• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why was Kwa Geok Choo so nice to him

I suggest you "shutteth uppeth" until you learn to use the gift called thinking.

20050818-how-about-a-nice-cup-of-shut-the-fuck-up.jpg

How about everyone just ignore voidable, who's obviously a newly registered shill?

Miss Ow Yang,

so what you left home at 18? big deal... many here already working way b4 18yo to lighten the burden of the family. It a fact your lao pek work for L&L and L&L had earn fee in a questionable way. So while you lao pek a "honest" man but he work for a not so honest firm. So income already tainted and the money earned went to feed your siblings and you till 18yo. whether u like it or not, u were fed with money that should not have been taken away from the hdb dwellers. The fact you can live a carefree life without worries to your parents livelihoods was because your lao pek are flushed with $$ earned from hdb deals. so dont BS u never gain from your lao pek. independent from your lao pek my arse!!

M

Mdm Tang

Monthly and Yearly Income leh ???

Any extra eggs throw in by the Cha Kway Teow hawker ???

M

Mdm Tang

if Mdm Kwa were to interview me and i hired as

a office boy at L n L ; i would work 24 hours a day .

@ salary 50 % discount to market.

M

Mdm Tang

http://bible.org/seriespage/living-while-you-live-ecclesiastes-91-12

Solomon concludes in Eccl 9:12 with these powerful words: “Moreover, man does not know his time: like fish caught in a treacherous net and birds trapped in a snare, so the sons of men are ensnared at an evil380 time when it suddenly falls on them.” Unfortunately, man does not often recognize this truth. We live as if we are the master of our own fate, the captain of our soul. How foolish we are! Rather than the master of our fate, we are more like little fish. We swim along, minding our own business, and suddenly we are snatched up by a net…and there is absolutely nothing that we can do about it! Time, chance, and death catch one unexpectedly, like a trap, and there is no escape. When the trap has closed, any opportunity to enjoy life is over. Just stop for a moment and think about it: What will we do if our heart or lungs fails us? What can we do if we contract a fatal disease? What can we do if we lose our job or our business? What will we do if a child dies or if a spouse leaves us? Sooner or later, we will all find out that our present existence and future destiny belong to the Lord alone. So have a blast while you last.

In a sense, this verse is a microcosm of the whole book of Ecclesiastes. So much of life is enigmatic and fails to conform to the rules we have learned. We’ve been taught that if you want to succeed you have to compete and be aggressive, get up earlier, go to bed later, put in more hours, do unto them before they do unto you. But, says Solomon, it doesn’t always work that way. Nothing is guaranteed. This is how life is, but we shouldn’t despair nor should we quit aiming to be swift, strong, wise, brilliant and learned. We should, however, quit thinking that life owes us anything, or, for that matter, that God owes us anything under the sun. Now if you talk about the long run, that’s a different story. Even Solomon says in 8:12: “Although a wicked man commits a hundred crimes and still lives a long time, I know that it will go better with God-fearing men, who are reverent before God.” But in the meantime, often it will seem that time and chance play a bigger part in our lives than God’s providence.

You play the board game Monopoly. You buy railroads and place hotels on Park Place and Boardwalk. You pass “Go” and collect $200. Everyone has fun. Then the game ends, and all the hotels, all the colorful tokens, and all the funny money go back into the box. Solomon, who held an empire much less plastic, would tell us that whether you build in plastic or gold it’s all the same. Build the temple, extend a dynasty, even write three God-inspired books—in the end, it all goes back in the box.381 Likewise, life is short. You and I are going to die. Stop and ask yourself, “What really matters? How do I want to be remembered? What do I want others to say about me?” And then make a commitment to have a blast while you last.

soIsee

You are not very smart are you?

Are we supposed to be impressed that you are a tree hugging hippie who fixes her own car or volunteers in Sudan? Even this is a non- too subtle way of showing off. You CAN AFFORD to choose to live poor and experiment with alternative lifestyles because you are NOT poor. Get real (and while at it, get a brain). You seemed to have missed the point entirely.

