• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Bukit Indah - The Address

tonto

Hi marineblue911,

Congratulations! Finally got the keys. Is your completion 6 months ahead of schedule? I noticed that the guards were patrolling more rigorously on Saturday, maybe coz more people going in and out. Did Setia tell you how much is the maintenance? Renovating the house to convert it to a home is fun. I also like the playground and garden, but I feel its a tad small considering that its being shared by so many units.

marineblue911

Thks! Its been a great journey. No surprises, all went very smoothly. Completion is actually on the dot according to their official website. So far, I noticed they are quite accurate on their promises.

The maintenance is abt RM350 I think for 6 mths. I cant quite remember cos they just asked me to pay a lump sum for alot of stuff like TNB deposit, taxes, etc. I remember thinking it was quite reasonable when the Setia Customer Relations lady explained it to me.

The garden is ok I guess. Of course bigger would be better...even better would be a club house! That would be nice eg gym and function hall.

Now the main thing is to get the house ready for year end sch hols where we can move in for the sch hols. Any folks here got gardening and grass planting contacts? Appreciate your help.

Thks

Hi marineblue911,

Congratulations! Finally got the keys. Is your completion 6 months ahead of schedule? I noticed that the guards were patrolling more rigorously on Saturday, maybe coz more people going in and out. Did Setia tell you how much is the maintenance? Renovating the house to convert it to a home is fun. I also like the playground and garden, but I feel its a tad small considering that its being shared by so many units.

marineblue911

Nicely said. I guess its transparent when the project is marketed. Some folks go for a standard look and feel. Some like to be creative. There are different projects available in JB to suit everyone. Even bare bungalow plots for the truly adventurous and imaginative. Some of the designs are actually quite cool at LF and LH.

I guess we being humans will always comform with certain norms but yet always individualistic and unique.

wow! thats some extensive work.... must be very cash rich to do cement work like those... however house with different looks and color theme kinda spoil the entire look of the taman eh?

QUOTE]

I guess it depends on which side of the fence one is on. I had the same thoughts initially when I saw some 8th avenue houses looking so different from their original facade. For those who can get peeved about neighbour's changes to their house facade affecting the whole look of the taman, then its better to get strata titled or Deed of Mutual Consent (think I read this somewhere in NI thread) not to change colour scheme or facade.

Upon learning that my development is not strata titled, I resigned myself to it and looked at it from a freedom of expression perspective. I traded conformity for freedom, think thats not a bad deal. Maybe its age. I am more open to differences and can respect others' choices better, even though it might not reflect my own taste and preferences. So when my friend commented that one house in The Jade painted their main gate purple (and there was a purple house in an older taman near the BI water tanks), I just shrugged and thought its their house and as long as they like it, thats good enough. Coming from living in a HDB where alot of things cannot be changed, having the freedom to do what one likes to one's home feels quite refreshing at times.

tonto

If budget and regulation permits, I hope I can do something like this. Sis ichin gave me an indicative quote before, so I am hoping I can reduce it a fair bit by doing less. May have the glass side face the garden (mine is not corner unit, so was hoping the rooftop height can grant me that view and a 'city' view of AEON/Jusco in the distance), and that means I might 'spy' on marineblue911 and tutucake's The Coral he he he. If I really get it done, will surely invite you two for a roof terrace party :cool:, of course also Sis ichin for floating that idea earlier on.

RT1.jpgRT2.jpg

tutucake

wow! thats some extensive work.... must be very cash rich to do cement work like those... however house with different looks and color theme kinda spoil the entire look of the taman eh?

QUOTE]

I guess it depends on which side of the fence one is on. I had the same thoughts initially when I saw some 8th avenue houses looking so different from their original facade. For those who can get peeved about neighbour's changes to their house facade affecting the whole look of the taman, then its better to get strata titled or Deed of Mutual Consent (think I read this somewhere in NI thread) not to change colour scheme or facade.

Upon learning that my development is not strata titled, I resigned myself to it and looked at it from a freedom of expression perspective. I traded conformity for freedom, think thats not a bad deal. Maybe its age. I am more open to differences and can respect others' choices better, even though it might not reflect my own taste and preferences. So when my friend commented that one house in The Jade painted their main gate purple (and there was a purple house in an older taman near the BI water tanks), I just shrugged and thought its their house and as long as they like it, thats good enough. Coming from living in a HDB where alot of things cannot be changed, having the freedom to do what one likes to one's home feels quite refreshing at times.

Hey, don't get me wrong... I'm perfectly fine with neighbors renovating the house anyway they like to... I'm just comparing in the perspective of having a uniformed look in the whole taman over a "rojak" look.... Obviously it's more pleasing to the eyes if it's uniformed.

