• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Tan Chuan Jin implores Singaporeans to work ‘smarter’

[h=2]Tan Chuan Jin implores Singaporeans to work ‘smarter’[/h]Posted by temasektimes on August 9, 2012

Though Singaporeans work the most number of hours a week to earn a living, they are still not working ‘smart’ enough, said Acting Minister for Manpower Tan Chuan Jin.

Speaking at the Ministry of Manpower’s National Day observance ceremony on Wednesday, Mr Tan called on Singaporeans to work ‘smart’:
“We all know that we work many hours in Singapore, and that’s something that we ought to look at — whether we can be more efficient in the way we work, to work smart,” the acting minister said.

Mr Tan also urged Singaporeans to eradicate poor working habits without elaborating more on what they are:

“Personally, I think there are a lot of poor work habits, so we end up actually working longer than we need to. But, those are things that we can eradicate. Volume of work is one part.”

He added that Singapore must continue to attract foreign companies and ‘skilled labor’.

I agree with him. You guys are pretty fucked up when it comes to work ethic. Too much "wayang" eg staying late but not actually doing anything productive.

I remember getting stuck in a meeting many years ago and when I finally stepped out at about 6.30 pm, all my sinkie staff were still "hard at work" at their desks.

I said goodbye to all and drove out of the factory and parked out of sight just beyond the exit. 3 minutes later, they all started leaving. I waved at each of them as they drove or walked past. It was great fun seeing the look on their faces.

I agree with him. You guys are pretty fucked up when it comes to work ethic. Too much "wayang" eg staying late but not actually doing anything productive.

I agree with you on this. There is no shame in leaving before the boss, especially if you're done for the day.

... “Personally, I think there are a lot of poor work habits, so we end up actually working longer than we need to. But, those are things that we can eradicate. Volume of work is one part.” ...
wat sh*t is tis? ... :rolleyes:

got 1 time last time @ my coy, 1 idiot svp comprained 2 his colleagues dat staffs in my dept all cannot b found after 6pm wen ze woking hrs was until 5:45pm oni ... nidless 2 say, dat idiot svp has n abundans of poor wok habits ...

steffychun

wat sh*t is tis? ... :rolleyes:

got 1 time last time @ my coy, 1 idiot svp comprained 2 his colleagues dat staffs in my dept all cannot b found after 6pm wen ze woking hrs was until 5:45pm oni ... nidless 2 say, dat idiot svp has n abundans of poor wok habits ...

Minister for deadpower

I remember getting stuck in a meeting many years ago and when I finally stepped out at about 6.30 pm, all my sinkie staff were still "hard at work" at their desks.

I said goodbye to all and drove out of the factory and parked out of sight just beyond the exit. 3 minutes later, they all started leaving. I waved at each of them as they drove or walked past. It was great fun seeing the look on their faces.

They learned from PAP - action without substance.

jiangrenhua

we also need to change the mindsets of some dumbassed employers too.

they too think that working longer means more productivity!!

If he himself worked smarter, he wouldn't have had to lament that he didn't have enough time to watch his children grow up. :rolleyes:

bullfrog

How does a kopi auntie work smarter? How does a cleaner work smarter? How does a bus captain work smarter?

So, isnt he talking cock? Again, living in ivory towers.

Fishypie

For aLL i know, now staffs in aLL our Statutory Boards/CiviL services are working v smart..they prompt you with muLtipLe options from 1-9, then Leave you with voice maiLs that they never seem to repLy..:(:eek:

The fcuking gall of someone who has never been in the private sector, it tells a lot about how naive he really is.
In the military, I guess one can work smart, simply by saying YES SIR or HOW HIGH, SIR when to told to jump.