And your last line reeks of elitism and rejection of your Asian roots. And that is precisely why people like you and your dad are being attacked and despised. If it is indeed an Asian thing to live with parents like you claim, why are you mocking it? Because people like you are totally out of touch with reality. Even your defense of your dad is 90% about you.

I suggest you "shutteth uppeth" until you learn to use the gift called thinking. The more you try to defend your dad, the more you paint him as an evil, ugly pappy dog. The irony is he could well be the nicest guy in the world until you came in with your elitist nonsense.

Wow, you sure hit the bugger right on the nail!

You are 101% right and you said it ...so bluntly but yet so clearly.

Voildable is exactly what Sinkie sees back in their own soil of 'well connected Pappy dogs' children 'experimenting with 'alternative life style'.

These kids would eitheir turn out 'gay' while many immersed themselves in the world of the art and dance.

Some even call themselves socialite.

None would labor in the 8 to 5 world, let alone do shift work.

And many like Voidable, who follows Wooden Goh daughter Jing Theng, in an Ang Mo land practising what they call 'independent living'!:biggrin:

Maybe hearsay?? Ok.

quote: "I share another story for youngsters to think about since it is on internet and i won't lim kopi for this. In the 1970's and 1980's, all HDB conveyance fees were through Lee & Lee. No prizes for guessing whose company is that. One flat needs to pay about 300 to 500 dollars conveyancing fees back then.
300 dollars back then is the monthy pay of a school teacher. So one flat means one month salary of a normal Singaporean going to Lee & Lee. Count the number of flats in Singapore. And not just the number of flats,its every transaction so a flat that exchanged hands 3 times will be 3 times the conveyance fees. My maths is not good enough to calculate the wealth plus interests gained from the arrangement. Back then, only poor JBJ dared to raise this issue in parliament. What happened to him all we know also. But it is also thanks to him the 20 years monopoly was broken. New flat buyers, do u wonder why the default conveyancing lawyer from HDB is always Lee & Lee? I am not insinuating anything, maybe they are really just so good hor..... Just something to ponder about." unquote

source : http://forums.fuckwarezone.com.sg/e...elections-modern-day-singapore-3747876-5.html

hockbeng

Are we supposed to be impressed that you are a tree hugging hippie who fixes her own car or volunteers in Sudan? Even this is a non- too subtle way of showing off. You CAN AFFORD to choose to live poor and experiment with alternative lifestyles because you are NOT poor. Get real (and while at it, get a brain). You seemed to have missed the point entirely.

And your last line reeks of elitism and rejection of your Asian roots. And that is precisely why people like you and your dad are being attacked and despised. If it is indeed an Asian thing to live with parents like you claim, why are you mocking it? Because people like you are totally out of touch with reality. Even your defense of your dad is 90% about you.

I suggest you "shutteth uppeth" until you learn to use the gift called thinking. The more you try to defend your dad, the more you paint him as an evil, ugly pappy dog. The irony is he could well be the nicest guy in the world until you came in with your elitist nonsense.

Excellent reply.

Many rich kids claim that they are independent blah blah!! can stay on their own overseas blah blah!!! willing to take the road less travelled and so on....

The truth is that they know they can AFFORD to do so.
They know that should things not turn out the way they expect, they still have a safety net back home...
If my family has millions ready for me to use, heck I can choose to study further or not to study further; get a job or decide not to; work in Spore or overseas; live like a king or a pauper...
I would have choices!

The rest of us do NOT!

hawker

Excellent reply.

Many rich kids claim that they are independent blah blah!! can stay on their own overseas blah blah!!! willing to take the road less travelled and so on....

The truth is that they know they can AFFORD to do so.
They know that should things not turn out the way they expect, they still have a safety net back home...
If my family has millions ready for me to use, heck I can choose to study further or not to study further; get a job or decide not to; work in Spore or overseas; live like a king or a pauper...
I would have choices!

The rest of us do NOT!

By the same context, I remembered many many years ago Lee Hsien Loong claimed that his house doesn't even have a television. He did not realised that there is a difference between not being afford a television from not wanting to have one.

bullfrog

Whoa! How come an old old thread from Oct 2010 can kena dug out?

