• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SDP will withdraw.

SgParent

Relax bro. You and your fellow WP members/astroturfers and supporters need to calm down.

Publishing content is all about "always open door".

Don't believe me? Then read what your master has to say.

"A closed-door session that wasn't
147th Prostitute Press, 23 June 2012

ORGANISERS of a post- Hougang election dialogue this week were adamant that the session, featuring Workers' Party chief Low Thia Khiang and People's Action Party MP Baey Yam Keng, was not for reporting.

Before the session started, the National University of Singapore Society (NUSS) reminded the audience that the dialogue was closed-door and that there was to be absolutely no reporting.

The move to keep things under wraps was a curious one, especially at a time of growing interest in Singapore politics.

At any rate, the embargo proved futile. This dialogue on the Hougang by-election evidently had its own 'secret squirrels'.

Within three hours of the session ending late on Thursday night, postings on online forums had reported on the session.

The Workers' Party itself later also saw fit to put up photos and the transcript of Mr Low's speech at the event on Facebook and Twitter - which some netizens quickly picked up as well.

Mr Low himself was overheard saying after the closed-door forum: 'For me, I am always open door.'

I think you'd mistaken me from somebody else.

I am pro true pink Singaporeans FIRST, anti White Scums second. Dun think there is a "WP" in there.

AhFook

In a market with a monopoly that has absolute control over just about everything, you expect a small play to change the way the game is played?

alamak, at least disengage for their silent mode and open their mouth lor, issue a statement etc, at least shows that they care and concern on all these issues affecting the average sinkies... NOT shut the fuck up and sit down when told.

metalmickey

No wonder you refused to answer my question. It's because you are confused.

Ok let me make it simpler for you.

SDP's screwing around only means the 40% market has some sort of competition - cannibalization between WP, SDP. So the 40% are given a choice, and they benefited.

Looking at the bigger picture, the Oppo cause or the 100%. The White Scums' rear admirer nobody-before-PE2013 is almost guaranteed a win. So SDP's screwing around does more harm because the monopoly is still there. There is not competition in the 100% market. And the 100% lose out.

Got it?

You want to know what's childish?

Childish is when you can say 40% of the people benefit, 100% of the people lose out, and you don't realise that 40% and 100% don't add up to 100%, and you still want to call other people confused.

Childish is when somebody else (not me) gives you a counterexample, and you spin an extremely convoluted story to show that you are "still right".

Fook Seng

There is a small but significant difference. Without the SDP joining, the WP has a small but significant chance of winning. With the SDP joining, that chance is basically zero.

SGParent asked me a question he thinks has an obvious answer: are SDP's antics good for the opposition cause? Suppose SDP contests. They they get raped and lose their deposit. Then they have to fold because they have no credibility, and 2016 takes place with SDP no longer being a credible force. Good or bad?

Or in a 3 corner fight, what if WP and SDP both get 25%. Then we have 2 strong opposition parties for 2016. Good or bad?

You can say that when WP and SDP are not fighting for a seat anymore, this by-election is not important to them. I say think about it this way: This by-election has turned into a report card. This report card could be ultimately more important than one seat.

Honestly speaking, we need as many opposition members in parliament as possible. What is important is not how loud the voice is but how many would-be voices are there.

How really loud are these PAP voices in parliament? Not very loud. In fact a fair number are missing most of the time. And even if they are there, they could be silent. Compared to them, WP MPs are relatively vocal. Each usually has some questions to ask according to the specialization assigned to him. LTK seldom speaks nowadays because I believe he was assigned nothing. I guess if it is a question regarding his party he will speak up.

But when it comes to something that needs a vote, all these PAP voices will come across loud and clear and no opposition can block that decision. Unless that number exceeds one-third, then they can block some decisions but only the game changing ones. Today they are totally at the PAP's mercy.

The PAP can change things equivalent to not having to have any election. Although it might appear incredible, the power of the PM to decide whether to have a BE is very good example. You don't think it is possible for them to do away with General Elections every five years altogether? How about no need for GE if there is no referendum asking for it? Still democratic. Right? Except that it is very difficult to demonstrate it. Why are they not doing it? Because they fear the people. Even the 60.1% dafts, with the possible exception of our entertaining bro (or sis) Kinana, will object to this.

But today, they have the power to merge an SMC with a GRC without feeling great remorse because they know any misgiving of the voters will dissipate in the next five years and be totally forgotten. So don't say a single seat lost to the PAP for the opposition is nothing. It could be a single seat lost forever.

If SDP does not harm another party's seat while gaining its own, then they should be in parliament. But on the other hand, if they are just playing zero sum games, taking over somebody else's seats, then I rather they be replaced by a new party that can advance the Opposition cause of gaining one-third representation in parliament in the shortest time and eventually to a simple majority.

