• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Tai Chong Kok Mooncakes....

I went to Taka and bought the TaiChongKok moon-cakes. They are still very good. The double egg yokes however were a bit dry. The dark lotus paste is still good but too sweet. The baked skin is still okay, but I think it's a bit different from the past. Overall assessment not bad lah.

The I saw a stall called Chinatown TaiChongKok mooncakes. I discovered that the iconic and traditional TaiChongKok carrier bag ( brown paper with big words in red ) was not there! The package is different. The packing is different.But the mooncakes look almost the same.

Is there a faked TaiChongKok going around? If it is so, why are they doing such thing? Business rivalry? I know TaiChongKok mooncakes is a must in most households,esp for the elderly uncles and aunties.

Do you think TaiChongKok mooncakes is the BEST in town? Thank You.

bushtucker

few imitations of taichongkok around. just like that hongkong street zhen ji.

I sincerely think some hotel mooncakes taste better than any original/imitation taichongkok mooncake.

don't fall for the hype of branding.

Hotel mooncakes are the best. Excellent quality control, and they don't skimp on ingredients.

I tried the durian mooncake by summer palace from peoney jade ? Not bad. The chepadak mooncake is really heavenly!!!

One durian mooncake is about $20.....one chepadak mooncake is about $14 !!! For those who really want to try something different. Goodwood Hotel yam mooncake is another good one!

The only thing I like about mooncakes is that they were used by Zhang Wuji and the Ming sect in Heaven Sword and Dragon Sabre to pass secret messages in their uprising against the Mongol rulers.

PS: I make this comment every year about this time, in this forum. :biggrin:

wendychan

used to eat tai chong kok "piglets" every year.
since last year, no longer in the loop and been deprived

erection2015

Alfrescian (InfP) + C
like the mooncake and like the show too.

The only thing I like about mooncakes is that they were used by Zhang Wuji and the Ming sect in Heaven Sword and Dragon Sabre to pass secret messages in their uprising against the Mongol rulers.

shelltox

Hotel mooncakes are the best. Excellent quality control, and they don't skimp on ingredients.

Maxim from Hongkong still thebest so far。 can test real lotus。Tai zhong kok didnt keep up with time, i doubt they use pure lotus paste to make the moon cake。

Back then mooncake shops like Tai Zhong Kok only open shop for 2 months per year....they along with old names like Tai Thong and Tai Dong are the market leaders....now nowhere to be seen liao.
Those iconic brown paper carriers were actually status symbols back then.
Do people still go over to JB to buy moon cakes now? Was a popular practice some years back...and the JB confectionery shops advertise here.

chupacabra

Not an expert on mooncakes but they all taste the same to me. Always get loads of it from food suppliers, different brands, different wrappings but same taste to me. Same same like other kuih kuih. But Im not a fan of cakes and kuih anyway. Given a choice I like the one with eggy inside. But 1 is enough to last my tastebuds for a whole year.

roadrunner

Tried the ones at Raffles Hotel several years ago. Seepay best!

is the Raffles price also Seepay the Best boh? :biggrin: best one i've ever eaten was someone brought one tin back from HongKong last time, forgot the brand name liao, usually kena the 'housewife' cake which nobody eats but the mooncake was gone in less than a minute, i turn my back & the whole tin kosong liao! :eek:

Slightly more than others but still worth it. It's baru once a year.

Fook Seng

Zheng Wuji was never involved in any of these in history. His side-kick, Zhu Yuan Zhang, was the mastermind behind what took place.