"..the evil that men do lives after them."

hey clinton666....you are the ignoramus, long long time ago when you were still a sperm swimming inside your father's balls, the whole country already know conveyancing was given to 2 firms L&L and D&N. Then JBJ and CST questioned this practise in parliament and they are forced to let other firms share the cake.

Even after the other law firms were reluctantly allowed to share in the cake, still HDB will tekan u for using them. Don't believe, just compare the paperwork time between Lee and Lee and any other law firms. Other law firms always got "delays". Usually 3 or 4 weeks later than L & L. Now, not so bad anymore, but when initially opened up at that time, u might as well go back to using L & L.

Wow, blue lobster, a fine rebuttal indeed. This girl comes across as a stuck up immature girl to me.

Wow, you sure hit the bugger right on the nail!

You are 101% right and you said it ...so bluntly but yet so clearly.

Voildable is exactly what Sinkie sees back in their own soil of 'well connected Pappy dogs' children 'experimenting with 'alternative life style'.

These kids would eitheir turn out 'gay' while many immersed themselves in the world of the art and dance.

Some even call themselves socialite.

None would labor in the 8 to 5 world, let alone do shift work.

And many like Voidable, who follows Wooden Goh daughter Jing Theng, in an Ang Mo land practising what they call 'independent living'!:biggrin:

Wah, donch talk about my friend Glen Gooei like that mah. LOL.

As I said before, I am being very generous of your derogative remarks obviously trying to stir up some hate. Very graciously I will explain because people make all sorts of stupid assumptions. Firstly, I'm not going to bother explaining to you about my dad being neglectful. I think it's a rather spiteful comment and obviously, I know better or I wouldn't be sticking up for him.

Jealousy, Yes! Whether you like it or not I am saying that alot of people are envious of money and power and I hear Singaporeans pointing fingers at the rich all the time. I truly believe that in capitalist countries like Singapore, people Worked hard to get where they are. Either that or they inherited it. Why fault them? Look at Richard Branson. Didn't he work very hard when he was young? Trust me, I do not like capitalism either. I am just pointing out some facts. Why are some people born poor?

Singapore may be a capitalist society, but at that time, and in that industry, your father's firm was in a monopoly or oligopoly. Through corrupt means, 90% of the HDB flat conveyancing was directed to your father's firm. The money that he therefore made was not made in a capitalist environment, but in a monopolistic environment nurtured by a corrupt husband of your father's boss, Gecko. Using your example of Richard Branson, no govt. forced people to go to his record stores, use his airliness, handphones, etc. He truly was a rich person using his own wit and brains to develop products and services that people VOLUNTARY bought and used. Not the same as Gecko, or your father. The sooner u avoid admitting this, the better it will be for you.

I said my mum is not Singaporean. What else would you make of it? I BOUGHT my pr and a good life is Australia? No, I had to work for it too by proving I had a skilled profession to even apply to the country at age 18! Why on earth would a Singaporean think Australia is a good life? I think not, I think a rare few like me love it. Would you be used to yuts and farmland and camping alot? I love my life in Australia because I am a generally laid back nature lover and I enjoy slow days smoking at cafes. So please, don't accuse me of it from the money perspective I escaped Singapore. Many people are fond of the city life in Singapore and love their fast paced work. True story, Singaporean/Aussie girl I know chose Singapore.

I am quite incredulous at your achievements here. At age 18, u are saying that u already had a skiilled profession that enabled u to apply for PR to Australia? Really? That's amazing. U mean that u accumulated enough points to get in all on your own at 18? Wow, SIngapore is truly sadden to lose such a talent like yours to Australia. ..............Or are u full of shit?

Everything I own I worked for on my own in Aussie. A cheap car that breaks down all the time. Paying my own rent. When I was studying in Melbourne I worked too. Alot of Singaporeans live with their parents till they're marriage age, dude, like most Aussies I make it on my own I'm out the door at 18 and if I want to stay I pay my parents rent.

That is because thanks to your father' boss and her husband, housing is so expensive in singapore that most singaporeans are forced to stay with their parents until marriage and many times beyond that. U have the luxury to live in Australia thanks to your father's ill gotten income, most singaporeans do not have this luxury. The ability to stay in Australia cheaply is all about money, so don't say it doesn't concern you.

