• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

No smoking in more public areas from 15 January

Kratos

No smoking in more public areas from 15 January

Posted: 11 January 2013 1342 hrs

display_image.php

(AFP/File - Adek Berry)

SINGAPORE: Smoking will be banned in more public areas, when changes to the law kick in on 15 January to better protect the public from second-hand smoke.

This means smokers will not be able to light up at the common areas of all residential buildings, covered linkways and walkways, overhead pedestrian bridges, outdoor compounds of hospitals, as well as within a five-metre radius of bus shelters.

The National Environment Agency (NEA) will give the public time to get used to the changes.

Those caught smoking in the new areas in the first three months will be let off with a warning.

However, those who keep flouting the law even though they had been warned can be fined up to S$1,000.

NEA has been working with stakeholders to put up signage at places such as staircase landings and lift lobbies. Educational posters will be put up at bus stops.

Bins with ashtrays will be shifted or replaced with bins without ashtrays, and will be moved five metres away.

- CNA/ck

Kratos

Extended smoking ban takes effect

By Ng Lian Cheong | Posted: 15 January 2013 2139 hrs

display_image.php

SINGAPORE: The extended smoking ban in public areas kicked in on Tuesday.

The National Environment Agency (NEA) said it will step up spot checks by about 70 per cent after three months, which is some 8,000 additional hours per month.

In a spot check at Toa Payoh MRT station on Tuesday, seven smokers were caught in an hour for smoking where they were not supposed to.

Smokers are now not allowed to light up at the common areas of all residential buildings, covered linkways and walkways, overhead pedestrian bridges, as well as within a five-metre radius of bus shelters.

For the first three months of the new ban, the NEA said it will take on a more advisory approach.

But come April 15, first time offenders will be fined S$200, while repeat offenders could be fined as much as S$1,000.

Eileen Yap, a NEA inspector, said: "We realise that the public in general are not aware of such bans and the awareness level is not so high in the beginning, so in these three months, NEA will be advising smokers and we'll be working with the community in general to create awareness, so that everyone can have cleaner air."

Smokers hope the NEA will exercise some flexibility when it comes to enforcing the ban.

A smoker, who did not reveal his name, said: "We can't be smoking outside when it's raining or pouring. So they have to fine tune the balance. They probably have to list down under what circumstance it's forgivable, or if there is a second chance, or if not they have to find a solution - a sheltered smoking area for example."

Last year, some 4,000 smokers were caught flouting the rules. This is 800 cases, or 17 per cent less than in 2011.

- CNA/xq

Ash007

Lianbeng, you wonder how much the government gets from smokers or not? And how much the hospital charge for tobacco related illness? You also have to wonder, why they ban perfectly "healthier" alternatives like ecigs as well?

lianbeng wonders why they dun ban tobacco like heroin? 15g is enough to see the noose liao!:biggrin:

lianbeng

Lianbeng, you wonder how much the government gets from smokers or not? And how much the hospital charge for tobacco related illness? You also have to wonder, why they ban perfectly "healthier" alternatives like ecigs as well?

lianbeng also wondering why lor?:rolleyes:tobacco is 1 of the highest revenue source for those chenghoo-lang. why?

Microsoft

Moi suggest...nxt time inside ur own hse oso mus draw yellow box...:biggrin: else will tio orgong...:oIo:

sta1100

Stupid NEA, smoking area at hawker centre. If they want smoking area for smoker area should be outside the hawker centre. half bake policy.

Microsoft

Like that very cham case, smoking also no freedom....

No need, own toilet can what ..in yellow brick road. Kns, that will be the day if kena fine in own rumah. :rolleyes:

pls collect no smoking sign n past outside ur toilet door by 1st July. Nea will contact u for appt to install sensor...:biggrin:

if you dont exhale , would that be considered smoking?

nope moi guess...likewise light up but neber inhale oso not consider smoking...at most...consider as joss-sticking...:p