I myself is likely to extend my frontal...so u know, i was just making a harmless comparison comment. :smile:

tonto

Hey, don't get me wrong... I'm perfectly fine with neighbors renovating the house anyway they like to... I'm just comparing in the perspective of having a uniformed look in the whole taman over a "rojak" look.... Obviously it's more pleasing to the eyes if it's uniformed.

I myself is likely to extend my frontal...so u know, i was just making a harmless comparison comment. :smile:

Hi tutucake,

I not so sensitive la, so no worries. I think 'rojak' look taman will need some getting used to. Thats why I always look at Singapore houses (mostly rojak unless its new) to psyche myself for it. Some have pretty cool designs. Are you extending your ground or 1st floor? If you got good contractor, can share contact and cost to extend? I might also want to extend my 1st floor master bedroom to use up the balcony space if I have a roof top terrace. But I suspect I might need to reinforce my foundation/structure to do so.

tutucake

Hi tutucake,

I not so sensitive la, so no worries. I think 'rojak' look taman will need some getting used to. Thats why I always look at Singapore houses (mostly rojak unless its new) to psyche myself for it. Some have pretty cool designs. Are you extending your ground or 1st floor? If you got good contractor, can share contact and cost to extend? I might also want to extend my 1st floor master bedroom to use up the balcony space if I have a roof top terrace. But I suspect I might need to reinforce my foundation/structure to do so.

i'll probably extend just the grd floor....i understand that 1st floor will be quite expensive if wanna go concrete slab roof....
will share contacts if i have any...

tutucake

Hi marineblue911,

What i last checked with Setia, our taman will have 2 playgrounds....there is one more behind the grass patch behind the Jade... not sure if it's true.... shall take a look on saturday...

marineblue911

Just an update and some info for bros n sis yet to collect keys and the VP inspection.

I went in to my unit today to do the VP inspection to pass to Setia for their rectification. According to them, the first rectification list needs to be handed over to them within 14 days.

Lots of contractors popped by and gave me instant quotes on grills, autogates, kitchens etc. Prices generally high.

I was doing my rectification list which is quite short except for mainly window problems like overly tight or loose windows, squeaks, etc. Then a friend popped by and we went Sutera for lunch. At abt 12 plus, it really started to pour and rain. Real heavy stuff with lightning n thunder.

Finally abated at abt 2pm to a drizzle. Went back to Zone 7 and saw that its was truly on high ground as lots of rain water and m&d from the construction flowed down and across the main Bukit Indah road. Took the opportunity to try to check for water tightness of windows, etc.

Ground floor all ok. Went up to second floor and found the entire second floor covered in abt 3 cm of water! The water was starting to seep down the top step of the stairs. I thought the roof was leaking or that a window was left open mistakenly by me. A quick check established that the source of the water ingress is actually the front MBR balcony door!!

Apparantly the rainwater drain at the balcony is totally choked and the overflow pipe (to flow extra rainwater that the drain cannot flow off the carporch) was also choked. Then the water 'ponded' and flowed into the MBR and into the entire second floor.

I hurried started to push as much water as I can into the toilets. The MBR toilet was also flooded to the max as that drain there could not cope with the heavy flow. I called Setia mainline and they transferred to the Customer Relationship team and they told me they will send help. However, due to the lightning strikes during the rainstorm, they cannot call me back. I told them just to hurry! I was truly desperate.

I then opened the balcony door cos I wanted to see if there is just some simple debris or paper blocking the drain which i can then remove. Bad idea. The water from the balcony rushed in somemore! I quickly stole a glance at the drain to see if its blocked but saw it was clear. I hurried shut the door and went back to shuffling as much water as possible into the toilets cos I did not want the water to start seeping downstairs.

By now, the rain thankfully has lessened to a light drizzle and a Setia site supervisor arrived after about 10min. He and his staff saw the flood and quickly got a large pail and started bailing water off the car porch. So we all did this for abt 15 mins till the water level receded from the balcony door and we could talk abt solving the problem.

He called the main contractor and plumber and they arrived in another 10 mins and started working to clearing the choke. Apparantly some errant worker has washed cement into both the balcony drain and somehow also got into the overflow pipe of the car porch. Some more Setia guys came with brooms and mops to help dry up.

Generally its a big shock and I should be upset, but actually I am quite impressed with Setia for at least being fast and prompt to send help. If they truly just delayed sending the site supervisor by an hour and I m sure my entire ground floor would be also wet. The bailing with the large pail saved the day.

I also then left the guys to the work and passed my main door key to the site supervisor and went to Setia office to submit my defects list with an additional defect. :smile:

Setia told me they will rectify all including the choked drains and will call me when done. They will then hold the main door key once rectification is done. They will also test the drain that was choked in my presence to ensure it is ok.