I said Singapore is not a pleasant place because its competitive. Yet! Do you ever want to become Socialist like Australia? Why is it Singaporeans living in Australia tell me its too "slow paced" they want to go home? (But personally I don't) We don't want a country with shops that close at 5pm? What a "backward" country they say (which is a pure generalization Australia is not). Why? Who created this society? When the government mistreated the Australian nurses last year 9000 of us went on strike. Would Singapore do that? We won the strike and they didn't do the stupid thing they wanted to do of firing Div 1 nurses and hiring unskilled health professionals to take their place (what a disaster!). And so why does Singapore keep blaming the government for what its own society and culture created?

I don't know which rock u have been living under. but Singapore is far more socialistic than Australia will ever be. Thanks to laws drawn up in singapore (perhaps helped in part by your father's deceased boss) union strikes are illegal and unions in singapore are suppressed and infiltrated and dominated by the govt. and its appointed agents. I suggest that u get a real education of how singapore works first.

Perhaps you are correct. I really don't know. About the conveyancing. With an open mind I accept perhaps this is true. But don't point the finger so readily. This is the first time I've ever heard of it. I however know my father is not capable of corruption he's always been very honest with his dealings and he always tips people and we donate to World vision Australia child sponsorship. He supports RSPCA and other projects. For goodness sake, don't fault a man who grew up so poor he couldn't afford toothpaste for wanting to give it to his children.

So in other words, you do not really know how your father earned his money, u were just glad he had lots of it so u could spend it. You say your father is so honest and incapable of corruption. Really? U have not answered my previous questions. Your father has never asked himself why HDB send so many contracts to them for conveyancing and almost non to other firms? Your father never ask himself why senior partners from Lee and Lee were repeatedly given Ministerial positions, judgeships, etc, and other major law firms never even have one of their partners smell MP much less minister. Your father never sit down and wonder why so many high ranking PAP govt. officials, cronies, use Lee and Lee for their personal business and receive pro bono or discounted work without reporting this to CPIB? Your father never wonder why so many stat boards, GLCs, PUB and PWD use Lee and Lee for legal work hence enabling the Prime Minister to earn two incomes. Your father never wonder why so many individuals and firms who are doing business or want to do business with the govt use Lee and Lee to curry favour? If your father never ask any of these things, than he is either very stupid or part of the endemic corruption there. And my guess is he is not stupid.

I have messaged a few of you because I have my own testimony that you might find interesting regarding your case. I have always been a true blood 70s hippy and disliked capitalism immensely.

To once more explain to you why you are totally pointing the wrong fingers, as I have mentioned, I left home at 18 and struggled through uni paying it off myself through the Aussie Hex debt system. I have lived in many cheap houses with all sorts of strange people and even some unfortunately under substane influence and as I said, my car is 1986 same age as me. Don't accuse me of living off riches I wear only Cotton on clothing and the only branded item I own is a tiny mango dress and a second hand prada an ex housemate gave me. I buy all my clothes from Op shops in australia like Savers or cheap knitted jumpers. Or even Woolworths. As I said, I am quite a hippy and I don't believe in capitalism, brands etc. I am into organic living and plant my own vegetables. The generation corruption bit is true: I can point a finger and go: Hey Singaporeans, which of you has bothered to try to save the environment? I heard Singapore uses the most plastic bags worldwide per head of population! Guess what, future generations are doomed

The holes in your story is really amazing, I thought u would have tighten it up by now. Lets see if I got this right. U live in a cheap housing with strange people (who I assume are also financially not well off), but yet u have housemates that own Prada? And these housemates are so rich they can give you their prada just like that? Wow. Is this a handbag or a dress? Either way, no doubt very expensive. No female in my family and that includes cousins, aunts, etc. own a prada of any sort, used or new. For the simple reason, its financially not justifiable. U don't believe in capitalism, but yet u are a huge beneficiary of it. I see an Australian uni education has really scrambled your brains. U better come back to singapore and get straigthened out.