• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SITEX Fair - to spend or not to spend

myo539

Your indulgence please. If you don't like to read what I've shared, please move on.

Went to Sitex Fair on Saturday with the aim of upgrading my digital camera which is still useable and good. Armed with an ammo of about $600, I pushed through the amazingly crowded halls.

After scouting around and asking and handtesting a few cameras, narrowed it to three branded models - about the same specification and price more or less - which I had eyed even before the exhibition.

Before parting with that $600, which I could easily have bought a big item like a fridge or washing machine the whole household can use, rather than that tiny camera which is meant for my leisure only, I gave it one last thought. You may ask me why bother? It was natural after walking past the crippled, singing aunty on a wheelchair, trying to sell a few packets of tissue paper along the crowded narrow corridor leading to the EXPO halls. $600 could go a long, long way for her.

My first thought was with SM Goh - who advised us to spend and spend - so as to stimulate the economy as it gives these sales people a job.

My second thought goes to PM Lee - who says that spending is not an effective way to stimulate the economy for such a small country. He says every dollar spent, 60%goes out of the country. I wouldn't like to enrich the foreign countries who already are FTs all over our place.

Who should I listen to? Both are great leaders, and scholars. Rarely do we have top government leaders giving opposing views or policies.

So I came out of EXPO - empty-handed - saved for a few pamphlets which I bought home to study and reconsider again. I did not lose sleep over it.

So I thought about the many wise people in this forum - who may better advise me. A great decision has to be made by this evening - when The EXPO ends.

How I wish life is not that complicated. On the way back in our superb standing-room only MRT train - from one end of the line to the other end - I stood next to a Filipino couple. They each had two big bundles from the EXPO between their legs - looking very happy - a successful bargain. They probably have read the advice of SM Goh. Who was it who said in Lima, Peru that there was no dilemma?

madmansg

you need to post of few of your naked girls photos here for us to be able to tell you if upgrading is needed.

besotted

Your indulgence please. If you don't like to read what I've shared, please move on.

Went to Sitex Fair on Saturday with the aim of upgrading my digital camera which is still useable and good. Armed with an ammo of about $600, I pushed through the amazingly crowded halls.

After scouting around and asking and handtesting a few cameras, narrowed it to three branded models - about the same specification and price more or less - which I had eyed even before the exhibition.

Before parting with that $600, which I could easily have bought a big item like a fridge or washing machine the whole household can use, rather than that tiny camera which is meant for my leisure only, I gave it one last thought. You may ask me why bother? It was natural after walking past the crippled, singing aunty on a wheelchair, trying to sell a few packets of tissue paper along the crowded narrow corridor leading to the EXPO halls. $600 could go a long, long way for her.

My first thought was with SM Goh - who advised us to spend and spend - so as to stimulate the economy as it gives these sales people a job.

My second thought goes to PM Lee - who says that spending is not an effective way to stimulate the economy for such a small country. He says every dollar spent, 60%goes out of the country. I wouldn't like to enrich the foreign countries who already are FTs all over our place.

Who should I listen to? Both are great leaders, and scholars. Rarely do we have top government leaders giving opposing views or policies.

So I came out of EXPO - empty-handed - saved for a few pamphlets which I bought home to study and reconsider again. I did not lose sleep over it.

So I thought about the many wise people in this forum - who may better advise me. A great decision has to be made by this evening - when The EXPO ends.

How I wish life is not that complicated. On the way back in our superb standing-room only MRT train - from one end of the line to the other end - I stood next to a Filipino couple. They each had two big bundles from the EXPO between their legs - looking very happy - a successful bargain. They probably have read the advice of SM Goh. Who was it who said in Lima, Peru that there was no dilemma?

i spent $450 at karaoke for one bottle, snacks plus tips for super 30min blowjob and mamasan

this morning got sore balls and hangover

did i stimulate the economy? i don't know, maybe they repatriate the money back to china, so i stimulate china economy

Naturefarm2

Went there too but there is nothing much to see. Had been getting laptop from some export company that is much much cheaper.
had recently get for company some HP mini pC at only $ 700 while Sitex selling $ 900++ , haha
No need to go there la

dysentry

"aim of upgrading my digital camera which is still useable and good"

still usable and good what for upgrade? unless your needs have changed.

Spending buying camera 70% of the cost went to oversea. Goverment make 7% GST then another 23% go to transportation, rental, salary and others.

banova888

I went to the show in a pram. My only complaint is that there are not enogh changing rooms.

myo539

you need to post of few of your naked girls photos here for us to be able to tell you if upgrading is needed.

Boh naked girls leh, all of them have done their national service - diligently. They never tuang, skived or kheng a day of the NS - that's how loyal they are to their country,

myo539

i spent $450 at karaoke for one bottle, snacks plus tips for super 30min blowjob and mamasan... i stimulate the economy? i don't know, maybe they repatriate the money back to china, so i stimulate china economy

Wah ho seh liao, $450 for a nite of fun and intoxication. Money sure grow on trees for you. I always wonder why people can spend so much in a KTV or even a pub. Money is sure of little value to you.

Like the old army joke about women - 5 mins of pleasure, 9months of pain - out of KK they will do it again!

The modern one is - 5 mins of pleasure, many years of pain, in or out of CDC, they can never do it again.:eek:

myo539

I went to the show in a pram. My only complaint is that there are not enogh changing rooms.

Crazy to bring a baby or a pram to such an exhibition. It appears the magic word "cus me, cus me" will open up the crowd in the Red Sea.

I would go there, zoom in on my target, queue up to pay and then scoot off than to breathe in the foul air of the thousands - not withstanding the powerful air-con.

I had men and women rubbing their flesh against me to squeeze through the crowd. I visited it this time round because I really intended to buy a camera.

myo539

myo539
Did you give the $600 to the singing aunty?

I expect people will be curious and ask such a question.

Honestly no, no matter how well the aunty sings; she doesn't look that pathetic though it takes great courage to sing for the thousands of people walking past her.

No matter how civic-minded you are, I won't expect you to go around picking up every piece of litter on the road to keep Singapore clean.

No one will ever forget what MM Lee says " Nothing is for free". I rather did it my way!

Well, some people don't even bat an eyelid on $450 for a bottle of whisky and a nite of fun at KTV than to give the aunty 50 cents.

To cut the answer short : No, I save the $600 for another day.

myo539

"aim of upgrading my digital camera which is still useable and good"

still usable and good what for upgrade? unless your needs have changed.

Yes, bought it 6 years ago (about $1350 then ) but spent quite a lot on rechargeable AA batteries that won't recharge after a short while.

Was looking for a camera using a lithium battery which I understand can last much much longer. Of the three short-listed, was disappointed only one brand using lithium.

Yes, bought it 6 years ago (about $1350 then ) but spent quite a lot on rechargeable AA batteries that won't recharge after a short while.

Years ago spent $1,000 on a Canon 5 megapixel with rechargeable lithium battery. Still going strong with the original batteries. Believe in spending on some "branded" goods as in the long run less hassle :rolleyes:

2lanu

Ah Goh say spend because he want economy be stimulate and justify his million dollar pay. Remember he now sitting in MAS.

Pinky is only half right. If you dun buy, red dot will not even earn anything! And if they cannot tax you enough, they will think of other means to tax you.

My say will be will it bring you value? For me $600 for a camera is not worth it as I dun really need this gadget and hardly will use it. But for you, maybe you will use it every day for 2 years, thus it's $1/day as pleasure. Use longer, the cost goes dun lower.