I don't think any party, opposition or the PAP should aim for more than two-third majority. Not only is it too greedy, it is not ethical as this clause is there to protect the rights of the minority. In a commercial contract, the equivalent clause is what is called the super-minority clause where the minority has a veto right.

I also want to challenge the PAP's concept of the parliament being a two sided debate: the ruling party versus the opposition. It should be a place where the best ideas should come from the whole parliamentary body itself especially when the majority margin gets closer to zero. You cannot just ignore the wishes of that large number of people. If such a parliamentary working were there in the first place, we would not have got into so many policy mishaps in recent years.

Fook Seng

In politics, you can also vote (buy) who you want to vote.

In a market, only you (1 vote) buy product A (candidate A) while all the other consumers buy product B to Z. Probably you will only get to buy product A once before it is off the shelf forever.

That will and have been the case in market with a monopoly. Example, Microsoft.

With due respect this is stretching an argument to appear not to have lost it. If you think this type of market is better than the normal ones, why don't you suggest to the Fairprices, Cold Storages and Sheng Siongs of Singapore all to adopt this?

SgParent

OK. Translation: in this particular case, more competition has caused the consumer to lose out. Case closed!

I think you also have reading problem. Or something more serious.

Please get some professional help. You can definitely stop replying to me because I will not be able to help you.

moolightaffairs

1 hour ago I said that SDP are not going to lose their deposit in a 3 corner fight.

Then I saw this:

http://www.singapolitics.sg/news/sdp-proposes-joint-campaign-wp

So the good news is that it made me laugh and make my day.
The bad news is that I have to revise my statement that SDP will not lose their deposit in a 3 corner fight.

My earlier post that SDP were fapfapfapfapfaping away has proven to be eeriely accurate.

omg!!! u become mp and other party manage the town council for u??? wah!!! u walk in front barefooted and others gotta carry your shoes for you? SDP really making voters giving up on them. i vote for u, u become my MP and got prob ask u. u ask me to as WP as they manage the town council? who would want to do for u??? wah really face palm! SDP really gone looney after Chee come back to take charge.

metalmickey

I also want to challenge the PAP's concept of the parliament being a two sided debate: the ruling party versus the opposition. It should be a place where the best ideas should come from the whole parliamentary body itself especially when the majority margin gets closer to zero. You cannot just ignore the wishes of that large number of people. If such a parliamentary working were there in the first place, we would not have got into so many policy mishaps in recent years.

Too bad we have the British system, where the party who has the majority of parliament is also the party who forms the government cabinet. This is opposed to the American system where you directly elect the president, then the president appoints the cabinet, and sometimes one party has the president and the other party has parliament.

The Singapore parliament has always worked on a supermajority. The downside is that nobody will check the parliament if it makes a mistake. The upside is that decisions get made fast and with a minimum of fuss. I have never been in a situation where the parliament takes too long to make a decision and I honestly don't know if it's a simple decision.

Going back to the issue of the SDP - WP communications, I once thought that SDP was using the communications as a bluff to cover their backsides in the event of a three corner fight. I once thought that the spectre of a three corner fight was just a negotiating tactic. I did try to speak up for them and highlight some of the better things they did in the past.

I could not have imagined that they were so stupid to believe that it was possible for the WP to stand aside and let the SDP have a straight fight with the PAP.

http://www.singapolitics.sg/news/sdp-proposes-joint-campaign-wp

dredd

Chee, our resident anal-lyst GMS and the birdman professor can run a campaign together.

It will be interesting to see the looney antics that come out - one will go on hunger strike, one will talk cock sing song and be a media prostitute and one will teach his bird to say "fark you".

SgParent

alamak, at least disengage for their silent mode and open their mouth lor, issue a statement etc, at least shows that they care and concern on all these issues affecting the average sinkies... NOT shut the fuck up and sit down when told.

Ok I think with that, I can better understand where you are coming from.

Yes, sometimes I also feel that WP could, should and must be more vocal, cover more topics. But then again, with only 6+2 of them, they dun even have enough to assign 1 person to each ministry. The good thing is, with 6+2 now, I can see some of them are slowly focusing onto 1 or 2 specific areas. So maybe they just need more time?

PTADER

No doubt that WP is a more Chinese speaking place than SDP, PAP or even NSP.

How will WP hope to appeal to a more Malay place like Joo Chiat? Is this why they left Marine Parade to NSP? They are in the East which is more Malay. Do you think that LTK has changed his mind on the minorities in the meantime?

Let's just say my comrades and I continue to have access to information. You can't be in party for decades and not have a network.

How do you explain Pritam Singh? Aljunied was required to have 1 minority. It now has two.

It was intended to showcase Low's "commitment" to "multiracism" and "multiculturalism". An overcompensation if you will. It succeeded in pulling the Malay and Indian conditional votes. But the Malays and Indians have woken up to what the Workers Party under Low is all about. Don't take my word for it. Ask around.

You have the recordings? Why talk about the recordings if you don't intend to actually leak them out on youtube?

My old colleagues and I are getting by in age. We wanted to let bygones be bygones. If Singaporeans did indeed want a party led by the likes of Low to succeed, it was really up to them. However, we have observed that the WP SAPS half-brains, WP racists and WP "Guess the Race' bigots and Chinese chauvinists and supporters have clearly been emboldened by Low's electoral success. Their breathtaking arrogance and racial bigotry, if left unchecked, points to a troubled future for Singapore. This is not what the WP of the past under JBJ fought for or why some of us went to prison for.

We will start uploading all the documents and recordings we cleared from the office sometime in early/mid 2001 when LTK succeeded, to the joy of Lee Kuan Yew, in stabbing the back of his hated nemesis, JB Jeyaratnam. BTW, this is why you don't see the Singapore Prostitute Press harping on this as they have done so, on and on and on, along with and to the joy of the WP members, supporters and astroturfers, about CSJ and CST.

If you have attended the Low's WP rallies, you would have heard this low life, opportunistically and shamelessly, invoking the name of JBJ during his election speeches. Shameless may be too mild a word to describe this low life.

SgParent

With due respect this is stretching an argument to appear not to have lost it. If you think this type of market is better than the normal ones, why don't you suggest to the Fairprices, Cold Storages and Sheng Siongs of Singapore all to adopt this?

Sorry I am lost. Which of your comment is replying to which of mine?

Fairprice, Cold Storage, Sheng Shiong? The super/hypermarket scene? What did I say make you touch on that?

watchman8

I think you also have reading problem. Or something more serious.

Please get some professional help. You can definitely stop replying to me because I will not be able to help you.
I realized the same recently. That's why I stopped engaging this chap. Either crazy or another PAP IB using new tricks.

metalmickey

I realized the same recently. That's why I stopped engaging this chap. Either crazy or another PAP IB using new tricks.

Go and read what Ptader wrote in post 189. If there is proof, then he will publicise it. In any case, I will not comment any further on Low Thia Khiang's alleged racist attitude.

PTADER

Out of the blue right before a by election, an anonymous post on sammyboy says he is a racist, and you choose to believe. Are you that gullible?

You must be fairly young and not know the existence of scs (where GMS used to post as MADCOW) or the old sammyboy forum if you think this is "out of the blue".

By the way, try to connect the dots about WP Vincent Sear's post about my "anonymity".

Ref: http://www.sammyboy.com/showthread.php?112041-Are-we-obsessed-with-Goh-Meng-Seng/page3

PTader has cooled down since me and LTK talked to him in no uncertain terms.

PTADER

Thanks for your clarification. I've always thought you were a member of an ethnic minority, from Delfi days. Now I know where you're coming from.

Someone needs to stand up for the Malay and Indian minorities against the racial bigotry of these WP SAPS' half-brains, WP racists and WP "Guess the Race' bigots. I don't want to take the credit for being the only Chinese to do so. There are others and I am thankful and grateful to them for defending and speaking up for the minorities against these bigots.

The problem for these WP racial bigots is that they can never believe that a Chinese would stand up, speak up and fight for the Malays, Indians or Eurasian minorities.

So when I take these bigots on and speak up in defence of the minorities, these WP chauvinists and bigots start foaming and frothing at their mouths and resort to their thoroughly racist and offensive labels of "shit skin", "m&d" etc to describe me because they think I must be either a Malay or an Indian.

And these are the people who are behind the WP (and who the WP happily relies upon for their votes) who are, no doubt, emboldened by the WP's electoral success, and who think they can actually treat the minorities with disrespect, absolute contempt and total disdain and with impunity.

My message to these WP racial bigots is : We will take you on.

PTADER

Both these two scenarios are the least probable of all the scenarios. Scenario A - WP has a bigger obligation to its 41% supporters than SDP to stand for election...

As I said, you WP folks need to relax and calm down. If it is your "41% supporters", you will not have to worry about the SDP or anyone stealing any of your precious "41% supporters". Your "41% supporters" will stick with you and the SDP will be lose their deposits and be wiped out if they can't get any votes from the Desmond Lim's or PAP's camp.

WP chaps like you and your ilk have bragged and continue to brag that you all welcome competition. Competition, you all say, will help to establish, once and for all, the WP's dominance and show the other parties who is big, big boss. In the next breath, you WP folks start whinging when other parties want to contest. If you WP chaps are so confident, why are there flip-flops, fear and confusion about your stand and your "dominant" position?

Surely, you cannot be living in Lala land to not know that the conditional support you were given in Aljunied by the minorities is no longer there. And you must know that you will not win PE in a straight fight without the support of the minorities. So why the angst? Is that because, despite the outward bravado and proclamations of your "dominance", you fear the embarrassment if the SDP or anyone else showed the WP up?

Get a grip on yourselves.