All in all, the recovery was good and reassuring. A few take aways: Do check the drainage internally and externally. Also I would really recommend changing the main lock once all reno/rectification is done as the key is passed to many folks i guess. So for peace of mind, just change the actual lock barrel of the main door. It should be just a couple of dollars. Those with computer drilled keys would be about 30-50 bucks.

I guess the good thing is this happened before I moved in. Hahahaha.

Cheers

Metaphor

Hi Tonto,

I didn't know that there are D'verde and D'jardine show units behind that kite-flying open space. I thought the show units are at Setia's office only?

tonto

Wow that was really some 'adventure'. I can totally relate to your panic as that happened to me before, just that it was a drain blocked by fallen leaves that made my balcony flood and all the water went into the living room and bedrooms. Fortunately there was nothing in the apartment except maybe a used mattress that had to be discarded due to soaking too long in the water.

It is a good thing that the rain happened, otherwise you would know too late and more damage is done. That neighbour in The Jade who extended his MBR balcony also made an extra hole on the side so that in case the main drain is blocked for whatever reason, water can still flow out from the side wall down to his carporch.

On a side note, I think you will 'huat ah' as water a.k.a. wealth come in abundance to your home :biggrin: (can PM me four numbers to buy 4D or 6 numbers for the $3m TOTO?)

marineblue911

Wow that was really some 'adventure'. I can totally relate to your panic as that happened to me before, just that it was a drain blocked by fallen leaves that made my balcony flood and all the water went into the living room and bedrooms. Fortunately there was nothing in the apartment except maybe a used mattress that had to be discarded due to soaking too long in the water.

It is a good thing that the rain happened, otherwise you would know too late and more damage is done. That neighbour in The Jade who extended his MBR balcony also made an extra hole on the side so that in case the main drain is blocked for whatever reason, water can still flow out from the side wall down to his carporch.

On a side note, I think you will 'huat ah' as water a.k.a. wealth come in abundance to your home :biggrin: (can PM me four numbers to buy 4D or 6 numbers for the $3m TOTO?)

Hahaha. Yup, I dun feel too bad. Just glad that Setia on the ground team is so responsive and reassuring. Will definitely look at the rectifications to ensure it cannot happen again. I guess a nice 4D would be 0910? :smile:

Huat aaaah!

Jevil

Huat aaaah!!! Huat aaaah!!! Huat aaaah!!!

Hahaha. Yup, I dun feel too bad. Just glad that Setia on the ground team is so responsive and reassuring. Will definitely look at the rectifications to ensure it cannot happen again. I guess a nice 4D would be 0910? :smile:

Huat aaaah!

tonto

Hi Tonto,

I didn't know that there are D'verde and D'jardine show units behind that kite-flying open space. I thought the show units are at Setia's office only?

I think those at Setia office are models only no? The ones behind the kite-flying open space is not really a show unit per se. They are actual units built on the actual site, just that they have one fully completed unit of d'Verde and d'Jardine each (bare unit without interior design). I would imagine if you want to view, Setia office staff will bring you to the site to see it. I just happen to be around and its not gated (under construction), so I just went in. It is afterall a construction site, so still safer to be escorted.

They have something similar in zone 7's Arte, Belleza and Cadenza. Maybe it could also be like a 'sample' so that the contractor know what is expected when they built it, like which wall paint what color, tile, etc.

tonto

Huat aaaah!

Bought small only. Big one quota ran out for tonight's draw...Huat ah!!!!

tutucake

Checked my Coral unit yesterday during the heavy rain.... surprisingly, no defects at all.... 95% of the tiles are solid...only 5% have empty sound at the corner of the tile....
checked the ceiling, no water marks...hope that means no roof leakage.... windows and doors all opens and closes properly... just that the window knob is made of plastic... thats kinda duh~

other than that, it only minor issues of small holes in between the grout....

all in all, im satisfied... bagus!

potter

Checked my Coral unit yesterday during the heavy rain.... surprisingly, no defects at all.... 95% of the tiles are solid...only 5% have empty sound at the corner of the tile....
checked the ceiling, no water marks...hope that means no roof leakage.... windows and doors all opens and closes properly... just that the window knob is made of plastic... thats kinda duh~

tutucake 哥哥, dun forget to verify yr 2nd floor toilets floors whether waterproofed.

marineblue911

Thats great! They have rectified my unit from what i can see. They work quite fast. But the official Setia inspection will be done only when they are satisfied. So they will send out an official letter stating that what we listed has been rectified and can be inspected. Glad to know that they have a proper process for everything. Its not just phone calls, or ad hoc visits.

Anyway, water meters are already in so you can turn on water anytime depending on the Setia sub contractor's availability. YOu need to be around when they turn on so that they can test all the taps, etc for you. The subcon only works on Tues, Thur and Sat! So you can book the water turn on.

TNB still no show..... hahahahha.

I saw a Coral inter unit with a 'For rent/sale' sign already! :smile: