know that Minister Teo was trying to bankrupt the parents of a SAF conscript,by asking them to pay bill of S$130,000.0000000000000000000000000000000000000000,a huge sum for non scholar-SAF soldier.

Was Minister Teo sincere,as one old soldier,I think NOT,but you decide.

Yes, but why was he arrowed with the task? After all teo is in the defence ministry. Tan Yong soon is in the PMO. There are already 2 Ministers in the PMO's office. Why don't one of them make the announcement of the reprimand? Better still, why dun Gay Loong do it himself.